$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
688 reviews
Fabulous Family Vacation

Despite the construction that was going on when we stayed here, our stay at this hotel ended up... See full review

  • L. C.
  • Jun 26, 2015
Great family vacation!

The resort is beautiful like an oasis in the jungle. The location could not be any better for... See full review

  • Jana L.
  • Jun 22, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa, nestled in a lush hideaway between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque Caribbean National Forest, both pampers and impresses guests with a wide array of amenities. Guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views, rivaled only by the tropical decor of its 400 rooms and suites. The AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, situated on a palm-lined beach backed by mountains, features championship golf, numerous dining options, three pools, conference center, and dive center.

Rooms

Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, forest, and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, and plush fabrics provide each guest with comfort. Each of the 400 spacious rooms and suites comes with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, in-room safe, iron, mini-bar, coffeemaker, baths with marble highlights, hairdryer, and 37-inch color television with in-room movies.

Property features

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa offers a large variety of activities. Guests hit the beach or dive, snorkel, sail, or kayak. Freshwater fanatics enjoy the three pools.

The hotel also features two award-winning championship golf courses -- Greg Norman's River Course and Tom and George Fazio's Ocean Course -- 13 har-tru tennis courts, the Mandara Spa and fitness center, and a Kids Club.

Diners at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar savour Italian, Latin-Asian, Mexican, American and classic Puerto Rican cuisines at on-site restaurants, Palio, Shimas, Seabreeze, Marbella and Iguana's Pub. Barista Cafe, Boleros Lounge, Players Lounge and Tiki Hut Bar & Grill also offers tasty meals and drinks. At night, the hotel's 7000-square-foot casino lights up to give guests a chance to win back the cost of the trip.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort
  • Championship golf courses
  • 11 restaurants and lounges
  • Watersports and dive center
  • Oceanfront Conference Center
  • Three pools and mile-long stretch of beach

Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2km)

Business

  • Oceanfront Conference Center measuring 48,000 square feet
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,800
  • Professionally planned group golf and tennis events
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (23.6 mi/38 km)

Policies

The property charges 16% resort fee (taxable and per stay).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Pool View King
Spacious rooms with pool and resort views offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 1 King bed, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Pool View Double
Spacious rooms with pool and resort views offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 2 Queen beds, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Ocean View King
Spacious rooms with panoramic views of the ocean and the resort offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 1 King bed, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Ocean View Double
Spacious rooms with panoramic views of the ocean and the resort offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 2 Queen beds, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 688
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DButts
Business
Brooklyn
May 22, 2015

Relaxing Solo Trip

Took this trip awhile back as a relaxing trip by myself. The hotel and staff were nice but the location was a little too far away from everything so you end up getting stuck having all your meals there. Great if you want to just hang out by the pool and play a few rounds of golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer C.
Business
Lynnwood
May 7, 2015

Mini vaca to Puerto Rico

I'm orignially from Hawaii and understand how the hospitality industry works because I've worked in it. Whenever I travel to a new place, I also take time to get to know the locals and the culture. I gotta say- the staff, especially Ty down in room service, Sylvia at the tiki bar and Shirley in the lobby bar were remarkable. I ordered room service on my first night and the food wasn't that great- I let Ty know the next day and she made sure I was taken care of and they delivered me an out of this world cheese and cracker tray. She also gave me a list of beaches to check out, which I really enjoyed!!! Sylvia was so easy to talk to and hooked me up with good drinks on my first day while I was lounging on the beach and Shirley was memorable because she gave excellent service. She made time to check on me and talk to me while I was in the lobby bar. The security guys are also really cool to talk to and the front desk staff was great. Everyone works very hard and even though it seems like things move slowly, you are on an island and gotta just adapt to the pace. The view from the room was pretty but I did not appreciate hearing construction noise as well as noise from the pool. There was one night where music was playing until 11 pm due to a private event. What I wanted to hear was ocean waves, not screaming children, which you will hear even from a top floor room, on a getaway. The best rooms seemed to have been the ones that were under construction for their new timeshare project and that's extremely unfortunate. I'd like to think if you wanted to vacation in a party kind of atmosphere that you'd just stay in San Juan, not the east side. Beaches were absolutely beautiful and I especially loved Luquillo and La Pared- they reminded me a lot of Hawaii. The hotel beach was also nice- the waves were perfect and even though it was breezy, the sun and warm water felt spectacular!! My only complaint would be the beach lounge chairs, which were bumpy and uncomfortable. I recommend spending some time at Kioskos too- lots of good places to grab a bite to eat and a drink plus the beach is really nice. The bed in my room was comfy but the ac unit would not turn on when I closed my door. The bathroom also wasn't the cleanest- there was hair left on the shower floor and liner. I also felt like I had minimal privacy even though I was on the 6th floor- I could hear my neighbors and people in the hallways with their doors slamming all hours of the night. Food quality was not that great either. The best thing I ate was the pork nachos in the lobby bar and a pancake breakfast from room service. Tiki bar food was overpriced and often overcooked- I had the fish sandwich and it was so dry, I didn't even finish it and the fries were cold. I felt like everything was overpriced too and that I was being nickle and dimed left and right. If you appreciate convenience, it's nice to have dining options but I think there should be a deal for guests of the hotel to eat. Parking was pricey and sometimes hard to find, especially if you were coming in late. The elevators were slow and it's strange how there's only one elevator you can take to get upstairs. The walk to the lobby and rooms can seem kind of far, especially if you have all of your luggage and are fighting jet lag and don't want to pay for valet. I only went in the pool once since I wanted to spend all of my time in the ocean and it was clean. The hot tubs were on the cold side, especially the one near the adult pool. The one in the family pool was ironically warmer but you have to battle families and screaming kids if you want to sit in it. All in all, the staff is what made it a pleasurable experience but I would not spend my money at this hotel again unless there were more discounts in place for guests as well as no construction noise going on. Thanks to Ty, Sylvia, Shirley, front desk staff and security!! You guys all had so much aloha!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

