$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande, 00745-6100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
612 reviews
Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful... See full review

  • Zoe Z
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was Perfect on my Trip. The Wyndham Grand is Outstanding. Also... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Award-winning Puerto Rican resort with breathtaking views

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa, nestled in a lush hideaway between the Atlantic Ocean and El Yunque Caribbean National Forest, both pampers and impresses guests with a wide array of amenities. Guests enjoy breathtaking ocean views, rivaled only by the tropical decor of its 400 rooms and suites. The AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, situated on a palm-lined beach backed by mountains, features championship golf, numerous dining options, three pools, conference center, and dive center.

Highlights

  • AAA Four Diamond award-winning resort
  • Championship golf courses
  • 11 restaurants and lounges
  • Watersports and dive center
  • Oceanfront Conference Center
  • Three pools and mile-long stretch of beach

Rooms

Private balconies frame peaceful views of the ocean, forest, and mountains. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, and plush fabrics provide each guest with comfort. Each of the 400 spacious rooms and suites comes with high-speed Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, in-room safe, iron, mini-bar, coffeemaker, baths with marble highlights, hairdryer, and 37-inch color television with in-room movies.

Features

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa offers a large variety of activities. Guests hit the beach or dive, snorkel, sail, or kayak. Freshwater fanatics enjoy the three pools.

The hotel also features two award-winning championship golf courses -- Greg Norman's River Course and Tom and George Fazio's Ocean Course -- 13 har-tru tennis courts, the Mandara Spa and fitness center, and a Kids Club.

Diners at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar savour Italian, Latin-Asian, Mexican, American and classic Puerto Rican cuisines at on-site restaurants, Palio, Shimas, Seabreeze, Marbella and Iguana's Pub. Barista Cafe, Boleros Lounge, Players Lounge and Tiki Hut Bar & Grill also offers tasty meals and drinks. At night, the hotel's 7000-square-foot casino lights up to give guests a chance to win back the cost of the trip.

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (23.6 mi/38 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (29.5 mi/47.5 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2km)

Business

  • Oceanfront Conference Center measuring 48,000 square feet
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,800
  • Professionally planned group golf and tennis events
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and Fees

The property charges 16% resort fee (taxable and per stay).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View
Partial Ocean view room with Wyndham True Blue bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Mountain View
Room features panoramic view of El Yunque Rainforest, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Ocean Front
Room features stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, Wyndham True Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet available in room for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children.
Resort View -non-refundable
Traditional resort view room with Wyndham BTrue Blue Spa bath amenities, high-speed Internet in room available for a fee. Maximum per room: 4 adults OR 2 adults & 2 children. ***Note: room is not-changeable, non-cancelable & non-refundable.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

PLAYERS LOUNGE
Open on weekends adjacent to the Casino.
BOLEROS LOUNGE
Tapas lounge offering tempting appetizers and late night snacks and cocktails.
SHIMAS RESTAURANT
Latin Asian fusion with live karaoke from Wednesday to Saturday.
MARBELLA
Casual, family friendly restaurant offering a variety of International cuisines in a relaxed, ocean view setting.
SEABREEZE
Mexican cuisine served poolside in a casual setting.
PALIO
AAA Four Diamond Restaurant featuring classic Northern Italian Cuisine.
LOBBY BAR
Spanish-Caribbean atmosphere with live entertainment nightly.
IGUANA'S PUB
Serving a variety of tasty specials for lunch at the 19th hole.
ROOM SERVICE
24-Hour room service available in your room.
BARISTA CAFE
An array of freshly baked pastries, desserts, complemented by specialty coffee drinks, pizza and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (612)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kla andJG
Miami, Florida
Jul 18, 2014

The Truth

To be honest with you this is the best hotel experience my husband and I have ever had! As you read this review along with others trying to figure out if the Wyndham is the best hotel for your stay in Puerto Rico. I will give you the honest truth about our stay there and why you should stop looking and book with Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa today! If it is your first time in Puerto Rico and you drive up the narrow roads up to the resort, it can be a bit nerve wrecking, but the mini adventure takes you to a spectacular place on this Earth. The resort has all sorts of amenities that you can read about on their webpage. However, there are extra daily activities that they have at the resort, such as bonfire smore's fire pit, lawn games, dive in movie, island braiding aqua aerobics,iguana feeding and live music and dancing to name a few. Before booking get their daily activities guide because the activities vary during each month. It's good to have this in planning your sightseeing events and down time at the resort. The room we booked was the ocean front suite and it is spacious, comfortable and has an awesome view of the ocean and pool. The surrounding views from what we saw were just as fabulous. The landscape is breath taking along with the golf course mountain views. As far as meals are concerned the hotel food is reasonably priced. Since we booked early we received $25.00 dinner vouchers that could be used at any restaurant inside the hotel, one voucher per night. We stayed four nights and it helped.We did take out because that reduces the cost of inside dining. However, if money is of no concern I highly recommend eating at the hotel. The food at Palio and the Iguanas Pub was the best. The only restaurant that wasn't as good was Shima's. This was mainly because of the service we received. Also, the food there didn't wow us. I recommend you go to the Amigo Supermarket nearby and get a few things to snack on and drink if you solely use the dinner vouchers. There was an incident with the cleaning service but it was handle quickly. By accident a cleaning staff member threw out two coconuts drinks that we left on a table. After I left an fyi message with the cleaning service line, I was feeling a little bit upset because I wanted to take one as a souvenir. So my husband and I left to go sight seeing and upon our return the first thing we see are two huge coconuts in the shape of a heart courtesy of the resort. It was a nice ending. I want to thank Mr. Rafael Gonzalez for going the extra mile to bring back a smile on my face. Inside the resort there is also a casino, but it did not lure us in to gamble, instead go to the gift shop that has very nice souvenirs. Finally, this is the resort if you are going to El Yunque National Forest and I highly recommend going there. Nearby El Yunque there is a place called Hacienda Carabali to go horseback riding. This was also a fun experience. Overall, we give this Resort FIVE stars and you will too. We are looking forward to taking our kids there next summer. I hope this review helped! Enjoy your trip! Kla&JG

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellers 2
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2014

Anniversary celebrations.

