$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
169 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northerngong
New Orleans, LA
Nov 29, 2013

Minimalist lodgings

We were very pleased to see the hotel as close to the beach as it was! The lounge downstairs looked very inviting and even had a happy hour. I couldn't drink at the time so we didn't go but it looked great. The staff was very nice and gave us a lot of tips and advice in getting around and out of the city. We never would have found it to the Fajardo guas-guas without them! The rooms were small and there was no a/c control but it maintained a pretty comfy temp while we were there. The bed linens were very soft and clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very well pressured. It had soap dispensers but no soap however.. I would definitely return again if I am traveling on a budget :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano next door does a salsa night on Tuesdays!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neisha85
St. Croix
Nov 28, 2013

Nice with needed improvements

$20 cab from and to the airport. The hotel is on a dead end block, but close to the street with bars, eateries. Upon entering the decor is eloquent then you walk toward the elevator and staircase beware. There are major improvements that need to be done. The room was comfortable only the door itself looked like a prison gate. Overall I sleep well and was comfortable for my overnight layover. The bar was the nicest area. I would not recommend this place for a long term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
El Flaco
Business
St.George, UT
Nov 18, 2013

Good for the money

If you are single, newly wed and gay you should go to this hotel. But not for family and picky people. Not very clean in the room nor in the lobby. Staff could be better and for a beach front hotel it leaves lots of things to desire for. After I got there the taxi driver tells me that is a hotel or area for gay people. It took me just a few minutes of observation and yes in deed it is. But for the money and a business trip was good. I wont stay there again nor I will take my wife and kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orosco's Restaurant in Ashford is great Puertorican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcotic
West Palm Beach, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Beach Hotel

Not too bad. Parking cost an extra $10 a night. It's on the beach. Ocanfront rooms, great view. Sound of the ocean at night. No smoking at the outside lounge or any where on the property. If your a smoker it's not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Star around the corner has excellent food, great espresso con leche and is open 24 hours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCTTN Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 13, 2013

waste of money

Hotel management has ZERO people skills. I had to sign 5 documents recognizing that I understood restrictions in the hotel, ranging from eating in the lobby to room cleanliness. I was told to keep my room clean or I would be fined. Management took a print of my Credit Card, I asked "is this for incidentals" the desk person said "no it was for room damage", it was a $100 hold but they would not write $100 on the CC voucher. Hotel condition was awe full; no hot or warm water in shower, TV second rate giant red line going down middle, could not view TV from a seated position needed to stand up to watch TV. Lastly, I am not happy with Or, I was told since it was booked by O I would not be able to switch room. O charge me $30 a day more than the rate for people who came off the street and walked up to reserve on their own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Puerto Rican Local
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 6, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay EVER

I booked a room on this hotel only for one night (hank GOD). I am a local of Puerto Rico who planned to celebrate with my girlfriend in the Condado area and chose to stay the night instead of driving home after having drinks. I thought I knew where the hotel was, but I actually was about 2 streets away. When i called for directions, the person who answered the phone who sounded foreign (non natural spanish speaking or natural english speaking) sounded so annoyed to be giving directions. I had to interpret them not because I didint understood his accent but because he hung up on me before I could ask him for the 3rd time to clarify. Little did I know this was foreshadowing.... Once inside the hotel, the lobby had NO air conditioning. Crazy Hot, even for me, and I'm used to puertorican weather. Then it REALLY started to get BAD. The same person who answered the phone, was the person at the front desk, and boy, was so rude. The most rude I've been treated at a hotel in all of my life. After initially rudely refusing my visa because according to him I "payed with mastercard", he had confused me with another guest who had yet to check in. Did not even attempt to apologize. After this he charged me an ASTRONOMICAL 3 figure deposit not only well above what I payed for the room, but way above what big chain hotels in the area charge. I have a strong impression that frechman was the owner, at the very least the person in charge. When we went into the room it was SO TINY, pictures are incredibly deceiving. Dorm-room tiny. Immediately I saw that the bedspread had by my count 8 visible stains on it, so i called to have it replaced. He told me to "bring it downstairs MYSELF and I'll replace it". Shocked that he asked that but I still did take it myself. When I gave him the bedspread he said. "The maid is not here until tomorrow I can only give you two sheets." They DID NOT HAVE A REPLACEMENT BEDSPREAD, AND he made me choose. With my shocked face and hesitation to choose between a stained bedspread and none at all, he said, with the rudest attitude imaginable (as he threw the bedspread in a nearby chair) "Well make up your mind, I'm not going to stand here all day" and just WALKED AWAY. I cannot believe the unapologetic disrespectful downright rude service I got in that hotel. But... it doesn't stop there. The very old elevator fits two people and feels like its going to break in any moment. I seriously cannot believe that elevator passed any inspection. You can hear EVERYTHING from the hallways in your room, and while searching for the ice machine (there is none, you have to ASK for the ice at the bar) I found out (by overhearing a couple having an intimate moment in their room) that you can hear EVERYTHING that happens inside the room on the hallway. Creepy. And to top it ALL off, when we went to bed we realized it was broken. We ended up sleeping in a big hole in the middle of the mattress. Unimaginably uncomfortable. When I went to complain, another guy who had the night shift did not look surprised AT ALL. So I assume they knew but gave me the room anyway. After all the terrible service earlier I did not even bother asking for another room. Just slept a couple of hours (wondering if they were plotting to charge the broken bed to my astronomical deposit) and checked out of there 3 hours early the next morning. They only good thing they did was they gave me back my deposit in full. As soon as I had it in my hand I headed out of there in a flash. What a horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
krashdakarr
Houston Texas
Nov 5, 2013

Don't do it.

Not worth the trouble time or money. Its a shame you come to a beautiful place like PR and subject oneself to this establishment. The hotel is a little rough , but adequate. The staff and absurd rules that are arbitrarily cast about kill any other potential the place could have. The hotel caters to a primarily alternative lifestyle. For the money you can do sooo much better. If your in a jam one night two nights tops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of better places within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denmns
Newmarket, ontario canada
Nov 5, 2013

Destination wedding

Staying there was not a bad experience, however it is a loud place when the music is playing in the late evening. May keep some people awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CodWes
NYC
Oct 19, 2013

Great spot

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. Was a great deal and experience. No complaints. Location is perfect. Outdoor area is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WJRyan
MD
Oct 1, 2013

Great stay

Here for 2 days before leaving on 7-day cruise. GREAT location right on the beach at great price! Great for adults without kids. Attentive staff! Outdoor bar and staff are awesome! Enjoyed it so much, stayed one day after cruise! Cross ventilation in Room 401 was exhilarating . Yeah, music next door can get loud, but if you're looking for quiet, quaint location- this ain't it!! Great festive atmosphere here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search