$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Atlantic Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
177 reviews
awesome location!

Everything was great but i expected something better when i paid for ocean view. The windows wernt... See full review

  • jordan edward o.
  • Oct 29, 2014
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - DOUBLE
Ocean Front Room with one double bed and one twin bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
Ocean Front Room with one Queen Bed
STANDARD - QUEEN
One Queen Bed
STANDARD - DOUBLE
One Double Bed
STANDARD - SINGLE
Two Twin Beds

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Dining

Rigoletto
Nearby
Morton's Steakhouse
Nearby
Bangkok-Bombay
Nearby
Miro Marisqueria
Nearby
Ajili Mojili
Nearby
Cielito Lindo
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amazing time
Business
Uniondale, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Great to be on the beach

The hotel itself was nice from the inside you wouldn't have known from the outside but the rooms are a good size and very nice interior the beds were comfy! The staff was friendly didn't really interact much with them unless necessary but even then they were very good people. The beach right outside is the best part they have a nice lounging area on the back patio as well as a bar with happy hour from 12pm-11pm which is great when your on vacation or nights that you don't want to go out! Plenty of good restaurants little boutiques and an amazing casino a block away! Easy acces to old San Juan and plenty of things to do around the area! Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for an inexpensive but great hotel to stay at!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 21 bus takes you to old San juan for 75 cents instead of paying a cab! Also walk along the beach for a great view of other things off the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amazing time
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Perfect couples getaway

This place was amazing my fiancé and I went for 5 nights! We got there early and at no extra charge we checked in, the beach right behind the hotel was gorgeous especially to go walk on at night! It's near great restaurants as well as the casino a block away and a bar with a long happy hour right in the hotel! The only thing I would add to it is room service and continental breakfast! The rooms and staff were great I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic puerto rican restaurants all around!! Also great little boutiques to shop at! The food at places like Orozco restaurant had us coming back atleast four more times on our trip! Their breakfast is also phenomenal. Being a tourist spot some things are rather expensive but well worth the money! Also look up wow surfing school they also have jet skiing paddle board and surfing of course! Great tourist to take u all around San Juan! An

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
latnteddy
Business
NY
Mar 15, 2012

should have listened to other reviews

we get to the hotel and not only are we charged more the rooms are extremly tiny. The parking situation was horrible, they tell you they charge 10 dollars a day for parking but theres never parking you had to park on the sidewalk and let them park it for you when something came up. I had drunk people knock on our doors at late times, and to top it off the room was warm and no way to change the temp on your own. Only thing this place has going for them that they are on the beach and they are surrounded by many businesses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

THe mall was about a 5 min drive and many of restaurants in walking distance. They also had a 24 hour walgreens across the st

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gonz53
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 12, 2012

loved this trip!

just got back from spring break with my girl and it was amazing. the hotel isn't that far away from the airport (10-15) and is right on the water and off of the main road down a side street so you hear the waves not the cars, ( a new club/restaurant moved in next door so fri-sat you'll hear them if your not joining them) the rooms were very cozy only bad thing is that there were no mini fridges. the staff were super friendly and had great input on fun things to do in the area (like diving ^_^) also the hotel is right there in San Juan and 35-40 min walk from old San Juan and all its shops, restaurants, and bars (stop and go $2 beers 24/7... 4 min walk) there is some construction going on (building a new bar on the deck from 12pm- 3pm) but it really isn't even a factor we slept in all the time with windows open and never heard a thing and if you actually get out of your room and explore it doesn't matter anyways also $10 per-night parking if you rent a car (if you do rest a car go to the bio-bay and rain forest) . overall loved our time there and plan on going back next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Colombo's is a great place to get a bite they open early and stay open until 5am....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reje
Business
Québec, QC, Canada
Mar 12, 2012

Very good value

A good small hotel in a good spot in Condado center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PR Fan
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 5, 2012

It's not that bad

I read the reviews before I booked this hotel and I was a little worried before arrival. Needless to say, the hotel is not as bad as these reviews make it out to be. Yes, the hotel has been under-construction and still remains to be under-construction in the bar area, as well as the rooftop area. However, the updates make this hotel competitive with higher-end hotels, at a fraction of the cost. The only problem we had was the fact that the bar was located below us in the outdoor patio. It was quite loud at times, but I'm positive that any other room wouldn't have been as loud. If you are looking for a good hotel within a great location at a value, this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deontay
Business
Louisville
Feb 29, 2012

I loved it!

I loved this hotel the room was small yes but if you are spending all your time there then why did you go to puerto Rico. The staff was awesome and honestly I miss them I made lots of friends. I can't wait until next time! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
josecito
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

very nice and clean

Hotel was nice and clean Staff way nice, but not much to do inside the hotel and it looks like it was still under renovation, but other them that very nice room and comfortble

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
simplefix
Business
Commerce, MI, USA
Feb 12, 2012

No frills hotel

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise. The price was good for what the hotel offered. The hotel is right on the ocean, which is a huge plus. However; the hotel is right next to a night club, so if you are planning on staying there on Friday or Saturday night, you may want to rethink it if you actually need some sleep. The hotel did have a nice bar and friendly staff. Overall, is was what we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk to Old San Juan from the hotel is VERY long. The staff will tell you that it is possible to walk, but I highly suggest taking a taxi or a bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad99
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Very Good Experience

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to San Juan and we stayed 5 nights at Atlantic Beach Hotel. The location is perfect - right on the beach and in the heart of Condado. Plenty of good restaurants, casinos and shops to choose from in the area, along with a bus stop right up the street (75 cents one way to Old San Juan on either the B21 or C23 buses - beats the price of a taxi). The room (double bed, non-ocean front) was very small, but we've stayed in Puerto Rico before and in older hotels this is just par for the course. The room was very clean, with fresh paint and bedding. Hotel bar overlooks the ocean and has great happy hour prices. During the weekend the bar was a more popular spot but during the week it was quiet and relaxing. The front desk set up a rainforest tour for us and it was affordable, professional and very enjoyable. All in all we had a great experience and would recommend the hotel to laid-back, open-minded people looking to have a good time in a perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car here - driving is a little crazy. Taxis are very easy to get at the airport - they have a taxi stand and will direct you where to go. Taxis have set prices so you don't have to haggle. The buses run to Old San Juan, or you can grab a taxi, and in Condado all the eating, shopping, casinos and beaches are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top