$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Acacia Boutique Hotel

3 stars
8 Taft St. San Juan, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
41 reviews
excellent

They go out of the way...fantastic people and facility, they made it memorable holiday for us.. See full review

  • roger tripathi
  • Oct 1, 2014
fantastic

for a small hotel this place is incredible. what they lack in the resort style accomodations they... See full review

  • apontes boy
  • Apr 14, 2014
Restored Spanish villa near Condado Beach with on-site restaurant

The Acacia Seaside Inn's dramatic wooden door opens to a long granite hallway lined with chic leather chairs, exotic flowers and paintings of tropical scenery. This restored Spanish villa is tucked away on a residential street with beautiful Condado Beach at the end of the block. Al fresco corridors that pass through a lush garden connect the hotel with the popular on-site restaurant, Niché. The rolling waves of Condado Beach are visible from the hot tub, rooftop terrace and some rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in common areas.

Highlights
  • The golden sands of Condado Beach just footsteps away from the Acacia Seaside Inn
  • Popular Niché Restaurant is on site
  • Rooftop sundeck and whirlpool
  • Access to neighboring hotel's pool
Rooms

Sunny floral bedspreads, thick white plantation shutters and beach scene paintings greet guests in the 15 rooms at the Acacia Seaside Inn. Wicker and wrought iron headboards and furniture embellish these bright rooms. Rooms with balconies overlooking the ocean are available upon request. Washrooms are shower-only with unique tile work in earthy tones and pedestal sinks with the basins in the shape of a shell.

Features

Self parking is available for a fee at Acacia Seaside Inn.

Dining

The on-site restaurant Niché is big on ambiance and flavor. Granite walls, warm lighting and custom woodwork complements the international cuisine including dishes such as parmesan-crusted halibut and the Taste of the Island, which includes tuna tartar, mahi mahi ceviche and lobster salad. Finish up with the mango cheesecake, or a pick from the extensive cava and rum menu.

Recreation

Acacia Seaside Inn has a rooftop sun deck surrounded by lounge chairs and a large whirlpool. Condado Beach, among the island's finest, is at the end of the block. Guests also have free access to the pool and cafe bar at Acacia's sister hotel, Wind Chimes, just up the block.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Attractions
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Condado shopping district (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3.9 mi/ 6.3 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access
Policies & fees
  • Check-in is at sister hotel, Wind Chimes Inn, just up the block.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4536 -66.0601
Area served
San Juan.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport - 3 miles.
Area description
The Acacia Seaside Inn is located on the east side of the residential part of the Condado area. It is literally steps away from the Condado beach. Casinos, night clubs, restaurants, pubs and cafes are all within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Acacia Boutique Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Acacia Boutique Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Most Rooms count with varied views from Garden, Courtyard or City. One full or queen bed, LED Cable TV, Direct-dial phone, Air Conditioning, wake-up calls, coffee maker, private bathroom, shower only, hair dryer (on request), Non-smoking ONLY, Daily housekeeping, iron (on request), Free Wi-Fi.
Standard Room
Room with one queen bed includes thread-count linens and overstuffed pillow shams, imported indonesian furnishings, ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas, wake-up call.
Deluxe Room
Room with one king bed includes thread-count linens and overstuffed pillow shams, imported indonesian furnishings, ceiling fan, air conditioning, basic cable TV, in-room safe, direct dial phone, bathroom with shower, hair dryer(upon request), iron/ironing board (upon request), free wireless connection at common areas, wake-up call.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.4 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.6 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.7 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3.9 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.9 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.8 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.1 mi

Dining

Niche
Restaurant Niche is a Creative Caribbean Cuisine full-service restaurant that opens for dinner Wednesday thru Saturday from 6PM to 11PM. Savor fresh Puerto Rican Tapas and ask about our nightly dinner size specials. Buen Provecho! Enjoy a truly wonderful dining experience in an atmosphere that is relaxed, yet elegant stimulating the five senses while you have a delightful dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Acacia Boutique Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loveyamy
Business
New York, NY
Apr 22, 2011

