$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
217 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lola1
Canada
Apr 16, 2013

One night stop over in San Juan

Was Ok for 1 night stay. Was clean but too cold. Waste of energy! You can hear all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Future World Traveler
Sparta, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Did the trick

We needed a place to stay for one night while in San Juan. ABH was nice enough - the staff was very polite, the room was clean (but sparce!). I was disappointed that despite my asking ahead of time, it wasn't until we got there that they advised that there was a parking fee ($10#. I was also turned off that even though we cleary booked a room designed for 3 people, upon arrival we were charged extra #$25)for that 3rd person (our young son) - that extra charge should have been reflected in the fact that the room was already more expensive than the smaller ones! Luckily we had booked thru CT so the room was fairly reasonable to begin with and the extras weren't that much more. The restaurant was nice - our dinner waiter was awesome! The bartender is generous! The deck, had it not been raining, would have been a nice place to hang. And being right on the beach was convenient for playing in the surf the next morning before heading to our final destination. Not disappointed, but no wow factor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FocoNewlyweds
Colorado
Mar 26, 2013

Ok place to sleep...

If you are looking for a place to sleep, and that's it, Atlantic Beach works. Rooms are VERY small, but neat. Bathroom adequate, other than mold on the shower curtain and crown moulding. Staff is friendly and helpful. You are not permitted to consume your own food or beverage anywhere other than your room. No outside food or drink allowed on the patio or deck. Also, it is helpful to know that the beach area that the hotel occupies is a hot spot for homosexuals, so if your aren't comfortable with that, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orozcos right across Ashford ave from hotel is awesome for good quick local food, BEST HOT SAUCE IN THE WORLD.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oleg g
boston
Mar 20, 2013

great place for the price

great hotel for the price. location, staff are perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
quelcanon
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 16, 2013

Knock, knock- bang, bang

I like to think there are good and bad things about everything. So, I'll break it down like that. Good: 1. It's in Condado. Condado is a pretty safe and convenient part of San Juan. 2. The restaurant and bar area is amazing. In fact, I knew of the hotel because when I lived in Puerto Rico, I would meet up with people for drinks. They are cheap during the week. 3. Cheap drinks!!! Bad: 1. All hours of the night and day is filled with noise. Make sure you bring ear plugs or buy some. I would be woken up frequently at night. 2. Overly expensive. In Puerto Rican Spanish I would call this hotel, cafre. The hotel is a dump. It's fine that it is like that, as long as the price accurately reflects that. We paid about 120 USD for garbage. Basically, spend a few dollars more and go to the raddison. There are some cheaper places that are a bit better and still safe and cheap. For instance, coral by the sea in isla verde. 3. I hate hotels that only give one key for two people. They allow you to keep the key with them if you are both seperated or whatnot. I never feel safe with that. They don't have a safe to keep persona effects so why would I keep a room locked and give a key to the desk manager? I just don't like it at all. In summary, go to this hotel to eat and drink. I would not recommend this place as a hotel to sleep or stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris3282
Houston, TX
Mar 8, 2013

Great location for the price

The hotel was conveniently located for my experience. I did not get an ocean view room but wish I had. The room I got was VERY small, but I didn't have much issue with the room size because I only use the room to sleep and shower. The shower had a hairball in it, that I kindly unclogged. The bed was comfortable but the sheets could have been cleaner, there were stains. My issue getting sleep was because of other patrons. The walls are concrete and the doors are heavy with no slam resisting hinge at the top. People feel the need to SLAM their doors in the middle of the night and it sounds like explosions at 3 or 4 am when people return from the bars. Parking is $10 per day, but nothing nice. It's cramped and you'll likely have to ask someone to move their car so you can get yours out. There are no irons in the room, but you can ask for one at the desk as long as you promptly return it. The hotel staff was never "rude" but they never smiled either....but this was my experience throughout Puerto Rico entirely with the service industry. Only one of the waiters at the bar was nice, he has a pony tail. I would recommend this hotel to younger couples and/or party people (LGBT friendly) on a budget; no one looking for peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining areas near the hotel within walking distance.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rbwinder
Missouri
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location & Great Place to Stay

This hotel was the perfect place to send a one night stay during transit from down island back to the states. The location just off Ashford allowed ease to many dining options within walking distance. The staff is friendly and willing to help with any requests. My partner & I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooner In San Juan
Washington, DC
Feb 6, 2013

Beautiful spot on the beach

This spot right on the beach was a very pleasant stay. Highlights included great food at the hotel restaurant, and a great spot on the beach. The rooms were a little small, but clean and comfortable. My main complaint is the size of the shower, it was so small that I had to take my showers standing sideways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laindia2000
Business
new york
Jan 25, 2013

great nice hotel

Little but well located place... With parking services very important ... Nice view... Nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good stores and all close ... Shopping.. dinning.. everything walking distance

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sperky
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
Nov 29, 2012

Great Value! (Unless you need to sleep at night)

Location is excellent! Great view, and close to everything! However, there is a new club that opened up next door that gets crazy-loud till late in the wee hours of the morning. Not the hotel's fault, the whole neighborhood is up-in-arms. The hotel bar also plays moderately loud music till 1 or 2AM so if you're a light sleeper with a beach view, watch out. There is not a scrap of carpet in the entire hotel so the hallways echo, exaggerating every door slamming or late night party group returning home. The room doors are not very secure with no deadbolt. We left laptop, camera, etc in the room and had no issue though. The AC is centralized with no individual controls. It was way too cold in one room, not cold enough in the other when we moved rooms to get away from the loud music. Seriously, I am not exaggerating when I say LOUD. In the hotel's defense, they were very accommodating and apologetic and moved us to another room. If you just need an inexpensive place to sleep that is very centralized and minimal amenities, or stay out late partying, this is your place. The construction that has been underway since 2008 is still going but is not a big deal. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The taxi drivers will negotiate. The taxis watch for people waiting at the bus stops (for the buses that are very unreliable) and will offer to take you for an already reduced fee. Ask them how much, then counter-offer.

Back to menu Return to top