$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
586 out of 586
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR Vacationista
Family
NYC
Nov 10, 2014

Family Getaway

Everyone that worked at the Hotel was absolutely great. Very nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is very nice and the grounds are beautifully kept. The dinning could have been better. If you are looking for typical Spanish/Puerto Rican cuisine you have to leave the hotel. They have a few restaurants there but none have good old rice & beans. It rained while we were there and there wasn't much to do especially when you are traveling with a baby. The hotel should try and have more activities. Finally, my room was real nice, great view... but the floor was disgusting. I took my shoes off and walk around the room and my feet got disgusting dirty. Ceramic floors in the rooms need mopping every day with soap & water. Overall, it was a nice place for the price... and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Don Pepe for good typical Rican food.

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WilCuz
Friends
Minneapolis
Oct 22, 2014

Nice, family friendly resort

A friend of mine and I were staying at the Wyndham for vacation in October 2014 while in Puerto Rico and really enjoyed it. The location is great - right on the beach, literally just walk out the back to a beautiful and very clean beach. Water is clear and there is just enough wave action to make it fun. If the ocean isn't your thing there are also several pools - one, an adult pool, is quiet and subdued. Not far away is the activities pool - with music and volleyball ... that's where all the action seemed to be. Outside the back of the resort is the Yunque, rainforest and mountains. Gorgeous, and a great way to take in the views and sounds of Puerto Rico. There are 4 main restaurants at the resort but all seemed to be rather on the high priced side, to be expected. There was also a pool-side bar which offered specials every day. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Everyday there were crews out tending the flowers or the lawns and making sure the place looked impeccable. The housekeeping staff also did a great job and the room was always clean and stocked with whatever you'd need. Overall, the vibe here was very much family friendly and lots of newlyweds (two weddings in the week we stayed). Not much for nightlife but you can get that in San Juan, if you like. The resort is about 45 mins drive from San Juan, and taking a taxi would be very cost-prohibitive, so know that when you go. Also, Valet parking at the resort ran $20/day or $15/day to self-park ... just understand that going in. You will almost certainly want a car unless you're planning on staying at the resort the entire time - but then you're not really getting to see Puerto Rico, are you ? The concierge desk is a great help for what to do and see - try the snorkeling trip to Culebra, the Rainforest hike, or the bio bay trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For better prices (and more local) food options try the kiosks in Luquillo. There are over 50 different bars/restaurants offering all kinds of options.

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ankit Mittal
Couples
New York
Oct 19, 2014

Pretty good, but a little secluded

The hotel was quite alright. Pool was nice!! The family pool was a lot of fun. The room itself was good, it had a nice patio! Amenities were alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right in the national forest so you hear amazing voices inside the hotel!

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
had to get out of cold
Friends
Houston, Tx
Oct 13, 2014

a short vacation

We picked this hotel because it was close to El Yunque and I read that it has a nice beach on the property, and it did not disappoint! The ground was neatly manicured and kept clean, and the beach was very sandy (not rocky on the bottom). The only drawback was that only one restaurant was open at night, but that was probably because we were there at the low season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Unless you want to stay at the property all day, you will need to rent a car. It was about a 30 minute drive from the San Juan airport if you use the toll road.

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessicana
Couples
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 11, 2014

Beautiful couple getaway

We had an amazing experience at the hotel as well as with the staff. Such polite and very well mannered group of people. The room was amazing especially the beach front view. Love the location of the resort. I recommend this being the first choice anyone picks when traveling to Puerto Rico. I miss it already

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheaper alcohol, cheaper dining outside the resort. To name a few: Ricky's, Don Antonio.

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex and Carrie
Couples
Orange County, CA
Sep 23, 2014

Great getaway by rainforest

We had a great time, the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. You should have a car if you're staying here. This is a great place to stay in if you want to go to the rainforest and be between San Juan and the east coast of Puerto Rico. Food at the hotel is nothing special. We ended up going to La Familia bakery a couple miles west, great breakfast sandwiches, big enough to share and great prices. Also suggest going to Farjado on the east coast. Definitely would suggest to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Familia bakery

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minnesota Matty
Couples
mn
Sep 14, 2014

Minnesota Matty

If your looking for a killer beach, this is the place! Huge, clean and private. Get a rental car at the airport, hotel is not close to anything but the rain forest and taxi cabs are VERY expensive and VERY sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angie y jorge
Couples
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Sep 14, 2014

family vacation

My experience in the hotel is was amazing. We like because we can be relax and enjoy the pool, the beach and the hotel. The only think the food, the drink and the parking is to expense. And the need more in entertainment for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renovator
Couples
Indianapolis, in
Sep 13, 2014

Renovating

Renovated was the excuse we heard about lack of quality service. Beautiful location and view. I would go back after renovations are complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest is a great and no tour guide needed.

Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen Lynn
Friends
New York, NY, USA
Sep 13, 2014

Perfect Vacation!

The hotel is getting completely remodeled so everything is brand new. The room was beautiful with a great balcony. Hotel concierge was amazing, they were so helpful in making our trip truly memorable. The pools are great and the Iguana's Pub restaurant was absolutely amazing. Be sure to get a mofongo dish. The beach is close and convenient but not the most crystal clear water. For the caribbean I was definitely disappointed. It was so affordable as a vacation package and I would highly recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get dinner at Iguana's Pub and order the skirt steak mofongo dish!

Back to menu Return to top