$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
609 reviews
Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful... See full review

  • Zoe Z
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was Perfect on my Trip. The Wyndham Grand is Outstanding. Also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
On a mile of golden beach, in the shelter of lush mountains, the 400-room Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa welcomes guests to tropical beachfront bliss. Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque National Forest you'll find a place where all your cares disappear; 500 acres of everything you desire for an unforgettable escape. Discover Caribbean sophistication at our four diamond, full service resort featuring an array of recreational activities and superb dining sure to satisfy every epicurean palate. And with no passports required for U.S. Citizens, its never been easier to get to our island paradise. Classic, tropical elegance and luxury make each of our 400 guest rooms and suites a welcome haven. Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, rainforest and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile and plush fabrics surround each guest with exquisite comfort. Guestroom amenities include direct-dial telephone, voicemail, high speed internet, in-room safe, iron & board, refreshment center, coffee maker, baths with marble highlights, grooming essentials, hairdryer and flat screen TV with in-room movies, account review & video check-out From Italian, Asian, Tex-Mex to authentic Puerto Rican, delight your appetite at your choice of 11 restaurants and lounges offering a variety of cuisines and serving styles. Whatever mood your taste buds are in, you will be sure to find exactly what you are looking for served up with sophisticated style and satisfaction. Discover playtime with recreational activities to keep you entertained throughout your visit. Test your skill at two award winning championship golf courses, including Greg Norman's River Course and Tom & George Fazio's Ocean Course or play a match on one of the 13 har-tru tennis courts. Decide to lounge by one of three oceanside pools or if you seek thrills visit the on-site dive center and watersports center and hit the ocean waters. Rejuvenate at The Mandara Spa with complete fitness center while the children are having a blast at the Kids Club. By night, the hotel's 7000 square-foot casino lights up the place for your chance to win. Guest services include concierge, valet, laundry and dry cleaning, business center, 24-hour room service, on-site car rental, resort shuttle and onsite Destination Management Service offering island tours as well as airport transfers at an additional fee. GUESTROOM AMENITIES: Premium bedding Hypo-allergenic bedding available Balcony Blackout drapes/curtains Direct-dial telephone with voicemail Wake-up calls Bathroom telephone 37-inch color TV with in-room movies, account review & video check-out High speed internet Climate control air conditioning Refreshment center with coffee/tea maker Housekeeping services Shower/tub combination Complimentary toiletries Hair dryer Makeup mirror Bathrobes In room child care (additional fee) Iron & board In-room safe (accommodates laptop) Clock radio Desk Rollaway beds & cribs available RESORT AMENITIES (additional fee may apply): 11 restaurants & lounges On-site watersports center (additional fee) On-site dive center (additional fee) 3 pools and 1 mile beach Kids Club (additional fee) Concierge services Destination services (additional fee) 13 tennis courts 2 championship golf courses Mandara Spa Casino with over 150 slot machines

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View
Partial Ocean view room with Wyndham True Blue bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Ocean Front
Room features stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (609)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
609 out of 609
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xozxo
Business
Waterburty ct
Jun 10, 2014

Amazing

This hotel just made my mimi vaca it was amazing and nothing could've been better ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CT Adventurous couple
Business
Michigan
Jun 9, 2014

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous grounds. Concierge wasn't too informed on places to eat besides on the property. Little disappointing unless you like to stay at the resort all the time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Calebra!!! Absolutely stunning and so much fun. The ferry is a real pain in the butt but totally worth it. You have to get in line early to get tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shmatie
Business
Nj
May 31, 2014

Great hotel remote and quiet

We were looking for a quiet calm getaway and that what we got. We were off season and middle of week so it was extra quiet and I needed that. There is a lot to do in PR and we definitely plan to come back. We did not rent a car stayed on the resort kayaked the river by ourselves only a walk down the beach and did the rainforest tour. One thing is the hotel is undergo traction which never bothered us however they will try and put you in an old room. Don't settle. Get yourself put in a newly renovated room they are completely different and gorgeous! I suggest ocean front well worth it. Staff is so nice and accommodating. When we signed up for the rainforest tour they offered for us to get a timeshare presentation to get the tour for free. We figured it would be two hours and a great $$ savings. Don't do it unless u actually are interested it is much longer and a huge waste of vacation time. I wish now I just paid for the rainforest. Other than that our stay is perfect. We went to iguanas pub the last night and wished we had gone there every day! The food is amazing! Authentic PR food worth every penny. Next time we will stay in old dan Juan one night to enjoy that then go back to this hotel for some quiet we definitely had a fantastic time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to iguanas pub more than once great staff amazing food!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilov2trvl
Business
tarheel
May 30, 2014

17th Anniversary

The hotel location was wonderful. It allowed us easy access to local attractions. The beach view room lulled us to sleep nightly. The amenities were too expensive to enjoy. Our room was old and house keeping services were very poor for a Wyndham location. I'm not sure if we would use this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat outside the resort. The local kioscos are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr.Lopez
Business
Hope, NJ
May 30, 2014

The perfect honeymoon

Perfect is an understatement. This was more like art of customer service. Breathtaking views, amazing beach, tasty and delicious drinks. What s perfect stay we had at this resort. We couldn't ask for more. We loved every second we had inside the resort. In one word.. Memorable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Private sail charters only a small drive away. To the most breathtaking beaches in the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jwayne55
Business
Houston, Texas
May 27, 2014

Beautiful Stay!

I read a lot of reviews before we left on out trip and all I can say is, some people must be very hard to please! The place is beautiful inside and out. There was some construction going on but nothing that would interfere with your day, or night. The restaurants are a bit pricey but the food was very good. The only thing I can say negatively was the price of liquor but there are ways around that. The staff were very friendly. Great place, great time and a wonderful anniversary for my wife and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain Forest, San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buey03
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 18, 2014

Beautiful Beach

We were expecting more of a crowded beach but were really excited to discover a fantastic beach experience with relatively few other guests there. Plus the resort is just across from Yunque and not far from Loreto's bioluminescent bay. Pool is very nice, too. We didn't eat at restaurants but did have the continental breakfast -- nothing special (given the high cost). Staff were helpful. Room nice, though we did need to request a change of sheets upon arriving to find several loose hairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lolita's Mexican Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babygirl59
Business
Teaneck nj
May 13, 2014

Can't wait to go back

Great location very nice staff. Family oriented and kid friendly but enough for the adults to enjoy a well. The casino is great and so were all the restaurants. The beach was great and so were the pools. Can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque rain forest was amazing. A must do. Just be prepared to get rained on a little bit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Milliep
Business
Hialeah
May 9, 2014

Nice hotel

We had a great time! Nice room with great ocean view ... Good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cbartels25
Business
brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

Good for Family trips

I stayed at this resort from 5/1/14-5/5/14 its a beautiful hotel only there's nothing to do at night. I went with my husband and we were forced to stay at the resort because a cab from the resort is $70 each way. we went out one night to San Juan, where I would like to plan my next trip. The pools and beach is beautiful but closes at 9pm. There's a Lunge downstairs but its a bunch of chairs and a piano. The restaurants are highly expensive and you need to dress up ans have a reservation to go all but one of them. The casino is not anything fancy and is very small. Honestly we liked it alot for the layout of it and the beauty but being that we are a young couple we also wanted a night life place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Catch a cab and pay $140 to go back and forth to enjoy the night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top