$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
174 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with one double bed and one twin bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
One Queen Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
One Double Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Two Twin Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Melms
Business
NYC
Sep 4, 2013

A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of the hotels outdoor bar and restaurant where lovely. The food and happy hour are a must. Who doesn't want to eat a meal and have a cold drink while watching the ocean waves roll in? The staff where so helpful and remember you by name! The rooms are very clean but pretty basic. They have everything you need in them and the beds there are so comfortable as well. It's a mix of locals, and gay & straight tourist. Everyone gets along and it's easy to meet people for a great conversation. You really can't beat this place for the price and I would recommend it to anyone. This place has become one of my yearly sanctuaries. Go and enjoy. You will not regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the weekends they have an outdoor market in the square. There you can find local food and great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
musicman153
Business
Chicago
Aug 17, 2013

$100 cash deposit for some people but not all.

Stayed at Atlantic beach my first night in San Juan. Was made to pay a $100 Cash deposit on top of my paid stayed there. I met a couple of guys from the Washington DC who had just stayed there and they were not required to pay this deposit. Whats up with that? Its also not on their website nor does this site tell you to expect this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew PA
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 10, 2013

3 Nights at the Atlantic

Stayed by myself . The hotel does not have a pool but it is beachside. It is definitely lgbt-friendly but families and young couples stay there as well. My room was oceanfront with a queen bed, closet, Decent sized shower. No iron provided, I did not ask for one but it would have been nice. The bar at the restaurant has very reasonable drink prices and great food. It is located in a prime location for food and shopping in the Condado district. Parking is only $10 a day. No hotel or resort fees due at the hotel. Beach towel deposit of $10 so you don't leave the hotel with towels. Beach chairs are provided to guests although they did bring them back early the one night I stayed there. Overall a good stay and had a great time with my female friend at the bar and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Got a burger from the bar and it was amazing. Ask the bartender what he recommends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DADDY2013
Business
MIAMI, FL
Aug 6, 2013

GREAT EXPERIENCE

The hotel is not very "fancy" but is GREAT. VERY CLEAN AND THE STAFF WAS GREAT. VERY ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL. I WILL BE BACK THERE AND RECOMEND IT TO ALL MY FRIENDS. THE LOCATION IS GREAT. GORGEOUS OCEAN VIEW FOR AN ACCEPTABLE PRICE. GIOVANNI (the new guy) and LENNY were THE BEST out of all staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kuchousa
Business
New york
Jul 24, 2013

Good location

Good location , if u don t expect luxury and highend comfort this is place to spend few days. Clean enough, comfortable enough , good value for the fee u pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEC5
Business
NY
Jul 23, 2013

Amazing

This is the perfect location. At first when I walked into the room, I was like "ah... it's kinda small.. but let's just see what else.." There is a beach right in front; hence the name, Atlantic Beach Hotel... As you are walking in and out of the hotel, there is such an amazing breeze. The staff is so friendly and helpful, there is a lady name Nancy, and she is awesome. She helped my boyfriend and I with everything we needed, she is so sweet. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is easy to visit other hotels, go shopping, and finding great places to eat. There is a strip right next to the hotel so it's easy to get whatever you need. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at this place called Cafe De Angel almost everyday, the food and vibe is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dude334
Business
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Jul 2, 2013

My time in San Juan

I really like this hotel - second time staying there. The addition of the restaurant was wonderful. I think the entire outside (bar, restaurant) is beautiful. The transformation from the old to new is incredible. The staff everywhere could not have been nicer, addressing me by my name, etc. Negatives - I could barely get in my sink area in the bathroom. The mirror was old and there wasn't any mirror large enough to be seen. There was not enough surface area in the room. I don't know if is possible - could carpet be installed in the hallway? The noise level is horrible. And the elevator - had to carry three bags up and down three flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant Angel Exceptional Puerto Rican Food Exceptional Service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lexirock
Business
New Jersey
Jun 19, 2013

Satisfield Customer

The room was small, however, comfortable. My only disappointment was that the television wasn't working. The staff was very polite and helpful at all times. The view from the lobby and on-site restaurant is spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DunkinDog
Business
Condado, San Juan, PR
Jun 10, 2013

Best Bang For Your Buck

The staff was amazing and very helpful. The room is comfortable and great bed. Happy hour and the restaurant make it very easy if you feel like staying in for the evening. Right on the beach with full accommodations (chairs, towels, drinks). 1 block from the main street full of shopping and eating, Can't wait to go back. It will become our twice a year destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliJoN
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 7, 2013

Vacation

The hotel staff was the highlight of my trip. They were very friendly and very helpful! The rooms are very tiny and not really clean. It has a nice location. It's right off the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Marriott has a casino in it. In that casino there is free food and drinks. If you don't want to spend a lot of money, sit at the casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top