$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
622 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (622)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 622
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKtiger
Cali
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent

Very good stay for 4 star resort! Staff are kind and foods were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherlz
Brooklyn New York
Aug 21, 2014

Birthday getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! Our butler Daniel was the BEST EVER! Room was huge with two jacuzzi.. We stayed at one of the Villas with our own personal private pool.. The public pool was huge! Service was on point! Def would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion puerto ru an restaurant

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vero G.
Texas
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The staff is great and very helpful, specially the golf cart drivers. Even though we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel because of our tours and activities, we had a confortable bed to rest for a few hours. The pools are awesome and well kept. The gym was very nice too. There is free wi-fi through out the hotel and the bungalows, but sometimes we had a hard time connecting. Like in most hotels in Puerto Rico, there is a daily parking fee. I did not eat in any of the restaurants, so I cannot say for myself how the food/service was, but two other couples did and they did not like the food. Drinks are overpriced, and from what I heard, the food is too. You're better off going to a local "panaderia" or bakery, the food is delicious and very inexpensive. The hotel is located about 30 min from the airport so you definitely need to rent a car, we paid $150 for a mid-size for the whole week, so reserve before you visit (good luck driving in Puerto Rico, because they are crazy! Lol). The room was huge, with a kitchen, but no balcony, guess you get either a kitchen or a balcony. There was no toilet paper when we got there, and the cleaning ladies did not leave shampoo the next day, I had to ask for some. We had issues with the keys, but they took care of that quickly. All in all, our stay in Gran Melia was great once again! I definitely recommend it for it's great value too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, try the "kioscos of Luquillo" A lot of variety and well priced. Try the bakery's too.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LizaAnne
DFW
Jul 26, 2014

A good stay

Beautiful resort . This place would be a 5 star hotel if they paid attention to the details. Ice towels & beach loungers were limited. Assistance from staff was also limited. They were friendly but always too busy to assist . It's a beautiful resort and we had a good stay but they need to bump it up a notch. I would recommend but w side notes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Ivan from adventure tours was amazing! He took our group of 7 everywhere w reasonable rates. He was our personal tour guide

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natieli
Brooklyn
Jul 13, 2014

Good experience !

The resort is a paradise. We had a great adventure. The room were very large and comfortable .The service is good. All stuff is friendly. The resort is a little expensive(in my opinion ) with all included. And you pay parking fee. The beach was not as goog as we thought . Not too much sand and a lot of seaweed in the ocean water. But it is a great opportunity to do snorkeling and watch fish in the ocean:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEAN T.
NEW YORK, NY
May 7, 2014

HORRIBLE (5/02/14)

WE ARRIVED AND UPGRADED TO RED LEVEL WASTE OF MONEY. FREE BREAKFAST IS OK BUT THE HAPPY HOUR IS A WASTE AND FOOD IS NASTY. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE NICE PICTURES OF THE GRAND POOL, IT IS OLD, THE TILE IS CHIPPED OFF AND YOU CAN FEEL THE CONCRETE IN BETWEEN YOUR TOES. AS FOR THE "BUTLER" SERVICE IT'S A WASTE AND DON'T EXPECT THEM TO EVER SHOW UP. FRONT DESK WORKERS SPEAK TO EACH OTHER AND COULD CARELESS THAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roberto C.
New York
Apr 4, 2014

good getaway for family

I enjoyed my time at the gran melia although I feel that it is more family oriented. 30 minutes from san juan. I would stay there again but for a romantic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocstar
Rio Grande
Apr 1, 2014

Great family vacation getaway

I had a lovely time at the resort some great people I encountered with. Pleasant staff.clean hotel gorgeous view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Its called Luquillo Kiosks its jus a few minutes from the resort food there was awesome and the people were very nice

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea Pool Bum
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2014

Spring Break '14

I, like a few others was a little worried about what would happen once I checked into this hotel based off of other reviews. I was more than pleasantly surprised by what I experienced during my stay at Gran Melia. 1- I arrived at 1:00 pm, two hours earlier than their check-in time of 3:00 pm. I was assuming that I would have to wait a bit before being able to check in but instead, had a hassle-free check-in process and was quickly situated in my room. 2- The rooms! My friends and I booked two separate rooms, one with a king bed and one with two doubles. The villas are gorgeous! Each room is situated within a larger 'villa' giving it a more communal vibe, and really scaling down the breadth of this resort so it does not feel so overwhelming. The one I was situated in was facing the beach, and every night we had the best views of a moon-soaked ocean and it was beautiful. The rooms were huge and would be mini-suites in other hotels. It was really nice to have a seating area and balcony. 3- Service for me was pretty good. I could see that they were a little understaffed (it would take a small army to run this place, it is so big) but they did everything possible to accommodate my requests. 4-I am a pool person not so much a beach goer, so I really enjoyed the built-in seats partially submerged in the pool which are perfect for spending a whole day sunbathing. There were plenty of them too, so it was never as if I had to rush to get to one before anyone else did. The beach is not the best, so we went outside to nearby Luquillo which is a beautiful public beach with the softest sand. It was nice to get out of the resort, so I did not mind at all but if you want somewhere with a gorgeous beach this is not the place for you. 5- I had a late flight out, and I went to the front desk at 10am to ask if I could have a delayed check out time. Without too much fuss, my checkout time was moved from 12pm to 2pm which took a lot of stress off with hurrying to pack and what to do with my luggage for half a day. I would definitely come back to Gran Melia. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you are planning to ever leave the hotel. Cab rides are not cheap here and the resort is very remote from the main attractions in Puerto Rico. Splitting the cost between 4 people came out much cheaper than if we had taken cab rides everywhere and was much more convenient for our stay.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexis Nicole
Atlanta, GA
Mar 23, 2014

Ultimate Relaxation Resort

From check in to check out, this resort was the ultimate relaxation for myself and my friend! The staff was great and all the amenities at the resort were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search