$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Atlantic Beach Hotel

3 stars
1 Vendig St, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
218 reviews
Bang for the buck

The location and value beats everything. Condado is the happening place in San Juan and the hotel... See full review

  • npltravel
  • Jan 5, 2014
A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of... See full review

  • Jason Melms
  • Sep 4, 2013
When you're in the mood for water, whales, and shimmering weather in coastal San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel San Juan delivers on all fronts. More intimate than most accommodations in the area, it breaks the traditional San Juan's resort mold, with trendy touches like quiet beachside patios that take you directly onto Condado Beach. Natural colors, plants and wood strike an earthy tone in the communal areas, while rooms are lined with graded granite, and stylized windows seem to bring the ocean right into your suite. Enjoy a morning coffee at the terrace bar with a free newspaper, and sit beneath the swaying shade of local palms before diving into the Atlantic.
Key facts
  • 26 guestrooms with vacation apartment rentals next door
  • Free Wi-Fi in common areas
  • Air-conditioned suites
  • Concierge and 24-hour front desk
  • Limited business services
  • Bar and patio with complimentary coffee
  • Safety deposit box
  • On-site parking
Neighborhood
Found among the white sand and crested seas of the Condado district, some two miles from the historic sites of Old San Juan, the Atlantic Beach Hotel is within reach of the souvenirs and boutiques of stylish Ashford Avenue, and the beachfront escapades and volleyball matches at Balneario (public) Beach. For guests who prefer watersports with more of a rough-and-tumble feel, kayaking in nearby Condado lagoon provides protected waters away from the often choppy tide.
Hints and tips
The oceanfront Queen suite is highly sought-after by couples, so book it early if you have a romantic escape in mind. When it comes to dining, Oceano restaurant is just next door for some classic San Juan seafood. Or guests can venture further along Ashford to Ummo Argentinean Grill, for some meaty chorizo, blood sausage dishes, and plenty of Latino-inspired dishes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.457 -66.0724
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 7.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Atlantic Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Atlantic Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard
Ocean Front Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Queen Bed- 2 Persons Max
Standard
Two Single Size Beds- 2 Persons Max
Standard
One Double Bed- 2 Persons Max

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.6 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Atlantic Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason Melms
NYC
Sep 4, 2013

A fantastic time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it just keeps getting better. The new addition of the hotels outdoor bar and restaurant where lovely. The food and happy hour are a must. Who doesn't want to eat a meal and have a cold drink while watching the ocean waves roll in? The staff where so helpful and remember you by name! The rooms are very clean but pretty basic. They have everything you need in them and the beds there are so comfortable as well. It's a mix of locals, and gay & straight tourist. Everyone gets along and it's easy to meet people for a great conversation. You really can't beat this place for the price and I would recommend it to anyone. This place has become one of my yearly sanctuaries. Go and enjoy. You will not regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the weekends they have an outdoor market in the square. There you can find local food and great shopping.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos143
NY
Jul 8, 2014

Atlántic Beach Hotel

Great gay environment, very gay friendly area & beach. The hotel lobby is nice to hang out, the rooms are nothing to wow. It's a a room, even the rooms with the views of the beautiful beach of Puerto Rico are not really rooms with views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pamela's google it!!

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atlantic beach
condado
Jul 6, 2014

GOOD DEAL.

Good location. Nice staff. On beach and good price. Perfect location. No issues. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
p1m1
chicago il
Jul 5, 2014

bad service with no pool no restourant hotell is old and it is in gay area

Good location bad service no pool no restourant it is in gay area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the three princesses
burbank, California
Jul 3, 2014

vacation with friends

The staff was helpful and rooms clean. I just wished the rooms were slightly bigger and you could adjust the air conditioner. It was cold. Location was great. Restaurants and shopping were in walking distance. We loved view of the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chrisatc2122
Charlotte
May 17, 2014

Excellent hotel with a great location!

I stayed in an ocean front room #301. The room itself is spartan but just enough. The bathroom was small but recently updated and very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. The only flaw with the room is that there is no individual temperature controls. The hallways were always nice and chilly but my room stayed a little too warm for my comfort. However, opening both windows at night made for a nice breeze. Bugs were not a problem. Hotel has a perfect oceanfront location with a great bar and a kitchen. The kitchen, however, was not open for most of my stay and the front dest said it was because it was too slow. The prices at the bar, even during happy hour were a little high, and you could find better deals a few minutes walk from the hotel. The front desk staff was always very friendly. I would not recommend this hotel for familes, but its great for couples and singles. For the price, this place can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime Time bar a block away has great drink special and $2 tacos.

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
usturia
new york
May 5, 2014

Caseworker

Housekeeping was very good. The reception staff was great. I always recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayden8987
Baldwin, New York
May 5, 2014

small fantastic hotel oceanfront

Started off a little concerned because the hotel was small. Shouldn't have expected too much being that the hotel was very affordable. But to my shock the hotel was great. It was my first time in Puerto Rico and I would do it all again and stay at the same hotel. Staff was very nice and very helpful. Bed was the comfortable. Got the best sleep ever. It's close to everything and the beach was just steps away. Not very child friendly so recommend no families. Great for friends and lbgt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lmyy
venice,california
May 4, 2014

nice location no maintence

The hotel was right on the beach which was nice.The bathroom window in my room was broken and their way of fixing it was by taping it.Which didnt work because it still let in a lot of mosquitos which me and my boyfriend were covered with bites all over.The doors in the room had like a 2in opening in the bottom which helped let in a lots of noise from next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

isla verde

Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RoxyC23
Ohio
Apr 28, 2014

Terrible experience!

We only stayed here for one night, April 26th and had a terrible experience. As soon as we got there the front desk staff- there was an older man and lady, who were probably the owners- were EXTREMELY RUDE. We tried to ask for an early check in and it was completely understandable if it couldn't be done but they were nasty about everything. We left our bags there and asked if it would be safe and the man responded- Its not my responsibility. We had a double twin size room. The beds were not that comfortable and the sink in the bathroom was terrible. The elevator was extremely scary and old as well. Other than that the hotel looks old and the owners were extremely rude! It is located on the beach which was a plus but just beware its not a good area of the beach to go to if you are a bunch of single girls or with a family. Great area if you are gay or lesbian!! Nightlife around the area was not great at all either. Good restaurants but thats about it. Over priced drinks at the hotel bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Atlantic Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gandhi9
Corozal, Puerto Rico
Apr 28, 2014

Emergency 1 night stay

Good location, cleaned rooms, front desk staff need organization

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ave Ashford

Back to menu Return to top