$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Acacia Boutique Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8 Taft St. San Juan, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
excellent

They go out of the way...fantastic people and facility, they made it memorable holiday for us.. See full review

  • roger tripathi
  • Oct 1, 2014
fantastic

for a small hotel this place is incredible. what they lack in the resort style accomodations they... See full review

  • apontes boy
  • Apr 14, 2014

The Acacia Seaside Inn's dramatic wooden door opens to a long granite hallway lined with chic leather chairs, exotic flowers and paintings of tropical scenery. This restored Spanish villa is tucked away on a residential street with beautiful Condado Beach at the end of the block. Al fresco corridors that pass through a lush garden connect the hotel with the popular on-site restaurant, Niché. The rolling waves of Condado Beach are visible from the hot tub, rooftop terrace and some rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in common areas.

Dining

The on-site restaurant Niché is big on ambiance and flavor. Granite walls, warm lighting and custom woodwork complements the international cuisine including dishes such as parmesan-crusted halibut and the Taste of the Island, which includes tuna tartar, mahi mahi ceviche and lobster salad. Finish up with the mango cheesecake, or a pick from the extensive cava and rum menu.

Rooms

Sunny floral bedspreads, thick white plantation shutters and beach scene paintings greet guests in the 15 rooms at the Acacia Seaside Inn. Wicker and wrought iron headboards and furniture embellish these bright rooms. Rooms with balconies overlooking the ocean are available upon request. Washrooms are shower-only with unique tile work in earthy tones and pedestal sinks with the basins in the shape of a shell.

Property features

Self parking is available for a fee at Acacia Seaside Inn.

Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just footsteps away from the Acacia Seaside Inn
  • Popular Niché Restaurant is on site
  • Rooftop sundeck and whirlpool
  • Access to neighboring hotel's pool
Nearby attractions
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Condado shopping district (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Recreation

Acacia Seaside Inn has a rooftop sun deck surrounded by lounge chairs and a large whirlpool. Condado Beach, among the island's finest, is at the end of the block. Guests also have free access to the pool and cafe bar at Acacia's sister hotel, Wind Chimes, just up the block.

Policies
  • Check-in is at sister hotel, Wind Chimes Inn, just up the block.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Acacia Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$104
3.7 / 5 63 reviews
★★
$59
2.8 / 5 171 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.2 / 5 133 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 775 reviews
★★
$82
3.4 / 5 45 reviews
★★
$129
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$85
3.7 / 5 168 reviews
★★
$69
2.6 / 5 92 reviews

Acacia Boutique Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Most Rooms count with varied views from Garden, Courtyard or City. One full or queen bed, LED Cable TV, Direct-dial phone, Air Conditioning, wake-up calls, coffee maker, private bathroom, shower only, hair dryer (on request), Non-smoking ONLY, Daily housekeeping, iron (on request), Free Wi-Fi.
Standard Room
Room with one queen bed includes thread-count linens and overstuffed pillow shams, imported indonesian furnishings, ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas, wake-up call.
Deluxe Room
Room with one king bed includes thread-count linens and overstuffed pillow shams, imported indonesian furnishings, ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas, wake-up call.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.1 mi

Dining

Niche
Restaurant Niche is a Creative Caribbean Cuisine full-service restaurant that opens for dinner Wednesday thru Saturday from 6PM to 11PM. Savor fresh Puerto Rican Tapas and ask about our nightly dinner size specials. Buen Provecho! Enjoy a truly wonderful dining experience in an atmosphere that is relaxed, yet elegant stimulating the five senses while you have a delightful dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Acacia Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jadkins81
Couples
Atlanta, Ga.
Jun 19, 2010

Dirty. Smelly. Inconvienient.