December Vacation

This was my second stay at the Rio Mar and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays and the staff is excellent and extremely helpful. It's housed in a gated community with a beautiful golf course and is very close to El Yunque and about 35-40 min from San Juan. All of the staff I met spoke English well and provided many great suggestions on things to do. The pools are kept clean and there are some fun/silly pool activities that kids can enjoy, as well as watch the staff feed the native iguanas. There's direct access to the beach and if you walk down to the right side there is a quiet river which is very peaceful in the mornings. I went to the Casino once and they have slots and card games, etc., good atmosphere, but not something I really enjoy. The restaurants serve ok food and but are a little pricey. I prefer to get the full experience and like to drive east to the Kioskos (large strip of restaurants on the beach), further into Luqillo and visit friends at Metropol (Puerto Rican/Cuban Food), or grab some pinchos (shiskabobs sp?) from a local vendor. There's also a grocery store (Amico) three lights to the west as well. Overall, great trip and wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xozxo
Business
Waterburty ct
Jun 10, 2014

Amazing

This hotel just made my mimi vaca it was amazing and nothing could've been better ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric 1234
Business
St. Croix
Feb 11, 2014

Nice hotel

Nice hotel with golf course and seemly private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashtown
Business
Maryland
May 28, 2013

Good place to be

Lovely customer services, like the food ,close to the beach,very lovely clean rooms , nice tour guides and not too far from entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take valet parking

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BRAVES JUNKIE
Business
FALLS CHURCH, VA
May 1, 2013

solo vacation

The hotel was nice. I loved my room being on the first floor with easy access to the beach. Thought food was a little pricey and some of the folks weren't very friendly. The massage therapist I had twice was fantastic. Overall, it was a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelerLexiMN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 4, 2013

Standard Resort Hotel

Standard resort hotel where everything of course costs an arm and a leg because you're stuck at a resort and have no other options. (unless you've rented a car). When we arrived on Thursday evening, there were few dining options. Not sure if Thursdays are just limited but everything seemed to be closed except for Lobby bar. But overall it was a decent place. Not bad, but not blow your mind fabulous either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIALY
Business
FLORIDA
Jan 4, 2013

POOR EXPERIENCE

ROOM NEEDS TO BE CLEAN AND PAINTED THE WALLS AND CEILING NEAR AC.... ALSO AC FILTER SUPER DIRTY... LAMPS SHADE AND CHAIR CUSHION SHOULD BE REPLACE BATHTUB AND SINK FAUCET WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY THIS FACILITY NEEDS A TREMENDOUS UPLIFT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sa Mule
Business
Alaska, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Rio Mar - First time in PR

I loved the facility, but it was much more of a family oriented hotel than I was interested in. The location (Rio Grande) is PERFECT for the rainforest, scuba, kayaking, etc. but 40 minutes from the airport and San Juan. I found myself driving to San Juan almost daily. Parking was moderate - $15 self /$20 valet Overall a wonderful facility, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest is basically across the highway! :)

Back to menu Return to top