$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
169 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEC5
NY
Jul 23, 2013

Amazing

This is the perfect location. At first when I walked into the room, I was like "ah... it's kinda small.. but let's just see what else.." There is a beach right in front; hence the name, Atlantic Beach Hotel... As you are walking in and out of the hotel, there is such an amazing breeze. The staff is so friendly and helpful, there is a lady name Nancy, and she is awesome. She helped my boyfriend and I with everything we needed, she is so sweet. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is easy to visit other hotels, go shopping, and finding great places to eat. There is a strip right next to the hotel so it's easy to get whatever you need. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at this place called Cafe De Angel almost everyday, the food and vibe is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dude334
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Jul 2, 2013

My time in San Juan

I really like this hotel - second time staying there. The addition of the restaurant was wonderful. I think the entire outside (bar, restaurant) is beautiful. The transformation from the old to new is incredible. The staff everywhere could not have been nicer, addressing me by my name, etc. Negatives - I could barely get in my sink area in the bathroom. The mirror was old and there wasn't any mirror large enough to be seen. There was not enough surface area in the room. I don't know if is possible - could carpet be installed in the hallway? The noise level is horrible. And the elevator - had to carry three bags up and down three flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Angel Exceptional Puerto Rican Food Exceptional Service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lexirock
New Jersey
Jun 19, 2013

Satisfield Customer

The room was small, however, comfortable. My only disappointment was that the television wasn't working. The staff was very polite and helpful at all times. The view from the lobby and on-site restaurant is spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DunkinDog
Condado, San Juan, PR
Jun 10, 2013

Best Bang For Your Buck

The staff was amazing and very helpful. The room is comfortable and great bed. Happy hour and the restaurant make it very easy if you feel like staying in for the evening. Right on the beach with full accommodations (chairs, towels, drinks). 1 block from the main street full of shopping and eating, Can't wait to go back. It will become our twice a year destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliJoN
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 7, 2013

Vacation

The hotel staff was the highlight of my trip. They were very friendly and very helpful! The rooms are very tiny and not really clean. It has a nice location. It's right off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marriott has a casino in it. In that casino there is free food and drinks. If you don't want to spend a lot of money, sit at the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ainesey rodriguez
new york
Jun 1, 2013

perfect for the money

My boyfriend and i just got back from our trip and I had an amazing time I was so depressed to leave. Overall the hotel just needs more amenities like a fridge in the room. And maybe a pool but overall my stay was awesome. The maids were so nice. The bartenders at the down stairs bar were amazing. The location was awesome full of many great restaurant and lounges. The hotel is best for couples singles and friends. I wouldn't recommend it as a family orientated hotel. Because of the bar and atmosphere around it. I had a stupendous time. Do keep in mind that the rooms were a tad small if you going with the full size bed room. But if you won't spend much time in the room then it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at Latin star restaurant across the street. On Ashford ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr856
Tampa FL
May 31, 2013

Great location

In a word great!!! It was very clean convient and cheap deffinantly would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not so bad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antoine M.
Atlanta, GA
May 23, 2013

Great little find, on the beach at a reasonable price... I'm actually going back next week....

French owned and nice staff... My room was clean, comfortable and all I had to do is step out of the hotel to be on the beach... That's all I could ask for... I had a great stay there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
metroqt
chicago
May 22, 2013

first time trip

it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. I love that it is right at the beach. the rooms are small and a little sparse. great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SamRob
Charleston, WV
May 22, 2013

Great

The front desk was nice and helpful. Great location. Right on the beach. Nice bar and restaurant. Small room but clean. No problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search