$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1750 McLeary Avenue, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
66 reviews
Couples get away

Beautiful and perfect place for couples to get away from all distractions. Very serene private and... See full review

  • Johana K.
  • Apr 21, 2015
amazing birthday trip !!

hotel was recommended to me by my daughter who stood at the sister hotel with her husband. I am so... See full review

  • Jackie S.
  • Apr 19, 2015
San Juan hotel offers seclusion and relaxation near Condado Beach

At Wind Chimes Inn is a lovingly restored Spanish villa with a bright white exterior and terra cotta roof. The boutique inn's lush, walled garden leads into the entrance hall decorated with local art. Rooms have light-colored furniture and bright sunflower-printed bedspreads. A 28-foot tiki bar, built to resemble a sail boat, offers cool drinks and coffee. At Wind Chimes Inn also has a quaint library, a sun deck and a courtyard. Lounge chairs line the lagoon-style pool which has a hot tub and a water wall.

Highlights
  • Restored Spanish villa
  • Picturesque Condado Beach just one block away
  • The At Wind Chimes Inn's pool has a water wall
Rooms

Terracotta tile floors and brightly colored bedspreads are the only common elements in At Wind Chimes Inn's 22 unique rooms. Works from local artisans give each room individual character. Ten-foot-high ceilings contribute to the bright, spacious feel. All rooms have private bathrooms with showers.

Features

Splash around in the pool's refreshing waterfall or leave At Wind Chimes Inn and head to Condado Beach, just one block away. Self parking is available for a fee but must be reserved ahead of time. Wi-Fi is available in common areas of the hotel.

Dining

The long, curved wooden Tiki Boat Bar serves breakfast from 7:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. and a light dinner from 6 p.m. to 11 p.m. Beverages include freshly brewed Puerto Rican coffee. Sister hotel, Acadia Seaside Inn, is down the block and has the popular Niche restaurant on site serving international and local cuisine. Niche also features a rum and cava bar.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • Condado Beach (1 block)
  • San Juan Museum of Art (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ocean Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza del Mercado (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • San Cristobal Castle (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet in common areas

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one double bed includes ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas only, wake-up call.
Deluxe Room
Room with one queen bed includes ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas only, wake-up call.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.9 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.1 mi

Dining

Tiki Boat Bar
The Tiki Boat Bar, a beautiful 28 foot sail boat bar, hand crafted especially for the At Wind Chimes Inn serves breakfast daily from 7:30am to 11am and light dinners from 6:00PM to 11:00 PM. Come to the Tiki Boat Bar and enjoy house-made sandwiches, wraps, hummus, delicious sangria and much more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
save your money
Business
san juan
Aug 10, 2013

taxi for everthing

nothing in walking distance beach was dirty trash everywhere clean up your island please hotel was from 1970 did not feel safe. left and found another hotel will not go back to Puerto rico too much trash what a shame wasted time and money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patrick Chicago
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Jun 5, 2014

Worst place I have stayed

Not a good one. Several issues, one after another and never caught a break at this hotel. First they put us in a room with a full size bed that barely fit in the room it was that small ( I took pictures) the toliet and TV also didn't work. They wouldn't move us to a different room as they were booked up, we had to use the bathroom at a gas station a block away. The next day they moved us to a queen bed and the room was a little bigger but nothing like the pictures. My wife and I were very cramped. The internet in the common spaces didn't work half the time and they allowed smoking in the common areas ( I took pictures) and that is against Puerto Rico law. I am a non smoker and hate the smell. The bar was outside the room and at night some guests would get drunk and very load keeping us up to after midnight. We called the front desk but they would not do anything. I am handicapped and reserved a parking spot with the hotel an paid for the clearly posted handicapped parking space the hotel had. However I was not happy when this hotel would let it sister hotel down the road use my spot for the valet parking for a resturant. I would return and a car would be in my spot and when I went to the front desk they would say the resturant valet does it all the time. You will need to find parking on the street (which is impossible and I would have drive around for a half hour and would be several blocks away, and half to walk back to the hotel while valet was in my handicap spot that I was paying for!). I asked the front desk several times to have a manager or owner talk to me about this and I was not happy having to pay for a parking spot that they allowed a resturant to use and wouldn't make them move when I returned to the hotel. No one has contacted me. When I checked out and paid $80 for parking for the week, they wouldn't even reduce it, they actually charged me more than $10 a day than what was posted on the website. They said sorry it is $15 dollars not $10 anymore. You need to remove this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bcaaron
Business
Sarasota, Florida
Oct 8, 2009

nice location

The pool was tiny and no pool side seating. The bar was great in the picture on the web site. The only problem was when we arrived on Fri. The bar closed at 7 pm on a Fri. night, then it did not open on Sat. or Sun. There was only parking for two hotel guests cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M. Ortiz
Business
Penuelas, PR
Nov 24, 2014

On my way!

There are no reason to go back again. The location is good, but nothing else. They need to improve the rooms: the bathroom has no door, uncomfortable beds, etc. and the staff...nothing good to say. In conclusion: bad experience. No recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SciPioneer
Business
San Juan
May 5, 2014

not a good choice

The room is small and old. I also found some hair left on the bed. Won't choose it anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 3, 2010

Not great

Rooms too small. Location was not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bella81
Business
Tarrytown, new york
Jul 25, 2012

First trip ruined

This was my first time visiting Puerto Rico and I was very excited, and my experience at the hotel effected my vacation over all. I arrived at the hotel to find the hotel clerk to be very arrogant. I was advised at booking I would have a king size bed only to find myself in a full size . When my husband and I advised the hotel they were argumentative and insinuating we were makin it up, and that was only day 1 ..Our last day we received the biggest treat. We walked to the pool area to find locals hanging out by the pool smoking marijuana, when we advised the hotel clerk he told us smoking marijuana and swimming in underwear was common on the island. Me and my husband traveled the island and can assure you not common. We also reserved parking for our 8 day stay unfortunately the parking gate was broken so either me or my husband had to go into the hotel to get someone to open the gate , extremely inconvenient! The remote for our tv disappeard from our room when we advised the hotel we were advised they were "updating" and we would have to use our fingers ! I could go on ! The hotel manager was very kind and professional but our concerns were addressed and all we got was I'm so sorry that happened. I would not recommend this place to any one .For an additional $40 a night you could stay at Holiday Inn which is what I had intended to do but changed my mind when I was told I would have a king size bed and balcony! Do not stay here if your looking to be treated with class !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boxita
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 30, 2012

Needs a lot of improvement!!

the staff is great,, other than that, it really sucks, we had roaches in our room, I think that says it all!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunke, Las Grutas de Camuy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vb Ursula
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Jan 14, 2013

You get what you pay for!

First of all, the Wind Chimes is the hotel that has 24hr reception and the Acasia (not Acadia as advertised) is the sister hotel with the soaking tub (NOT jacuzzi). No idea what that high rise picture on description is! Had rooms on the first floor of Acasia...VERY noisy. Doors rattling/slamming all night! Hair dryer fell off wall, toilet seat broken etc...needs attention! Nice beach close, but bus service to San Juan unreliable. No schedule or maps printed. Taxi is $20 + tip each way for about 5 miles. Best restaurant for walking: Pinkys, Bebos only for dinner, Mangoes good but pricey, Kasalta is a bakery/deli. In San Juan, Punte Vista at cruise ship dock area has authentic food at a good price. Bottom line, pay extra to stay in San Juan and rent a car for excursions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cruisers1234
Business
NY
May 29, 2014

ok

Our first room was dark smelled like mold. We asked for room change and they were good about changing the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top