$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
625 reviews
Awesome Time at this Beautiful Place

All I can say is you must go to realize the beauty of this place. Endless beach, beautiful days and... See full review

  • PATRICK P.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Awesome trip for everyone!!

This was a very good trip! Relaxing and fun! The ocean is beautiful. The hotel was in the perfect... See full review

  • Jackie
  • Feb 4, 2015
Award-winning Puerto Rican resort with breathtaking views

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa, nestled in a lush hideaway between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque Caribbean National Forest, both pampers and impresses guests with a wide array of amenities. Guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views, rivaled only by the tropical decor of its 400 rooms and suites. The AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, situated on a palm-lined beach backed by mountains, features championship golf, numerous dining options, three pools, conference center, and dive center.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort
  • Championship golf courses
  • 11 restaurants and lounges
  • Watersports and dive center
  • Oceanfront Conference Center
  • Three pools and mile-long stretch of beach

Rooms

Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, forest, and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, and plush fabrics provide each guest with comfort. Each of the 400 spacious rooms and suites comes with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, in-room safe, iron, mini-bar, coffeemaker, baths with marble highlights, hairdryer, and 37-inch color television with in-room movies.

Features

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa offers a large variety of activities. Guests hit the beach or dive, snorkel, sail, or kayak. Freshwater fanatics enjoy the three pools.

The hotel also features two award-winning championship golf courses -- Greg Norman's River Course and Tom and George Fazio's Ocean Course -- 13 har-tru tennis courts, the Mandara Spa and fitness center, and a Kids Club.

Diners at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar savour Italian, Latin-Asian, Mexican, American and classic Puerto Rican cuisines at on-site restaurants, Palio, Shimas, Seabreeze, Marbella and Iguana's Pub. Barista Cafe, Boleros Lounge, Players Lounge and Tiki Hut Bar & Grill also offers tasty meals and drinks. At night, the hotel's 7000-square-foot casino lights up to give guests a chance to win back the cost of the trip.

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (23.6 mi/38 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2km)

Business

  • Oceanfront Conference Center measuring 48,000 square feet
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,800
  • Professionally planned group golf and tennis events
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees

The property charges 16% resort fee (taxable and per stay).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Pool View King
Spacious rooms with pool and resort views offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 1 King bed, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Pool View Double
Spacious rooms with pool and resort views offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 2 Queen beds, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Ocean View King
Spacious rooms with panoramic views of the ocean and the resort offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 1 King bed, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Ocean View Double
Spacious rooms with panoramic views of the ocean and the resort offer vibrant sophisticated decor, 2 Queen beds, over-sized bathroom and private balcony with modern comforts; including complimentary WiFi. 475 sq. ft.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy houstonian
Business
Houston Texas
Aug 13, 2010

Worst vacation EVER!!

There was nothing to do after 6pm. You couldn't even borrow a basketball after 3:30. The only restaurants open after 6 was a sushi place and an Italian place which required a reservation and more formal attire...Not very kid friendly. Oh and a pizza place so guess what? We ate pizza every night. Our oceanview room only captured a small corner of the ocean (if you are an adult over 5 feet and standing up). After all this we received a complimentary "upgrade" to an oceanfront room which had patched up holes all over the wall, poor drainage, and tub with most of the paint chipped off the bottom ( how I wish I could show the pictures). they were doing construction right above us. The ONLY reason we did not ask them to downgrade us back to the other room is that we didn't want to keep switching our room at 9 pm with a one year old. It had already taken them over 26 hours to do the first switch. One day it took us an hour to get ice because there was none in the hotel except for at an unmanned bar. We needed the ice to keep milk cold for the baby bc the refrigerators were, as everything else, at an additional cost. The charge our debit card $200 when we got there and didn't even tell us. When we checked account and asked them about it they Said the charge was bc we booked through a third party. The dragonfly shuttle service (located inside the resort) for transportation to and from the airport told us the rate for a one way trip even though the knew we were asking for roundtrip. Imagine our surprise to see $150 on our bill when we were told 37.50 per person! I NEVER write reviews but this definitely needed to be said. Sadly enough we never even want to go back to puerto Rico at all after this. Oh by the way the AC went out on an entire floor the day we were leaving. The resort wasn't half full so I don't understand why they were having such a tough time pleasing their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Traveling Ronin
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 17, 2011

Rio Mar - DO NOT STAY!