My husband and I were looking to visit somewhere beautiful that we had never been before for our anniversary and his R&R time. As soon as we arrived we were told that we had to go up the street to check in at Acacia's "sister hotel" Windchimes Inn. In fact, EVERYTHING has to be done at Windchimes. Even getting ice or taxi pickup. There are hardly ever any staff members actually at this hotel. The first room that we were assigned had NOT been cleaned. The hallway to this room had obviously been urinated in several times from the odor. The woman that was momertarily over at the Acacia would hardly speak to or look at us when we reported the problem. We sat in the lobby for over a half an hour before she directed us to go right back to Windchimes again. We were then "upgraded" to a room without a mini-fridge over their foul-smelling(rotten shrimp) restaurant. Our king sized bed was nothing more than two uncomfortable twin mattresses pushed together. On top of all of the other unpleasant smells, their trash is stored right next to the front door of the hotel. You have to hold your breath on the way in and out to avoid gagging. The consierge at Windchimes is helpful during the day to get taxi service. The closest shopping/restaurant area is about 8-10 city blocks. Old San Juan is 10-15 min taxi ride away if you want to sightsee away from the beach. FYI Isla Verde has cleaner beaches. Fajardo(1.5 hrs. away) cleaner still. Do not rely on Acacia/Windchimes to make any restaurant or bar suggestions. They will only tell you to take a walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Flavors Of San Juan tour in Old San Juan. At $70 per person it was one of our best experiences in Puerto Rico! There is also a large Howard Johnson hotel in Old San Juan that appeared to be clean near shopping and dining at Plaza De Armas. I wished that we had stayed there. It is only a $0.50 ferry ride to Casa Bacardi from there. Do not pay $50+ to go to Bacardi! It is free plus 2 free drinks each! taxi fare from the ferry is only $3. Some travel companies are trying to sell the trip to folks who dont know. FYI most strangers that want to talk to you on the street will eventually ask for money. The beach is not safe at night. DO snorkeling/kayaking. That was also another enjoyable part of our trip. Good luck!

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yary beach lover
Couples
New York, N.Y.
Dec 9, 2013

not bad for the price

Great food at restaurant. Access to the beach. Great hang out spot 3 blocks down (Mango's). Main street a walk away. No parking available at the time of my stay. Cleanness needs a little more attention on floors. It felt sandy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
boston ma
May 1, 2010

Needs help

no services at hotel .... have to up up the street to wind chimes to register ... 1st room tiny, dated and no chairs... when i simply asked for plastic chairs that are on other balconies they said they had none.. after complaining they moved to deluxe room I had paid for which was MUCH nicer.. they blamed the mistaken room on [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jose S.
Single
Meriden
Apr 21, 2015

Good sight visit trip!

The parking lot was not big enough for four cars. They charge 15.00 dollars a day plus tax. There is no way to get in the parking without the front desk help. That means that if I need it to go out from the hotel late night I need it to call them and let them know so they can open the gate. They didn't pick up the phone immediately . I think this is a risk and dangerous situation because is not the best location in Condado area.. This hotel is share with another hotel. It was never notify to my self.It was a really surprise.Hope you can find a solution to this problem. I need to walk about half block to use the pool. If you are on vacation will you like to go through this. Jose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holguin
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 22, 2013

Nice Room with ocean view

After exploring on the internet, I finally decided on the Acacia Hotel after reading many reviews, mostly on the positive side for this small hotel. I could easily have stayed closer to old town San Juan, and a more upscale hotel (casino, beach, bars ) but I wanted to experience the beach scene as well as the local life. The small room consisted of a small queen bed, a flat screen tv (slightly larger than my laptop) shower, sink ,toilet all with good pressure. There was a nice walk out patio-balcony which was definitely a bonus. The view looked out to a small lap pool (hot tub). The problem with the lap pool was there was a fair amount of partying in the early hours of the morning. There was also a partial view of the beach even although a condo building obstructed part of the view. There was no refrigerator in the room, so I purchased a ice chest for $6 which kept my beer/oj cold for up to six hours. The loud drone of the dated air conditioner could be a negative factor, but after awhile I hardly noticed the sound. The staff were very friendly and helpful in regards to directions and points of interests, especially Fernando. There was a small expensive restaurant in the hotel called "Niche". Prices start for "pork chops" $42; lobster $48, steak $44, fish $40, salad $24, fries $14. Hey , they did have a "door man". for the restaurant. I relied on the local bus which was $.75cents (exact change) each way to old town, which was about a twenty minute ride. I did arrange a tour of "old town" plus a tour of the Bicardi Rum factory (which in my opinion was a waste of time). The cost for this tour was $55. The beach was very similar to most beaches in Florida. There was a high surf, so I wouldn't recommend it to young kids. Since I was down on business for two weeks, I asked the local policed beach patrol about any problems with "sharks" and they said no, although they did say watch the "undertow". On the Discovery channel it was "shark week", so I did hesitate at first before swimming. After the third day, I had severe leg cramp which I ended up visiting the local hospital. They wanted $500 up front to see a doctor plus a six hour wait. I declined and lived with the pain until I got home. I realize I could claim a portion of this on my private medical plan, but it never is the total amount. Many of the nurses didn't know the word "emergency". What is emergency in Spanish? (emergencia)I hate it when nurses say "no comprehender". There were a few local bars and restaurants near by the hotel. Most of the local restaurants (MCDonald's,Wendy's, Burger King, Church chicken, all within a twenty minute walk. There were a few air conditioned bars where most served beer from $1.00 to $3.My favourite restaurants were Roberts (beside Tatoo place, Uno's, and Blonda Condado and Komali on Taft street where most of the food is "organic"at this place.. I never found the locals that friendly towards tourists, especially when you compare them to Cubans or other islanders. Generally I'm glad i visited this island, but it will be a long time before I return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to beach and only a 75 cent bus ride to old town San Juan Puerto Rico

