$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
172 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with One Double Size Bed and One Single Size Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Non Ocean View Room with One Queen Size Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Non Ocean View Room with One Double Size Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Non Ocean View Room with Two Single Size Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Erika B.
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Mar 13, 2014

Pictures can definitely be deceiving!

We chose to stay at this hotel because it was close to the beach and we saw it had been newly renovated. When we went to check-in they told us they would charge us for parking, towels, and if we caused any damges and we had to pay all that up front. They also said they were going to upgrade us, but not to an ocean front room but to an apartment in the back alley. The room was clean but it was not hotel quality and we were a little scared at first to sleep in the sheets. We asked to be moved back to the hotel area but they said all the rooms were booked and so we had no choice but to stay in the apartment. The restaurant and view from the bar was great but we would definitely not stay there again. For $100 more we could've stayed next door at one of the nicest hotels in San Juan at La Concha and gotten a real experience. $250 for two nights down the drain...overall it was a big disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceano restaurant is right next door and know to be one of the best seafood restaurants in San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Contrabard
Business
San Juan
Mar 8, 2014

This is not quite the worst hotel I've Stayed in, but....

The worst aspect of this hotel is the unbelievably onerous check-in process. The most arduous I have ever experienced. Paper upon paper to sign. The person ahead of me had been in line for 30 minutes. He decided to go to the bar to get a beer, returned, and waited another 10 minutes. They also charge a "deposit" of $100. This is the first time I have experienced this. The air conditioning is minimal. The hallways are noisy. The elevator is an antique and on one level does not stop level with the floor. No one is available to assist with the luggage. Rooms are spartan. Music in the bar blared past midnight even when no one was present. Bartender friendly, but drinks way overpriced. Seems like liquor used to make drinks may have been watered down. In short this hotel provided rude, bare minimum accommodations. A terrible waste to have a facility in such a beautiful setting offering so little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisy junior
Business
atlantic beach
Feb 16, 2014

sucks

wanted a hotel not a motel... thats all i got to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmabhi
Business
Houston,TX
Feb 13, 2014

Awesome but can be better

Absolutely loved the beachfront location with easy beach access & amazing view! The wonderfully decorated beachview bar & resturant is a bonus, loved the blue night lighting of the bar & very refreshing & relaxing with sea view in daytime too. The room was ok, quite small, wasn't oceanfront, view from windows awful, only got to see debris of next buildings. Only a table lamp at room and no other lights inside the room except bathroom. The thing which bothered me most is no ac control inside room, fully centralized. I have problem with cold so when complained at reception they said they can't do anything about it. In that case, we have to leave their hotel & all prices non- refundable. Paid parking, we didn't have problem finding a spot though very limited spots. Mostly street parking, sometimes got to park inside garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from San Juan airport, great oceanfront with sea view bar, easy beach access & happening nightlife coz of the bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungWorldTraveler
Business
San Juan
Jan 31, 2014

A week long stay

I stayed at the Atlantic Beach Hotel for a week by myself. I loved every minute of it. I paid a fraction of the price compared to the larger hotel chains in the area and had a great time! The beach is amazing and leads directly to the hotel. The rooms are basic, tile no carpet. The bathroom and room were cleaned nicely and daily. The tv worked fine and the bed was plenty comfy. The staff was SO friendly! If i needed a cab, rent a car, food, towels, whatever it was, they got it for me with a smile. They were helpful, knowledgeable and friendly above all. The hallway was a bit noisy at night time, but I was staying right by the stair case (ask for a room away from the stairs if you don't like that). The area was very cool and had a variety of resturantes, bars, parks, stores and friendly locals. It was a 7-8 minute ride into Old San Juan and an $18 cab ride. I rented a car and went to the rain forest and into town with the help of the hotel concierge as well. I highly recommend if you want a fun experience and your traveling with friends. Not really a family place. Happy travels, enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the food, bars, beaches, gyms and parks are within walking distance from his hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BurgGang LizPooch
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 9, 2014

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

Our first time in Puerto Rico couldn't have been better! Being on the beach and being so close, within walking distance of everything. The Perfect trip for Thanksgiving for us. This stay was so convenient. All of the staff were so pleasant, this was definitely worth it! We can't wait to return - this is our new vacation getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to all the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nan from NYC
Business
NYC
Jan 8, 2014

A bit of a headfake

I have spent quite a bit of time eating & drinking at the Atlantic Beach Bar & Grill and was always super impressed by the space and the boutique quality of the lobby/lounge of the hotel. When I found the deal on a room, I jumped at it only to find that once inside the hotel, it's a completely different experience. The elevator & stairwell looked like something from a run-down building. The room was tiny with one double bed and that's basically it (maybe a chair). It DID have a flatscreen TV so that was cool. AND free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

It is worth it if you need a place to lay your head. The bar has a good happy hour Mon-Fri and there is a lot of great food/drinking places all walking distance. They are on a good spot of beachfront. Just needs a bit of renovation on the inside!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
npltravel
Business
Boston
Jan 5, 2014

Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel is right in the middle of it all. The staff were super nice. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pinky's for breakfast just past the Marriot and the local hospital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CodWes
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

wzcc

Awesome location. Nice ambiance. Best deal in Puerto Rico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oak13
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 26, 2013

terrific hotel, perfect location

This is the perfect place to stay in Condado on a budget - the hotel location is perfect, the staff is friendly, and the hotel bar / restaurant is perfectly located for any meal of day or just to hide out from the rain. The one downside is that the facilities weren't always the nicest (i.e. mold and rust in shower, dust and dirt in common bathroom corners). But great place to stay by the beach. Also worth noting is that the hotel is located right next to a LGBT beach, so may not be a great fit for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top