$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
612 reviews
Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful... See full review

  • Zoe Z
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was Perfect on my Trip. The Wyndham Grand is Outstanding. Also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Award-winning Puerto Rican resort with breathtaking views

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa, nestled in a lush hideaway between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque Caribbean National Forest, both pampers and impresses guests with a wide array of amenities. Guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views, rivaled only by the tropical decor of its 400 rooms and suites. The AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, situated on a palm-lined beach backed by mountains, features championship golf, numerous dining options, three pools, conference center, and dive center.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort
  • Championship golf courses
  • 11 restaurants and lounges
  • Watersports and dive center
  • Oceanfront Conference Center
  • Three pools and mile-long stretch of beach

Rooms

Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, forest, and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, and plush fabrics provide each guest with comfort. Each of the 400 spacious rooms and suites comes with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, in-room safe, iron, mini-bar, coffeemaker, baths with marble highlights, hairdryer, and 37-inch color television with in-room movies.

Features

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa offers a large variety of activities. Guests hit the beach or dive, snorkel, sail, or kayak. Freshwater fanatics enjoy the three pools.

The hotel also features two award-winning championship golf courses -- Greg Norman's River Course and Tom and George Fazio's Ocean Course -- 13 har-tru tennis courts, the Mandara Spa and fitness center, and a Kids Club.

Diners at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar savour Italian, Latin-Asian, Mexican, American and classic Puerto Rican cuisines at on-site restaurants, Palio, Shimas, Seabreeze, Marbella and Iguana's Pub. Barista Cafe, Boleros Lounge, Players Lounge and Tiki Hut Bar & Grill also offers tasty meals and drinks. At night, the hotel's 7000-square-foot casino lights up to give guests a chance to win back the cost of the trip.

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (23.6 mi/38 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2km)

Business

  • Oceanfront Conference Center measuring 48,000 square feet
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,800
  • Professionally planned group golf and tennis events
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees

The property charges 16% resort fee (taxable and per stay).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View
Partial Ocean view room with Wyndham True Blue bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Ocean Front
Room features stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (612)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 23, 2007

Enjoyable

Hospitality was great, enjoyable for couples or families. Local dining in the area is nice and friendly. Hotel has several pools and provides water entertaiment as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants: El Antojito for local dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 23, 2007

Great place to get some R & R

When we first arrived at the hotel, the scenery was absolutely beautiful. This continued to be true of the entire hotel as we continued to explore. It was very family friendly and also very relaxing. The view of the beach from the hotel is absolutely breathtaking. The service was friendly and prompt, everyone there was eager to please. I would definitely return and stay a full week!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There seemed to be friendly music and dancing in the hotel. But if you plan to go into the city rent a car and prepare the day before.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 25, 2007

NICE RESORT

Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa A Wyndham Grande Resort. THIS WAS NICEST PLACE I EVER STAYED. STAFF WAS FREINDLY AND HELPFUL. THE OCEAN VIEW WAS UNBELIVABLE. THE MANY RESTURANTS WERE GREAT. IT HELPS IF YOU SPEAK SPANISH, BUT THE STAFF DO THERE BEST TO TALK ENGLISH. THE LITTLE COFFEE SHOP HAS A GREAT MOCHA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

RAIN FOREST IS A SHORT DRIVE. THE ROAD LEADING TO THE RAIN FOREST IS STRAIGHT ACCROSS THE STREET FROM THE EXIT OF THE RESORT. DONT MISS THE BIG TREE TRAIL. IT HAS A LARGE WAREFALL THAT YOU CAN SWIM UNDER. THE TRAIL IS ABOUT 50 MIN. ONE WAY, BUT WELL WORTH IT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2007

What a great place!!

Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa A Wyndham Grande Resort was absolutely breathtaking from the minute you drive into the resort. Everyone was tremendously kind from the bell boys to the housekeeping staff. The room was spacious with large bathrooms. The beds had comfy plush pillows and plenty of sheets. My family can't say enough about the pool and private beach. Absolutely stunning. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at their restaurants, breakfast buffet is a bit expensive but the food was absolutely scrumptious. Dinner prices were average for US prices. I've been to Puerto Rico 9 times, and never knew this place existed, but we do now. We'll be back again most definitely on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 14, 2007

GORGEOUS:)

ALL WAS GOOD THE SERVICE, THE ROOMS WERE NICE WE HAD A REFRIGERATOR WHERE WE COULD KEEP COLD DRINKS WHICH HELPS FOR THE HOT WEATHER. ALL WAS GOOD EXCEPT AT CHECK IN THEY DIDNT GIVE US THE ROOM UNTILL 4:00PM WHICH IS WAY PAST CHECK IN TIME, WE HAD TO WAIT ALMOST FOUR HOURS TO GET COMFORTABLE AFTER ALMOST 12 HOURS OF FLYING. ITS A MUST TO RENT A CAR BECAUSE THE DINING OPTIONS ARE BAD THE VARIETY OF FOOD IS POOR AND ITS A BIT PRICEY. TRANSPORTATION IS VERY EXPENSIVE AND THE HOTEL IS A BIT ISOLATED SO THEY TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THAT AND TRANSPORTATION IS EVEN WORSE. THE BEACH WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THE SERVICE AT THE BEACH WAS GOOD. OVERALL IM CONTENT, I'D GO BACK BUT I WOULD BE MORE PREPARED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 24, 2008

Quality for the price

This hotel was very family,and single friendly. It was located within a private community. There were private villas close by. Many well behaved teenagers. Pool and Beach front. Golf and tennis courts very close by. All of the staff from the bell hop to the hotel manager all very accomodating. Remembered out names and were extremely nice. I will definately visit this resort again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loquillo beach is within walking distance. El Yunque is also very close. If you do visit this resort, my best advise is to rent a car because to visit the attractions the transportation cost is very high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 23, 2007

A piece of Paradise

The Wyndam Rio Mar was a very wonderful experience. We were greeted very warmly. Our room had a faboulous view of the ocean. The interior of our room was warm and inviting. The lobby and grounds were beautiful, as well as the two restaurants we visited. There were many eating options and sports facilities. The beach and gardens were pristine, and there were 2 pools, 1 for families and one called the quiet pool which was a nice touch. The spa and restaurants were great (although a bit pricey), but the food was excellent. This resort is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of San Juan City to be relaxing, but convenient enough if you want to take in a night out in the city. It is in close proximity to the rainforest and there are tours. We absolutely loved it and are planning a return (longer) trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About 15 minutes drive are a series of local restaurants known as the Kiosks. We were directed to one name La Parilla (ask at the concierge). Fantastic food. and island feel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Severa
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 21, 2007

My review of Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa A Wyndham Grande Resort

The hotel was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TERRYTAPATIO
Business
FAIRFIELD CALIFORNIA
May 11, 2010

VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY !

EVERYTHING IS PERFECT,BUT....THEY DON'T SAY THAT YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR PARKING,'TILL YOU GET THERE, $15.00/NIGHT, OR $20.00/NIGHT, VALET PARKING. WE STAY 5 NIGHTS,SO....$100.00 + TAX, JUST FOR PARKING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

WE LOVE THE POOL! SPA! AND WALKING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amber and Jana
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 14, 2010

Unbeatable views, fantastic price

We had a wonderful experience at the Rio Mar - the staff was very friendly and helpful; the room was wonderful and we had a spectacular view. We ate at 3 of the restuarants and the food was very good. The Adults Only pool was very relaxing; the beach was amazing and not very croweded. While we were there, we had the chance to explore the area, including the rain forest. The staff was very helpful in providing directions or suggestions for places to eat. We also did a Bioluminesent kayaking tour and a catamaran snorkeling tour; I would highly recommend doing both. Puerto Rico is a beautiful island and I would go back in a heartbeat - and I would definitely stay at the Rio Mar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

East Wind Excertions - we did our catamaran snorkeling tour through them and it was amazing. It's a 5 hour tour that includes lunch and drinks for around $75. We had never snorkeled before and they did a great job teaching us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top