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SkyD
Single
Middle Village, NY
Dec 20, 2013

Low Key Hotel

This was a great stay in San Juan. I will be back for sure next year. It's close to everything and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sonalita
Family
New York
Jun 14, 2011

A tasteful boutique experience

We spent 4 nights here and overall had a lovely time. The standard rooms are small but clean and don't have a view. The hotel has a interesting quaint design with modern touches. the location was perfect, we were only a 15 mins drive away from old san Juan, and 5 mins from restaurants and cafes in condado. also loved having the beach so close by. all the hotel staff are friendly and helpful with planning activities. if you want a reasonable, tasteful place that's well located, acacia is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kasalta cafe is a cute local place for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Sep 9, 2009

mostly a good experience

I was at the Acacia for three nights. My arrival was a bit stressful and is my main complaint. After a day of travel and the sunlight waning at about 5pm I finally made it to my destination. No one was at the Acacia and the doors were locked. No one answered the phone when I called. I finally remembered, having done my research, that At Wind Chimes Inn and Acacia were related. So I called the other hotel, where the line was busy. This went on for probably five minutes, and then I got through. I was told that I was supposed to check in there, not at Acacia. So I dragged my luggage down the street (thankfully the two hotels are very close by) and rang the bell there. The woman at the desk checked me in but her printer was not working or something and after begging her to let me go to my room she said ok, but I had to come back to finish filling out paperwork and have my deposit card swiped. She was nice enough, but didn't seem in any hurry to help me start my vacation or to understand why I might be displeased with the situation. Eventually I came back and the situation was resolved. My stay there was fine. However, the cleaning service only comes in the morning, and I was sleeping in, so my room was never cleaned. There is a huge jacuzzi at the Acacia, which is awesome, but no pool. There's a pool you can use at Wind Chimes but it's pretty tiny. And the inconvenience of going back and forth between the hotels is a little annoying. The one time I visited the bar in At Wind Chimes they were trying out a new bartender and my margarita was awful. My room was pretty small, but it was nice and clean, and air conditioned, and the bathroom had a lovely stone shower. The neighborhood is kind of residential, so if you're looking for amazing views I would not recommend staying here. On the brighter side, the beach is extremely close by. And you can walk to a lot of great restaurants and other hotels on Ashford Ave. There's a great patisserie for breakfast/lunch/coffee not far away. And Niche, the tiny, hip restaurant in the hotel lobby, has great food and service and the people who run it are wonderful and accommodating. I might stay at the Acacia again but I'd definitely explore other options, too. I don't recommend staying here if you're looking for a resort-type vibe. But if you're looking for someplace quiet and near the beach this is a good spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aguaviva in Old San Juan is one of the best seafood places I've ever been to and I highly recommend going there.

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
omar1
Single
orlando
Jul 16, 2014

nice little spot

great looking place staff was very nice and rrom was clean.parking was a nightmare

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guyandwife
Couples
Washington DC
Apr 2, 2014

Great location close, but slightly away, from the crowds

A cute Spanish style design, small hotel. Half a block to the Ovean Park Beach popular with locals. In residential area but less than minute walk to the tourist area Condado. We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left on the first street and go five or six short blocks to Mango's. Nice local pub style place with very good local fusion food at good prices

Back to menu Return to top