$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
682 out of 682
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat F.
Business
Wyoming
Jan 5, 2015

Family holiday trip

We stayed here for the beach, tennis facilities and proximity to the El Yunque rain forest. We rented a car to visit the rain forest and Old San Juan. The beach is very nice, the grounds are lovely. The restaurants at the resort are good but we did spend a lot of money on food--it might be cheaper to eat locally but the convenience was worth the extra money for us. Service was a bit slow at the bars and coffee kiosk, these areas seemed understaffed for the holiday week, especially when a large tour group arrived on December 30. The concierge service and room service were excellent. It was fun to watch the staff feeding the iguanas in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
June
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Relaxing trip

Great location, beautiful rain forest view, however the service was too slow and we did not understand why we have to make reservations for dinner when half the tables were empty. Also although the location was great it was far away from everything. You just can not walk to another place for a cup of coffee or food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmoah
Business
Jensen Beach
Jan 5, 2015

beautiful place- with view of el yunque

our room faced "el Yunque", but we were on the 5th floor, which was still overlooking the main lobby entrance by only a few floors. That was probably the only negative I can mention. I have been to PR at least a dozen times, and this place was one of the nicer hotels by a long shot. A little bit more money than I usually like to spend, but my Puerto Rican esposa was happy! I would definitely splurge and stay there again if we found ourselves on that side of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin K.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Beautiful location, great staff!

It was a beautiful location and the staff was Wonderful. The spa was also very nice. I was a little surprised at the rooms though. They were a little outdated and had some general maintenance issues. Overall it was a great trip though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great food but not much nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

December Vacation

This was my second stay at the Rio Mar and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays and the staff is excellent and extremely helpful. It's housed in a gated community with a beautiful golf course and is very close to El Yunque and about 35-40 min from San Juan. All of the staff I met spoke English well and provided many great suggestions on things to do. The pools are kept clean and there are some fun/silly pool activities that kids can enjoy, as well as watch the staff feed the native iguanas. There's direct access to the beach and if you walk down to the right side there is a quiet river which is very peaceful in the mornings. I went to the Casino once and they have slots and card games, etc., good atmosphere, but not something I really enjoy. The restaurants serve ok food and but are a little pricey. I prefer to get the full experience and like to drive east to the Kioskos (large strip of restaurants on the beach), further into Luqillo and visit friends at Metropol (Puerto Rican/Cuban Food), or grab some pinchos (shiskabobs sp?) from a local vendor. There's also a grocery store (Amico) three lights to the west as well. Overall, great trip and wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dennis k.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

great stay

Great location for what we wanted. Very helpful and friendly staff, low cost casino and great pizza.Thanks staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Use valet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellers 2
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2014

Anniversary celebrations.

The hotel was conveniently located from Fajardo and San Jaun. We wanted to stay close to north east of PR, as most of the activities are located in this area but not too far away from airport or San Jaun. The hotel views the ocean on one side and rainforest on the other. We booked the ocean view room but were given the room on the first floor where you can only view the hotel pool. Initially the lady at the reception denied to change the room mentioning no other room was available, which was not true. After a brief talk she was able to accommodated us on the sixth floor. The hotel charges an additional $15 per day for car parking. All said we really enjoyed our stay at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amraja8
Business
austin, tx
Dec 1, 2014

great resort

Resort was great. I was worried about the construction and rooms based on prior reviews, but it turned out to be real pleasant. Really neat and right on the beach. Amenities were nice with unlimited towels to clean up after getting into the pool. I wish the instructions were a little clear at the front desk on the vouchers we had, but it was ok. Overall a nice place to enjoy and relax. The location could have been nearer to some more outside restaurants. Food was great , Lill on the expensive side:). I would recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
b454
Business
Athens
Nov 29, 2014

perfect

perfect... delicious food... good staff... brilliant sea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoe Z
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 24, 2014

Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful and nice. Just make sure to rent a car if you want to see the beauty of PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top