Wonderful Acacia Seaside Inn

I had dinner with my husband twice at this hotel and we had breakfast. All food was great, but portion of food is quite small. The hotel was much better than pictures on website! The hotel was clean and cozy. Condado beach was so beautiful in the morning because there are lots of people in the afternoon. It's 10 mins away from the San Juan air port by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
quantumpeepVA
Business
Staunton, VA
Aug 12, 2010

Great little hotel for a good price

This was a great little hotel, right off the beach, a little less than a mile from the heart of Condado. The rooms have character, interesting architecture, cute balconies, and a great little pool. The staff was helpful and polite -- though keep in mind that this is a boutique hotel with one person at the front desk... it's not a large hotel with a bar, concierge, and huge lobby. It's less than half a block from the beach and a 10 minute walk from a bunch of restaurants in the Condado area. We mostly used our room as home base for excursions by car to Old San Juan and other parts of the island. Reserve parking in advance if you're interested... we rented a car but there were not any hotel parking spaces left when we checked in. On-street parking was possible, but not plentiful. (Old San Juan is a few miles away -- not walkable for us in the heat, but there are apparently buses for pretty cheap fares.) We got a good price considering the average hotel price in that area. All and all, perfect for what we needed and we would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Augustine, Florida
Jun 25, 2010

Acacia Seaside Inn- San Juan

The location of this hotel was fantastic. Everything a casual traveler needed was within walking distance, shopping, dining, entertainment and most important the beaches....mere steps away from the inn. The staff was friendly and the Boat Bar bartenders were so accommodating and helpful. It was a pleasurable stay and comes highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jadkins81
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Jun 19, 2010

Dirty. Smelly. Inconvienient.

My husband and I were looking to visit somewhere beautiful that we had never been before for our anniversary and his R&R time. As soon as we arrived we were told that we had to go up the street to check in at Acacia's "sister hotel" Windchimes Inn. In fact, EVERYTHING has to be done at Windchimes. Even getting ice or taxi pickup. There are hardly ever any staff members actually at this hotel. The first room that we were assigned had NOT been cleaned. The hallway to this room had obviously been urinated in several times from the odor. The woman that was momertarily over at the Acacia would hardly speak to or look at us when we reported the problem. We sat in the lobby for over a half an hour before she directed us to go right back to Windchimes again. We were then "upgraded" to a room without a mini-fridge over their foul-smelling(rotten shrimp) restaurant. Our king sized bed was nothing more than two uncomfortable twin mattresses pushed together. On top of all of the other unpleasant smells, their trash is stored right next to the front door of the hotel. You have to hold your breath on the way in and out to avoid gagging. The consierge at Windchimes is helpful during the day to get taxi service. The closest shopping/restaurant area is about 8-10 city blocks. Old San Juan is 10-15 min taxi ride away if you want to sightsee away from the beach. FYI Isla Verde has cleaner beaches. Fajardo(1.5 hrs. away) cleaner still. Do not rely on Acacia/Windchimes to make any restaurant or bar suggestions. They will only tell you to take a walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Flavors Of San Juan tour in Old San Juan. At $70 per person it was one of our best experiences in Puerto Rico! There is also a large Howard Johnson hotel in Old San Juan that appeared to be clean near shopping and dining at Plaza De Armas. I wished that we had stayed there. It is only a $0.50 ferry ride to Casa Bacardi from there. Do not pay $50+ to go to Bacardi! It is free plus 2 free drinks each! taxi fare from the ferry is only $3. Some travel companies are trying to sell the trip to folks who dont know. FYI most strangers that want to talk to you on the street will eventually ask for money. The beach is not safe at night. DO snorkeling/kayaking. That was also another enjoyable part of our trip. Good luck!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudyroo
Business
Round Rock, TX
Jun 19, 2010

Great Deal!!

