$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
613 reviews
Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful... See full review

  • Zoe Z
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was Perfect on my Trip. The Wyndham Grand is Outstanding. Also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Award-winning Puerto Rican resort with breathtaking views

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa, nestled in a lush hideaway between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque Caribbean National Forest, both pampers and impresses guests with a wide array of amenities. Guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views, rivaled only by the tropical decor of its 400 rooms and suites. The AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, situated on a palm-lined beach backed by mountains, features championship golf, numerous dining options, three pools, conference center, and dive center.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort
  • Championship golf courses
  • 11 restaurants and lounges
  • Watersports and dive center
  • Oceanfront Conference Center
  • Three pools and mile-long stretch of beach

Rooms

Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, forest, and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, and plush fabrics provide each guest with comfort. Each of the 400 spacious rooms and suites comes with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, in-room safe, iron, mini-bar, coffeemaker, baths with marble highlights, hairdryer, and 37-inch color television with in-room movies.

Features

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa offers a large variety of activities. Guests hit the beach or dive, snorkel, sail, or kayak. Freshwater fanatics enjoy the three pools.

The hotel also features two award-winning championship golf courses -- Greg Norman's River Course and Tom and George Fazio's Ocean Course -- 13 har-tru tennis courts, the Mandara Spa and fitness center, and a Kids Club.

Diners at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar savour Italian, Latin-Asian, Mexican, American and classic Puerto Rican cuisines at on-site restaurants, Palio, Shimas, Seabreeze, Marbella and Iguana's Pub. Barista Cafe, Boleros Lounge, Players Lounge and Tiki Hut Bar & Grill also offers tasty meals and drinks. At night, the hotel's 7000-square-foot casino lights up to give guests a chance to win back the cost of the trip.

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (23.6 mi/38 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2km)

Business

  • Oceanfront Conference Center measuring 48,000 square feet
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,800
  • Professionally planned group golf and tennis events
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees

The property charges 16% resort fee (taxable and per stay).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View
Partial Ocean view room with Wyndham True Blue bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Ocean Front
Room features stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 613
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amraja8
Business
austin, tx
Dec 1, 2014

great resort

Resort was great. I was worried about the construction and rooms based on prior reviews, but it turned out to be real pleasant. Really neat and right on the beach. Amenities were nice with unlimited towels to clean up after getting into the pool. I wish the instructions were a little clear at the front desk on the vouchers we had, but it was ok. Overall a nice place to enjoy and relax. The location could have been nearer to some more outside restaurants. Food was great , Lill on the expensive side:). I would recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR Vacationista
Business
NYC
Nov 10, 2014

Family Getaway

Everyone that worked at the Hotel was absolutely great. Very nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is very nice and the grounds are beautifully kept. The dinning could have been better. If you are looking for typical Spanish/Puerto Rican cuisine you have to leave the hotel. They have a few restaurants there but none have good old rice & beans. It rained while we were there and there wasn't much to do especially when you are traveling with a baby. The hotel should try and have more activities. Finally, my room was real nice, great view... but the floor was disgusting. I took my shoes off and walk around the room and my feet got disgusting dirty. Ceramic floors in the rooms need mopping every day with soap & water. Overall, it was a nice place for the price... and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Don Pepe for good typical Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelMike
Business
Middletown, New York
Sep 30, 2014

great place to relax

I loved it would definitely recommend to family and friends. Would definitely stay again on next vacation. Only downfall ATM on site never worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bronx66
Business
Roseville, California
Sep 1, 2014

Wyndham

Hotel was nice, parking garage needs better lighting, & remodel. Parking garage elevator was broken for about 1/2 our stay - long walk to and from garage. Tiki restaurant on beach closes the kitchen @ 6pm (really!?) The hotel sits on the beach with awesome view, unfortunately it's a long drive from main road & roads on facility are poorly lit and very narrow. If you plan on staying @ the beach your entire vacation, it's great but very expensive to eat & drink there. The hotel is far from most sight-seeing attractions. So make sure you rent a car if you plan on going off-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Iguana Club - 5 star food & quality! Service was a little slow but the food & people were OUTSTANDING! The Puerto Rican meals are authentic & my highest compliments to the chef!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Va super mom
Business
Virginia
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, average resort

We had booked the rainforest view room and it was comfortable and clean. For a four star hotel, I would have expected fridge but it was extra. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels replaced. The staff were friendly. The tv in the room was small with poor reception. The restaurants in the hotel were very pricey and the food was average except for Palio which was the most expensive. The resort itself is out of the way and you definitely need a car which we rented from kthe airport. Drivers is Puerto Rico are reckless and I would recommend buying car insurance while booking for peace of mind. The cars also have dings so make sure to note them before taking the car. Also get the toll pass .The location of the hotel is good for visiting nearby attractions like rainforest and loquillo beach. We also took the ferry to culebra and had a nice time at the beach there which is absolutely beautiful. We visited the fort in San Juan and also the casa Bacardi which were interesting trips. The outlet mall in pr 66 has a nice food court with variety of choices so do go there. We also went to Richies which was pricey but the food and the views were great. We did ziplining which was fun. The resort itself has no activity. The pool is average and closes way too early. The beach is adjacent but one can't swim in it. Wish breakfast would have been included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest was beautiful and we enjoyed the hike and the swim in the waterfall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
familyoffourinDC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 19, 2014

Just OK

This hotel is OK. They advertise 10 restaurants; there are more like 3 open per night. Food in the restaurants is good, not great, and overpriced but I think that is typical for a big resort like this. Shuttle to/from airport is $35/person! For a family of 4, a cab is cheaper. Very little entertainment on site aside from the pol and beach. Not a bad place, but you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucky7aj
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2014

Great semi hidden gem

This hotel was basically perfect in most ways. The food is way above average(but then again so is the price of the food). We had dinner at shimas(asian cuisine) one night, and at palios(italian) the next night. We had breakfast once at Marbellas (it was great) and at the little cafe the rest of the days. The drinks at the tiki bar as well as the bar lounge were delicious and not so pricey that I lost my mind. The beach was clean and secluded but the waves were a bit rougher than I'm used to while on vacation. We were also given a free breakfast one day as well as $25 meal vouchers for dinner. You have to pay to self park and that I'm a bit unaccustomed to($15 plus tax a day). I did not gamble but I did happen to take a walk through the casino. Underwhelming but nice. If you have ever been to Vegas or even AC then you'll agree with me on that. About the onlu complaint that I could log is that their credit card machines sometimes wouldn't work at the tiki bar so I couldn't use my debit card to make drink and or food purchases(they also don't accept cash out there). They will however make the charges to your room. Overall it was the best hotel I've had the pleasure of being a guest of while in Puerto Rico. I would highly recommend !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a decent steak for a good price head on over to desperados.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgian Traveler
Business
Rome, Ga.
Aug 10, 2014

hotel was under renovation

The hotel was being renovated. The front desk was very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy Fun Mom
Business
Wantagh, NY
Aug 9, 2014

Fun family vacation

The Wyndham was a nice hotel and fairly priced, however, there wasn't enough to do as far as activities at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car or take a taxi to local excursions. There is zip-lining, rain forest, go-karting, etc locally that you can do on your own without booking through the hotel. You will save more than half the price by doing it on your own!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bishop600
Business
new york
Aug 4, 2014

family vaca

good hotel, our third time there. Hotel food is a bit pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

eat food outside the hotel and save some $$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top