$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
219 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laindia2000
Business
new york
Jan 25, 2013

great nice hotel

Little but well located place... With parking services very important ... Nice view... Nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good stores and all close ... Shopping.. dinning.. everything walking distance

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sperky
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Nov 29, 2012

Great Value! (Unless you need to sleep at night)

Location is excellent! Great view, and close to everything! However, there is a new club that opened up next door that gets crazy-loud till late in the wee hours of the morning. Not the hotel's fault, the whole neighborhood is up-in-arms. The hotel bar also plays moderately loud music till 1 or 2AM so if you're a light sleeper with a beach view, watch out. There is not a scrap of carpet in the entire hotel so the hallways echo, exaggerating every door slamming or late night party group returning home. The room doors are not very secure with no deadbolt. We left laptop, camera, etc in the room and had no issue though. The AC is centralized with no individual controls. It was way too cold in one room, not cold enough in the other when we moved rooms to get away from the loud music. Seriously, I am not exaggerating when I say LOUD. In the hotel's defense, they were very accommodating and apologetic and moved us to another room. If you just need an inexpensive place to sleep that is very centralized and minimal amenities, or stay out late partying, this is your place. The construction that has been underway since 2008 is still going but is not a big deal. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi drivers will negotiate. The taxis watch for people waiting at the bus stops (for the buses that are very unreliable) and will offer to take you for an already reduced fee. Ask them how much, then counter-offer.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single Sassy Traveler
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Will definitely be back!!

This hotel was recommended to me by a close friend as I was planning my first trip to Puerto Rico. I read some reviews and found that people either loved it or hated it....not being one to pass up a bar right on the beach I decided to take my chances. From the moment I checked into the hotel I fell in love with it. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. I wish I could remember the guy at the front desks name cause thru out my stay he would greet me by my name and made me feel extra special. Lol The room was a little small and I didn't always have hot water for my shower, but I didn't care. The room was just used for sleeping anyways. I did like the minimalist feel of the decor. The bar with the famous happy hour!!! You really can not beat a happy hour that goes from 12p-11p with $3 beers and $3.75 mixed drinks that is right on the beach!! Thank you to Jose and Ivan for keeping my glass full! They were also great to chat with! Atlantic Beach Hotel was my little slice of heaven while I was in Puerto Rico and I will definitely be back. For those who complained about the deposit, most hotels do require you to put a deposit down upon checkin. I paid mine in cash and got it right back when I checked out. And to those who complained about the clientele of the hotel which seemed to be a predominantly gay clientele I must say that I never met a nicer group of people while I was there. Met a lot of people while I was there and can't wait to go back!! There was minor construction going on, but work never began early in the morning. They are putting in another bar and adding a service kitchen, so now we'll be able to get food with our many many drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spa/coffee bar right down the road called Euforia...they provide the BEST pedicure I have ever had!!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gkalo33
Peru
Nov 5, 2012

Location

Staff no friendly, if u need anything u must to go out and try to get. The location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DdaB
Brussels
Oct 27, 2012

Greatest location, small room

This is no grand hotel, to be sure. They are currently redoing some of the common areas. The staff was kind, the bar is great (overlooking the ocean) 1204 Ponce de Leonand drinks are cheap ($3.5 mojitos anyone?), Mu room was very small but clean and functional. No frills indeed. Hotel is obviously gay friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyGW
San Diego, CA
Oct 9, 2012

Prime Beachfront Property!

A very budget friendly, and gay friendly hotel RIGHT ON THE BEACH!! The hotel has a very busy bar which brought lots of guests to the site. Great interaction with locals, and the drinks were very cheap! It's right next door to Oceano, a very chic restaurant/bar. Overall it was a great place, my only qualm was that guests weren't allowed upstairs. I had friends come visit me, but they weren't allowed to come up to the room to hang out. If I paid for a room, shouldn't it be my choice? For that reason alone, I wouldn't stay here again, but the place was location-wise, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Meet with friends for a drink, and you can walk over to Splash and/or Circo for a night of fun!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snoopy2020
San Antonio Texas
Sep 22, 2012

awesome!

experience, awesome! Right on the beach. beach umbrellas and chairs were available at no extra cost. Big beach towels were a $10 deposit. Could be exchanges for clean one,daily. Deposit was refunded at the end of yout stay. Had a covered terrance,on hotel with a bar . Drinks were reasonable. Personel in hotel were very helpful, professional and courteous. Tours could be arranged at front desk to where you wanted to go, rain forest, old San Juan, bacardi factory, etc. Of course you can go on yor own with public transportation, buses 50 cents, ferry 25 cents. Food by hotel, tourist area were a little high. However as you get farther away, very cheap and real Puerto Rican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take comfortable walking shoes

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAQUI62
FLORIDA, FORT LAUDERDALE
Aug 24, 2012

MOTHER AND DAUGHTER GATAWAY

THE PEOPLE THERE WAS VERY NICE.... THE ROOM IT WAS SMALL AND THE AIR CONDITION DIDN'T WORK THAT GOOD. THE BATHROOM IT WAS CLEAN AND NEW BUT THE BEDROOM FURNITURE IT WAS VERY OLD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

WE WENT TO A NICE RESTAURANT CLOSE BY AND WE HAVE A GOOD FOOD AND A GOOD TIME

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yari
bronx, ny
Aug 5, 2012

peaceful stay

Hotel is in a great location with a walgreens down the street, also a dunkin donuts, wendys and also a few spanish restaurants. Room was small but nice. Beach was absolutely beautiful and a bit isolated (which i loved). would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DO NOT buy liquor from the liquor store down the block. very over priced. walgreens has much cheaper prices.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robyn 326
Park Forest,Il
Jul 25, 2012

Get what you pay for

The hotel was nice but the rooms were small! Bathrooms were even smaller. Only one person could fit in there at a time and that person is not comfortable. The Noon to 11p.m. happy hour was great but the club directly across the street was loud from about 10 A.M. when they were shooting a commercial to about 5 A.M. The location was great. Right on the beach !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Green Room is about 1 block away in the direction of Walgreens. The food was fantastic. Also get the cab drivers direct number. They cater to you

Back to menu Return to top