The hotel was a place to sleep. Big bed, clean rooms, and amazing hot tub. I did not go to Puerto Rico to spend time in the hotel, but to see the many splendors. If you are looking for a good deal, its a heck of a steal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to the BioBay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka, KS
Jun 14, 2010

Beautiful Boutique Hotel

This quaint hotel is just steps from the beach. It has a HUGE jacuzzi hot tub overlooking the ocean, exercise facilities and a nice on-site restaurant. A pool is available at a sister facility up the street. The entire facility is tastefully decorated and clean and the staff were kind and helpful. I would highly recommend for either a couple or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus
Jun 9, 2010

Unique Spanish Motif Boutique Hotel

Perfect boutique hotel with Spanish motif. Great music in the lobby. The trip was to swim in the ocean. Was stung first two day by jellyfish. Rest of the time was perfect. Beach was clean and quiet. Was expecting the water to be azure, but it look more like Los Angeles beach water. Wanted to go parasailing, but nothing was available in that area. I don't speak Spanish and it made my trip somewhat difficult. Very few people in that area spoke English. I must confess that my trips to other Carribean islands were breath taking due to the color of the water and the people were more tourist friendly. This trip is probably at the bottom of my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Puerto Rico is a very large island and traffic is New York style some times. Make sure you read up on what you want to do and find the closest hotel. If you don't speak Spanish, it is best to stay close to the resort areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
May 1, 2010

Needs help

no services at hotel .... have to up up the street to wind chimes to register ... 1st room tiny, dated and no chairs... when i simply asked for plastic chairs that are on other balconies they said they had none.. after complaining they moved to deluxe room I had paid for which was MUCH nicer.. they blamed the mistaken room on [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 9, 2009

mostly a good experience

I was at the Acacia for three nights. My arrival was a bit stressful and is my main complaint. After a day of travel and the sunlight waning at about 5pm I finally made it to my destination. No one was at the Acacia and the doors were locked. No one answered the phone when I called. I finally remembered, having done my research, that At Wind Chimes Inn and Acacia were related. So I called the other hotel, where the line was busy. This went on for probably five minutes, and then I got through. I was told that I was supposed to check in there, not at Acacia. So I dragged my luggage down the street (thankfully the two hotels are very close by) and rang the bell there. The woman at the desk checked me in but her printer was not working or something and after begging her to let me go to my room she said ok, but I had to come back to finish filling out paperwork and have my deposit card swiped. She was nice enough, but didn't seem in any hurry to help me start my vacation or to understand why I might be displeased with the situation. Eventually I came back and the situation was resolved. My stay there was fine. However, the cleaning service only comes in the morning, and I was sleeping in, so my room was never cleaned. There is a huge jacuzzi at the Acacia, which is awesome, but no pool. There's a pool you can use at Wind Chimes but it's pretty tiny. And the inconvenience of going back and forth between the hotels is a little annoying. The one time I visited the bar in At Wind Chimes they were trying out a new bartender and my margarita was awful. My room was pretty small, but it was nice and clean, and air conditioned, and the bathroom had a lovely stone shower. The neighborhood is kind of residential, so if you're looking for amazing views I would not recommend staying here. On the brighter side, the beach is extremely close by. And you can walk to a lot of great restaurants and other hotels on Ashford Ave. There's a great patisserie for breakfast/lunch/coffee not far away. And Niche, the tiny, hip restaurant in the hotel lobby, has great food and service and the people who run it are wonderful and accommodating. I might stay at the Acacia again but I'd definitely explore other options, too. I don't recommend staying here if you're looking for a resort-type vibe. But if you're looking for someplace quiet and near the beach this is a good spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Aguaviva in Old San Juan is one of the best seafood places I've ever been to and I highly recommend going there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Acacia Boutique Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bluespoon
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 9, 2009

Friendly people, beautiful location.

I loved the inn. The hot tub was absolutely wonderful, and the beach was just a few steps away. We spent some time at the sister hotel, the Wind Chimes, which was less than a block away. We talked with Genie at the Wind Chimes who was so helpful in finding good places to eat. The bar at the Boat Bar had the BEST salmon quesadillas I've EVER had. Complaints? Nope. Every day, we went straight from the beach to the hot tub. Then we walked a couple of blocks to find a place to eat. Everything was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan is absolutely charming. You can walk a few blocks to the bus stop. 15 minutes and $.75 later, you get to a beautiful square with some great souvenier shops and a good restaurant on each corner. We went to the Parrot Club. It was trendy with amazingly wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top