The view at the Rio Mar hotel in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico was exceptional and the location was great being right on the beach. However: The staff and management was not friendly and had NO idea what they were doing. The logistics of the hotel overall was sub par. The prices of food and drinks were triple the normal cost. The food was sub par so make sure you leave the hotel and go out and enjoy better local cuisine. The ice machine on our floor was broke so I had to go to another floor every time we needed more ice. The events we tried to plan through the hotel concierge desk were always full so we had to take a cab to other spots on the island to do the events we wanted to. And finally the kicker...there was a cockroach in our room the last day we were there thus giving them the worst cleanliness vote from us. I would expect a heck of a lot more from a Wyndham hotel and will tell everyone I know to not stay there until I hear of some dramatic improvement. Loved Puerto Rico and will go back again but definitely plan to stay at a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the "Kiosk" and eat at La Parilla or Congos...exceptional local food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bashtage
Business
London, UK
Dec 31, 2011

Very Disappointing

Hotel is a classic resort - expensive food and a compound-like atmosphere. Staff were terrible, slow and mistake prone. On one day, they didn't even have any towels available for the pool -- the very cold pool, so cold that most of the time no one was swimming, even during the day. Ultimately this hotel should be missed - bad value and unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 14, 2012

not so great

very few food choices and the food is very pricey. the hotel itself is a bit outdated. I didn't find the staff very warm and friendly at all. I actually felt like I was bothering them when I asked for something. a lot of people took cab svc to a grocery store to save $ at the hotel. I would not go back there again. make sure you get towles for the pool/beach early in the morning and claim a spot for chairs because they go quickly. I was not happy with this hotel. I stayed at Hilton Caribe Inn, much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

bring your own snacks/food/beverages if you can or go to Whalgreens or grocery store local. Long lines at the only small to-go place and expensive. buffets expensive. the best meal for the buffet is breakfast. the other meal buffets hard to satisfy little kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Apr 19, 2012

My wife cried when she walked in the room!

We decided to stay at the Rio Mar for our honeymoon, let's just say this place is far from romantic. Located on the beach yes, but isolated an hour from Sanjuan, which is the main attraction in PR. Eat off property, for the food at the resort is horribly overpriced. If you have to eat at the resort please take my advice and Do not eat at the sushi restaurant called Shimas! The best thing about the resort was there were a decent amount of iguanas on property, the worst thing was the surf and turf sushi roll! happy vacationing;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

kiosks had several places to eat and drink not far from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sexymother
Business
cleveland ohio
Jul 1, 2012

family vacation

hotel was beautiful but we were surprised at the $15 a day parking fee.also they put a $750 hold on our credit card just in case we damage the room.prices for food was out of line.nothing to do there except for the beach and casino.entertainment only on saturdays.front desk never picks up phone.would never recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nrc1
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 31, 2012

Rio Mar

two people ahead of me and myself where each issued two dirty/occupied rooms before they finally found one available for us. Everyone there seemed to have a chip on their shoulder EXCEPT the wonderful staff at the coffee shop. Will return to Puerto Rico BUT DEF NOT to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

great kayaking, catamaran and ferry ride soooo close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NewlyWedsKHM
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 15, 2012

Expensive and Overrated!

My husband and I went to the Rio Mar for our Honeymoon. Everything is very expensive! They nickel and dime you on everything. Sodas are $3 for a can, food is expensive and subpar, service is so so. You need a car to do anything out of the resort. Renting a car from the airport and doing your own thing is the way to go. Shuttle from airport to hotel is $37 a person each way! We spent $150 just getting from the airport to the hotel and back. 3 of the 5 restaraunts were closed the entire time we were there and they were really the only food options without a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car from the airport, not the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DIALY
Business
FLORIDA
Jan 4, 2013

POOR EXPERIENCE

ROOM NEEDS TO BE CLEAN AND PAINTED THE WALLS AND CEILING NEAR AC.... ALSO AC FILTER SUPER DIRTY... LAMPS SHADE AND CHAIR CUSHION SHOULD BE REPLACE BATHTUB AND SINK FAUCET WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY THIS FACILITY NEEDS A TREMENDOUS UPLIFT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alvinkj
Business
Texas
Mar 5, 2013

Not as what is advertised online

I am a frequent traveller around the world. We booked out rooms through or-bit and we payed a premium for the ocean view room. My two kids my wife and myself reached there at the resort at about 2am in the morning and I do not know what the front office guy was thinking he gave us a room that was in some side and you can see the ocean from a corner angle in the seventh floor which we found out after going to the room at about 2.15 am. Then I had to come down to the front desk to ask them what the deal was, they treat you as second grade guests if you are booking with or-bit or any other online booking site. Then I had to talk with him for a while and he wanted me to pay another premium to upgrade to a room with a better view which seems like a scam to me. I refused to pay the premium and after much persuation they gave me a room in the 4th floor which they said had a better view and they did not even tell me which part of the building it was at, casue you have to take different elevators to get to different parts of the building and they are not interconnected in the respective floors. When I went to room in the 4th floor it was a room that overlooked the ocean as per the resort staff but we were only able to see the top of coconut trees. I think the money we paid for the room was worthless. I did not want to talk to these front desk again and waste my time and energy, probabaly I would have ended up in a room that even had a worser view. I wount recommend this resort to anybody especially if you are travelling with kids, they do not have any consideration at all and please do not pay any premium for a room with a better view because it is just a scam that these guys are doing. Also they charged me $15 per day for parking which was ridiculous. When I asked them about it they said that was their policy. I would recommed you to think twice before you do reservation with this resort. I have stayed in a lot of 4 star hotels and resorts before, this was the worst experience I have had with one until now especially with the front desk staff and customer service. Other than that it was a good stay for us, the swimming pool was good and the beach was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top