The hotel was conveniently located from Fajardo and San Jaun. We wanted to stay close to north east of PR, as most of the activities are located in this area but not too far away from airport or San Jaun. The hotel views the ocean on one side and rainforest on the other. We booked the ocean view room but were given the room on the first floor where you can only view the hotel pool. Initially the lady at the reception denied to change the room mentioning no other room was available, which was not true. After a brief talk she was able to accommodated us on the sixth floor. The hotel charges an additional $15 per day for car parking. All said we really enjoyed our stay at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amraja8
Business
austin, tx
Dec 1, 2014

great resort

Resort was great. I was worried about the construction and rooms based on prior reviews, but it turned out to be real pleasant. Really neat and right on the beach. Amenities were nice with unlimited towels to clean up after getting into the pool. I wish the instructions were a little clear at the front desk on the vouchers we had, but it was ok. Overall a nice place to enjoy and relax. The location could have been nearer to some more outside restaurants. Food was great , Lill on the expensive side:). I would recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
b454
Business
Athens
Nov 29, 2014

perfect

perfect... delicious food... good staff... brilliant sea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zoe Z
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 24, 2014

Couples getaway

It was our first time going to Puerto Rico, we enjoyed staying here. Hotel staff were so helpful and nice. Just make sure to rent a car if you want to see the beauty of PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 18, 2014

Great Experience

Really enjoyed my stay. Everything was Perfect on my Trip. The Wyndham Grand is Outstanding. Also if you go, check out Ziplining. Its just 10mins from the Resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJimenez
Business
Vineland, NJ
Nov 15, 2014

20th Anniversary

The Resort is in a great location to other sites. It's division of adult and kids pool was refreshing as we wanted to spend adult quality time. Room service was excellent. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AR Vacationista
Business
NYC
Nov 10, 2014

Family Getaway

Everyone that worked at the Hotel was absolutely great. Very nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is very nice and the grounds are beautifully kept. The dinning could have been better. If you are looking for typical Spanish/Puerto Rican cuisine you have to leave the hotel. They have a few restaurants there but none have good old rice & beans. It rained while we were there and there wasn't much to do especially when you are traveling with a baby. The hotel should try and have more activities. Finally, my room was real nice, great view... but the floor was disgusting. I took my shoes off and walk around the room and my feet got disgusting dirty. Ceramic floors in the rooms need mopping every day with soap & water. Overall, it was a nice place for the price... and I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Don Pepe for good typical Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WilCuz
Business
Minneapolis
Oct 22, 2014

Nice, family friendly resort

A friend of mine and I were staying at the Wyndham for vacation in October 2014 while in Puerto Rico and really enjoyed it. The location is great - right on the beach, literally just walk out the back to a beautiful and very clean beach. Water is clear and there is just enough wave action to make it fun. If the ocean isn't your thing there are also several pools - one, an adult pool, is quiet and subdued. Not far away is the activities pool - with music and volleyball ... that's where all the action seemed to be. Outside the back of the resort is the Yunque, rainforest and mountains. Gorgeous, and a great way to take in the views and sounds of Puerto Rico. There are 4 main restaurants at the resort but all seemed to be rather on the high priced side, to be expected. There was also a pool-side bar which offered specials every day. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Everyday there were crews out tending the flowers or the lawns and making sure the place looked impeccable. The housekeeping staff also did a great job and the room was always clean and stocked with whatever you'd need. Overall, the vibe here was very much family friendly and lots of newlyweds (two weddings in the week we stayed). Not much for nightlife but you can get that in San Juan, if you like. The resort is about 45 mins drive from San Juan, and taking a taxi would be very cost-prohibitive, so know that when you go. Also, Valet parking at the resort ran $20/day or $15/day to self-park ... just understand that going in. You will almost certainly want a car unless you're planning on staying at the resort the entire time - but then you're not really getting to see Puerto Rico, are you ? The concierge desk is a great help for what to do and see - try the snorkeling trip to Culebra, the Rainforest hike, or the bio bay trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For better prices (and more local) food options try the kiosks in Luquillo. There are over 50 different bars/restaurants offering all kinds of options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ankit Mittal
Business
New York
Oct 19, 2014

Pretty good, but a little secluded

The hotel was quite alright. Pool was nice!! The family pool was a lot of fun. The room itself was good, it had a nice patio! Amenities were alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is right in the national forest so you hear amazing voices inside the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessicana
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Oct 11, 2014

Beautiful couple getaway

We had an amazing experience at the hotel as well as with the staff. Such polite and very well mannered group of people. The room was amazing especially the beach front view. Love the location of the resort. I recommend this being the first choice anyone picks when traveling to Puerto Rico. I miss it already

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheaper alcohol, cheaper dining outside the resort. To name a few: Ricky's, Don Antonio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top