$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
635 out of 635
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Some untaken name
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 20, 2014

Nice location and amenities

Great beach and pools. Several good restaurants on the property - Italian, Asian, American, Tiki bar for lunch and drinks. Ocean view room was very nice. Close to El Yunque rain forest and boat trips for snorkeling. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Two downsides. 1) Wifi is very difficult to connect to and very slow. 2) Rooms were a bit dated, particularly the bathroom. Shower and tub both had mold on the tile. Needs cleaning!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chrisfam4
Business
New Jeresey
Jun 19, 2014

Loved it....Back again!

This was our second vacation at the Rio Mar with our kids ages 8 and 3, and we plan to return again because the hotel has so many activities geared to kids. We loved our vacation! Activities: There is a very large pool with a water slide, water aerobics and volleyball/volleyball net. In addition, the hotel has conveniently set up things to optimize time outside that caters to all people. There is daily bingo, movie night poolside, iguana feeding, fire-pit with S'mores. My kids were never bored which meant that my husband and I enjoyed our time! Food: There were 2 places to eat by the pool (with the option to have lunch/dinner delivered to your lounge chair!# as well as multiple restaurants in the hotel. While some of the hotel restaurants are costly, there are weekly dining specials which we took advantage of. Also, you can take a rental car or taxi to local restaurants. We loved Don Pepe's minutes away #had live music, varied food options# and at Kiosk #2 "La Parrilla" in Luquillo where you could select your own lobster and kids had options that appealed to them! Beach: The beach was amazing! There was a wide beach area #no rocks# and a place to rent jet skis, etc. and you could walk along the beach with kids. Room: A great thing about the hotel is you can request a mini fridge. We went to a local grocery store and got breakfast items and snacks/drinks. My only suggestion is that the fridge should be a complimentary amenity so guests don't have to pay for something expected in a resort. We had an ocean view room on 6th floor which #newly renovated# and the beds were new and extremely comfortable. Décor: tastefully decorated and had good space for the 4 of us. Courteous Staff: Because my 3 year old has allergies, and knowing the hotel was under renovation, I called in advance of our stay and left a message for the general manager expressing concern about dust. I received a call back within 10 minutes from the Director of Housekeeping #Erling Acosta# who was attentive, courteous and empathetic to my son's condition. He promptly handled our needs and booked us in a room where there was no pending construction. This example of a positive exchange with hotel staff further reinforced why we returned to the property! Trips: We made a trip to the rain forest which was an easy drive #maybe 15 min# and spent a few hours enjoying the waterfalls, tropical vegetation and birds, which was a great experience for all. One of the days that was cloudy we went to Old San Juan and spent the day walking around the historic fort #Castillo de San Cristóbal#. Both kids loved the tunnels and reading about the history. This was a great vacation in April after we suffered a long snowy winter in NJ. We were thoroughly relaxed and plan to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

When dining in hotel, look for weekly specials. Get a mini fridge for beverages, snacks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Some untaken name
Business
Asheville, NC
Jun 17, 2014

Very nice pools, beach, restaurants

The location is great. The pools and beach are very nice. The staff is extremely friendly and generally helpful. The hotel has a good selection of restaurants and bars as well as a small casino. There were a few things needing improvement. 1) WIFI access was very poor. Sometimes took 30 minutes to get connected. Downloads were slow. 2) The bathrooms were dated, uncomfortable shower head design, mold on the tiles of both the shower and the tub. A bit of Tilex would really help!! 3) On checkout we discovered after leaving the hotel that the valet service had badly damaged the front bumper of the car. They pulled the car up further when we checked out so we could not see the damage. My son called the hotel from San Juan when we discovered the damage but the hotel would not help in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adventurelover554
Business
California
Jun 15, 2014

Great stay

This hotel is going through renovations, but it didn't get in the way of our stay. We paid extra for the ocean view, and it was worth it. Our room was renovated and clean. The location was great for us, but if you're looking for a hotel with great night life, this hotel isn't for you. It's located about 40 minutes away from San Juan and about 5 minutes from the rain forest. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the beach was also great. The pool closes 9pm, but the beach is open all day. The only negative thing I have to say about this hotel was, if you're on the beach and using the hotel umbrellas and chairs, the staff will begin to put the chairs away and even ask you to get off them so they can put them back. Overall it was a great stay and I definitely would use this hotel if I ever returned to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
How cares
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 14, 2014

Awesome couples getaway

The hotel was great and the staff was great. Even during the remodeling the hotel made sure that all guests were taken care. The location of the hotel is second to none. The location to the beach was above board. Will definitely stay at a Wyndham hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi125
Business
Maryland
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful resort, very friendly service

The resort is HUGE and so beautiful. The beach was amazing as well. The only thing that wasn't so great was where the resort was located; there isn't much around there, and San Juan, Las Plazas outlet and the rainforest are pretty far away, so if you are going to Puerto Rico and not planning to explore, then I would recommend going to Wyndham. Nonetheless, all the workers were incredibly nice, the rooms are nice and clean, and the service was impeccable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xozxo
Business
Waterburty ct
Jun 10, 2014

Amazing

This hotel just made my mimi vaca it was amazing and nothing could've been better ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CT Adventurous couple
Business
Michigan
Jun 9, 2014

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous grounds. Concierge wasn't too informed on places to eat besides on the property. Little disappointing unless you like to stay at the resort all the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Calebra!!! Absolutely stunning and so much fun. The ferry is a real pain in the butt but totally worth it. You have to get in line early to get tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shmatie
Business
Nj
May 31, 2014

Great hotel remote and quiet

We were looking for a quiet calm getaway and that what we got. We were off season and middle of week so it was extra quiet and I needed that. There is a lot to do in PR and we definitely plan to come back. We did not rent a car stayed on the resort kayaked the river by ourselves only a walk down the beach and did the rainforest tour. One thing is the hotel is undergo traction which never bothered us however they will try and put you in an old room. Don't settle. Get yourself put in a newly renovated room they are completely different and gorgeous! I suggest ocean front well worth it. Staff is so nice and accommodating. When we signed up for the rainforest tour they offered for us to get a timeshare presentation to get the tour for free. We figured it would be two hours and a great $$ savings. Don't do it unless u actually are interested it is much longer and a huge waste of vacation time. I wish now I just paid for the rainforest. Other than that our stay is perfect. We went to iguanas pub the last night and wished we had gone there every day! The food is amazing! Authentic PR food worth every penny. Next time we will stay in old dan Juan one night to enjoy that then go back to this hotel for some quiet we definitely had a fantastic time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to iguanas pub more than once great staff amazing food!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilov2trvl
Business
tarheel
May 30, 2014

17th Anniversary

The hotel location was wonderful. It allowed us easy access to local attractions. The beach view room lulled us to sleep nightly. The amenities were too expensive to enjoy. Our room was old and house keeping services were very poor for a Wyndham location. I'm not sure if we would use this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat outside the resort. The local kioscos are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top