$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
174 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with one double bed and one twin bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
One Queen Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
One Double Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Two Twin Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CodWes
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

wzcc

Awesome location. Nice ambiance. Best deal in Puerto Rico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oak13
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 26, 2013

terrific hotel, perfect location

This is the perfect place to stay in Condado on a budget - the hotel location is perfect, the staff is friendly, and the hotel bar / restaurant is perfectly located for any meal of day or just to hide out from the rain. The one downside is that the facilities weren't always the nicest (i.e. mold and rust in shower, dust and dirt in common bathroom corners). But great place to stay by the beach. Also worth noting is that the hotel is located right next to a LGBT beach, so may not be a great fit for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pat M in Mi.
Business
Michigan
Dec 20, 2013

compromise

The staff and the location were the best part of this hotel. The building needs attention but the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Café Del Angel is a short walk, ate there the first day and never had cause to change. You must try the picante and buy some to take home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nestor 2011
Business
arecibo ,Puerto Rico
Dec 19, 2013

there's hidden charges and surprises

When I made the reservation it did not specify that the hotel had a $100.00 deposit nor a $10.00 fee for parking per night plus parking was very limited. Also did not feel comfortable leaving my car keys at the front desk, because of parking space. Other than that staff were friendly, great location, rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shalva
Business
Florida
Dec 16, 2013

Horrible room but great location

The state of the room was really disgusting. I am all for simple living but this room lacked even the basic amenities and cleanliness. The room and bathroom had mosquitoes (about 7-8). My husband had mosquitoe bites all over on the arms and legs by the end of the stay. Looks like the cement was all over on the walls and closet due to renovation. The closet and drawers were in real bad shape. The rooms are extremely tiny and 2 people cant move around easily in the space. The bed sheets weren't really clean. The location was great and the patio bar had some decent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pick a hotel in condado district which is modern neighborhood and has good nightlife. It's closer to old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northerngong
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 29, 2013

Minimalist lodgings

We were very pleased to see the hotel as close to the beach as it was! The lounge downstairs looked very inviting and even had a happy hour. I couldn't drink at the time so we didn't go but it looked great. The staff was very nice and gave us a lot of tips and advice in getting around and out of the city. We never would have found it to the Fajardo guas-guas without them! The rooms were small and there was no a/c control but it maintained a pretty comfy temp while we were there. The bed linens were very soft and clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was very well pressured. It had soap dispensers but no soap however.. I would definitely return again if I am traveling on a budget :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano next door does a salsa night on Tuesdays!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
neisha85
Business
St. Croix
Nov 28, 2013

Nice with needed improvements

$20 cab from and to the airport. The hotel is on a dead end block, but close to the street with bars, eateries. Upon entering the decor is eloquent then you walk toward the elevator and staircase beware. There are major improvements that need to be done. The room was comfortable only the door itself looked like a prison gate. Overall I sleep well and was comfortable for my overnight layover. The bar was the nicest area. I would not recommend this place for a long term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcotic
Business
West Palm Beach, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Beach Hotel

Not too bad. Parking cost an extra $10 a night. It's on the beach. Ocanfront rooms, great view. Sound of the ocean at night. No smoking at the outside lounge or any where on the property. If your a smoker it's not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latin Star around the corner has excellent food, great espresso con leche and is open 24 hours!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
El Flaco
Business
St.George, UT
Nov 18, 2013

Good for the money

If you are single, newly wed and gay you should go to this hotel. But not for family and picky people. Not very clean in the room nor in the lobby. Staff could be better and for a beach front hotel it leaves lots of things to desire for. After I got there the taxi driver tells me that is a hotel or area for gay people. It took me just a few minutes of observation and yes in deed it is. But for the money and a business trip was good. I wont stay there again nor I will take my wife and kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orosco's Restaurant in Ashford is great Puertorican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCTTN Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 13, 2013

waste of money

Hotel management has ZERO people skills. I had to sign 5 documents recognizing that I understood restrictions in the hotel, ranging from eating in the lobby to room cleanliness. I was told to keep my room clean or I would be fined. Management took a print of my Credit Card, I asked "is this for incidentals" the desk person said "no it was for room damage", it was a $100 hold but they would not write $100 on the CC voucher. Hotel condition was awe full; no hot or warm water in shower, TV second rate giant red line going down middle, could not view TV from a seated position needed to stand up to watch TV. Lastly, I am not happy with Or, I was told since it was booked by O I would not be able to switch room. O charge me $30 a day more than the rate for people who came off the street and walked up to reserve on their own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top