$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lola1
Business
Canada
Apr 16, 2013

One night stop over in San Juan

Was Ok for 1 night stay. Was clean but too cold. Waste of energy! You can hear all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FocoNewlyweds
Business
Colorado
Mar 26, 2013

Ok place to sleep...

If you are looking for a place to sleep, and that's it, Atlantic Beach works. Rooms are VERY small, but neat. Bathroom adequate, other than mold on the shower curtain and crown moulding. Staff is friendly and helpful. You are not permitted to consume your own food or beverage anywhere other than your room. No outside food or drink allowed on the patio or deck. Also, it is helpful to know that the beach area that the hotel occupies is a hot spot for homosexuals, so if your aren't comfortable with that, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orozcos right across Ashford ave from hotel is awesome for good quick local food, BEST HOT SAUCE IN THE WORLD.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oleg g
Business
boston
Mar 20, 2013

great place for the price

great hotel for the price. location, staff are perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quelcanon
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 16, 2013

Knock, knock- bang, bang

I like to think there are good and bad things about everything. So, I'll break it down like that. Good: 1. It's in Condado. Condado is a pretty safe and convenient part of San Juan. 2. The restaurant and bar area is amazing. In fact, I knew of the hotel because when I lived in Puerto Rico, I would meet up with people for drinks. They are cheap during the week. 3. Cheap drinks!!! Bad: 1. All hours of the night and day is filled with noise. Make sure you bring ear plugs or buy some. I would be woken up frequently at night. 2. Overly expensive. In Puerto Rican Spanish I would call this hotel, cafre. The hotel is a dump. It's fine that it is like that, as long as the price accurately reflects that. We paid about 120 USD for garbage. Basically, spend a few dollars more and go to the raddison. There are some cheaper places that are a bit better and still safe and cheap. For instance, coral by the sea in isla verde. 3. I hate hotels that only give one key for two people. They allow you to keep the key with them if you are both seperated or whatnot. I never feel safe with that. They don't have a safe to keep persona effects so why would I keep a room locked and give a key to the desk manager? I just don't like it at all. In summary, go to this hotel to eat and drink. I would not recommend this place as a hotel to sleep or stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris3282
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 8, 2013

Great location for the price

The hotel was conveniently located for my experience. I did not get an ocean view room but wish I had. The room I got was VERY small, but I didn't have much issue with the room size because I only use the room to sleep and shower. The shower had a hairball in it, that I kindly unclogged. The bed was comfortable but the sheets could have been cleaner, there were stains. My issue getting sleep was because of other patrons. The walls are concrete and the doors are heavy with no slam resisting hinge at the top. People feel the need to SLAM their doors in the middle of the night and it sounds like explosions at 3 or 4 am when people return from the bars. Parking is $10 per day, but nothing nice. It's cramped and you'll likely have to ask someone to move their car so you can get yours out. There are no irons in the room, but you can ask for one at the desk as long as you promptly return it. The hotel staff was never "rude" but they never smiled either....but this was my experience throughout Puerto Rico entirely with the service industry. Only one of the waiters at the bar was nice, he has a pony tail. I would recommend this hotel to younger couples and/or party people (LGBT friendly) on a budget; no one looking for peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining areas near the hotel within walking distance.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rbwinder
Business
Missouri
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location & Great Place to Stay

This hotel was the perfect place to send a one night stay during transit from down island back to the states. The location just off Ashford allowed ease to many dining options within walking distance. The staff is friendly and willing to help with any requests. My partner & I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooner In San Juan
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2013

Beautiful spot on the beach

This spot right on the beach was a very pleasant stay. Highlights included great food at the hotel restaurant, and a great spot on the beach. The rooms were a little small, but clean and comfortable. My main complaint is the size of the shower, it was so small that I had to take my showers standing sideways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laindia2000
Business
new york
Jan 25, 2013

great nice hotel

Little but well located place... With parking services very important ... Nice view... Nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good stores and all close ... Shopping.. dinning.. everything walking distance

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sperky
Business
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Nov 29, 2012

Great Value! (Unless you need to sleep at night)

Location is excellent! Great view, and close to everything! However, there is a new club that opened up next door that gets crazy-loud till late in the wee hours of the morning. Not the hotel's fault, the whole neighborhood is up-in-arms. The hotel bar also plays moderately loud music till 1 or 2AM so if you're a light sleeper with a beach view, watch out. There is not a scrap of carpet in the entire hotel so the hallways echo, exaggerating every door slamming or late night party group returning home. The room doors are not very secure with no deadbolt. We left laptop, camera, etc in the room and had no issue though. The AC is centralized with no individual controls. It was way too cold in one room, not cold enough in the other when we moved rooms to get away from the loud music. Seriously, I am not exaggerating when I say LOUD. In the hotel's defense, they were very accommodating and apologetic and moved us to another room. If you just need an inexpensive place to sleep that is very centralized and minimal amenities, or stay out late partying, this is your place. The construction that has been underway since 2008 is still going but is not a big deal. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi drivers will negotiate. The taxis watch for people waiting at the bus stops (for the buses that are very unreliable) and will offer to take you for an already reduced fee. Ask them how much, then counter-offer.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Sassy Traveler
Business
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Will definitely be back!!

This hotel was recommended to me by a close friend as I was planning my first trip to Puerto Rico. I read some reviews and found that people either loved it or hated it....not being one to pass up a bar right on the beach I decided to take my chances. From the moment I checked into the hotel I fell in love with it. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I wish I could remember the guy at the front desks name cause thru out my stay he would greet me by my name and made me feel extra special. Lol The room was a little small and I didn't always have hot water for my shower, but I didn't care. The room was just used for sleeping anyways. I did like the minimalist feel of the decor. The bar with the famous happy hour!!! You really can not beat a happy hour that goes from 12p-11p with $3 beers and $3.75 mixed drinks that is right on the beach!! Thank you to Jose and Ivan for keeping my glass full! They were also great to chat with! Atlantic Beach Hotel was my little slice of heaven while I was in Puerto Rico and I will definitely be back. For those who complained about the deposit, most hotels do require you to put a deposit down upon checkin. I paid mine in cash and got it right back when I checked out. And to those who complained about the clientele of the hotel which seemed to be a predominantly gay clientele I must say that I never met a nicer group of people while I was there. Met a lot of people while I was there and can't wait to go back!! There was minor construction going on, but work never began early in the morning. They are putting in another bar and adding a service kitchen, so now we'll be able to get food with our many many drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spa/coffee bar right down the road called Euforia...they provide the BEST pedicure I have ever had!!

Back to menu Return to top