$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
172 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Mar 6, 2011

Atlantic beach hotel

Staff were friendly,helpful and very courtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent restaurants and nitelife + shopping all in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Feb 22, 2011

Horribly Misleadng Pictures!!

I agree with the "get what you pay for" sentiment that many reviewers share. You aren't paying much, and you aren't getting much beyond a location right on the beach. While the room was clean-ish, the hotel is completely run down. The elevator is horrifying and filthy. The lobby a mess. The "bar" I would not buy anything more than a bottled beer at, and that was overpriced. But what REALLY gets me are the pictures posted of the hotel. These were clearly taken either 20 years ago, or, by someone with some amazing Photoshop talents. Management nice enough but didn't go out of their way to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LOVED Lost - great little breakfast and lunch spot a block away. Euphoria a great salon. Loved Pina Colada Club for ladies shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Feb 22, 2011

Good hotel with low budget

The hotel is located directly at the beach with a very nice sea view. Small & simple but clean room. Bus stop is walking distant from hotel to travel to Old San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Feb 11, 2011

Don't book vacation packages

We never make it to the hotel. Before we canceled, i emailed the hotel to request rooms for our group together and to see if renovated rooms were available. The hotel only responded after 4 emails where they were very evasive making us suspicious. Finally they told us, a computer assigns rooms and whatever the computer gives us at check in, that's what we have to take. They have no control over the rooms we get. Well i guess the hotel is run by robots, so i contact a friend in Puerto Rico to check out the hotel. She didn't have to she knew it and reported that the hotel has issues with prostitution and drug dealers. [...]refunded the hotel, which was great. But after they made the refund, we found out that they charged 27 dollars for booking, which they would not refund. They told us it was the airfare charge. The published rate for the airfare was lower. They were trying to deceive . If you book with [...], don't think you are getting a better rate if you book the package together. You are not, the rate they give you is higher than if you booked directly with the airlines and hotel yourself. 27 isn't a lot until you multiply that by 6 people. They weaseled 162 dollars out of us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
alabama
Feb 9, 2011

The worst ever

I would not recommend this hotel to any one. The elevator would only take 2 people. They asked for a large dollar amount cover charge which we have never been asked for before. It was noisy and very low ranking as far as hotels. Everything was poorly kept and unprofessional. If We hadn't prebooked we would not have stayed. Couldn't wait to move on. Certainly one can have a better stay for the same dollar value and have amenities supplied. Although the location is great you can have better stay for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cunoregon
Business
Medford, Oregon
Dec 18, 2010

Won't stay again

Good location. No Air conditioning and no vending machines for cold drinks. Had to walk a few blocks to Walgreens to get a bottle of water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Querulous
Business
DC
Dec 13, 2010

Very bad experience.

This hotel is not good as I expected. The service provided is not fair for the price that you paid. The bar was closed during the week (only opened during weekend) and the facilities required a high maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 9, 2010

Hotel Pictures were misleading!!

I visited the Atlantic Beach Hotel the week after thanksgiving. Let me just say the pictures featuring the hotel did not match up with the condition of the hotel. The rooms were so small that it was difficult to move around in with two people. The lobby, the bar and.. well the place was just unkept period!! It felt old and run down. This hotel is defiantly not for children!! On a daily basis men gathered in front the hotel.. who knows what they were waiting for or looking for, it almost looked like prostitution?? Im just saying it looked really weird. I was disappointed to see how many of the surrounding buildings were abandoned and run down. It was not what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

I visited the Atlantic Beach Hotel the week after thanksgiving. Let me just say the pictures featuring the hotel did not match up with the condition of the hotel. The rooms were so small that it was difficult to move around in with two people. The lobby, the bar and.. well the place was just unkept period!! It felt old and run down. This hotel is defiantly not for children!! On a daily basis men gathered in front the hotel.. who knows what they were waiting for or looking for, it almost looked like prostitution?? Im just saying it looked really weird. I was disappointed to see how many of the surrounding buildings were abandoned and run down. It was not what I expected.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob the job
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 6, 2010

Puerto Rico Trip

Trip was not worst trip ive ever taken, but it certainly didnt meet expectations. Hotel was garbage!! Room was small. With the exception of the bathroom, the room was small and too cold. Personel was friendly, but did not help with travel locations and best way of getting there. Puerto Rico is not a place I would recomend to anyone and will definitely be using a different travel agent next time. I feel that all the pics and info was misleading. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Viejo San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Dec 5, 2010

Read the reviews carefully!

Be very aware of the reviews for this hotel! If you only need a place to lay down for a few hours, it's ok for that. The rooms are very, very small. The service was good and everyone was friendly but the hotel needs work. Avoid the elevator if possible. To get to the hotel we had to walk through what looked like a back alley filled with graffiti. The two building on either side are vacant; one looked like it may be under construction but there was so muc graffiti on the building, it just looked bad. There was a man sleeping under the stairs that led to the beach. It just had a rundown feel to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

De Angels was good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top