$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
598 reviews
Great vacation

We had a wonderful time the cost of tours were high so we went out got a rental and found the... See full review

  • Duubg
  • Mar 24, 2014
Ultimate Relaxation Resort

From check in to check out, this resort was the ultimate relaxation for myself and my friend! The... See full review

  • Alexis Nicole
  • Mar 23, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (598)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.6 / 5
166 out of 598
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
Parents with Mom and dad
London
Mar 24, 2014

OverPriced But Worth The View

The Hotel is Nice Great restaurants and Lovely Beach .We reserved the Red Level Room the perk was that the breakfast is included that saved us a lot of money for a Family of four .And the private pool nice and quiet For a week Spring Break stay its worth it Otherwise it would be expensive to pay $100.00 every morning .We ate out for the most Part .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Before Coming to Puerto Rico Make your excursion reservations in Advance The Ladies at the Hotel are not helpful at all .

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
Duubg
Missouri
Mar 24, 2014

Great vacation

We had a wonderful time the cost of tours were high so we went out got a rental and found the places saved 50% of tour cost. It was lovely the staff was friendly and overall we will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out and mingle and the locals will tell you places to go find the tour spots yourself and never allow them to take you go there and it will be fun and inexpensive.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
bes2360
Bay Shore, New York
Mar 17, 2014

All you need and more!!!

The location was absolutely amazing.. Beach front with pool access at all times! My children and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Customer service was exceptional. The attention to detail by the employees was impeccable! Family Friendly environment.. Can't wait to go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For familes on a budget, local restaurants are nearby to enjoy a delicious yet affordable family dinner.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
Somebunny
Massachusetts
Feb 25, 2014

Quick Family Getaway

Beautiful resort, easy drive from airport, courteous staff and large rooms. We stayed at the red level and were pleased with the breakfast, happy hour and private pool with Bali beds. We didn't use the main pool or the many amenities that were offered as we wanted to just relax. We did eat at the Nami Asian Bistro (outside above the Koi pond) which had a wonderful atmosphere. The food was very good but pricey. The mixed drinks were tasty but absent of alcohol. Stick to the wine and local beer. The beach was rocky but the water was warm and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Red Level well worth the money for the breakfast buffet (lots of yummy options) and happy hour alone.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
GgHoff
Boston
Feb 25, 2014

Winter school vacation week w/ Kids

Frustrating, would not return. The pool area was great provided you can actually secure chairs, umbrellas, reserve-bali beds, towels etc. (let the jockeying games begin as soon as you arrive) The property and grounds are pleasing. The beach/water views are great but the beach itself is limited in terms of sand and open areas to lay down/walk/swim/wade. The food averaged a 3 star rating at best across the 3 reservation only dinner restaurants. (don't expect to have dinner when you arrive or if you don't make reservations the day before even though there are always open tables in plain view. (We observed that complaining works if you're up for being that guy/gal) Some of the staff were terrific but most were just there to get the job done and worst of all there were too many workers that provided bad service w/ an attitude. Leadership/Management has understaffed the property in all areas. The management staff (& guests) spend a lot of time comping guest for mistakes/oversights that should never happen and can be avoided. Rooms are adequately appointed. Our second room (yes we had to move after the first night) was better than the first but things were still not right. (lights out, bathroom fan not working, toilet handle hanging, shower curtain was moldy, water leaking from windows, air unit was loud. All tolled disappointing first trip to what I believe to be a beautiful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
ALBERT 01
NEW YORK
Jan 23, 2014

GREA T VACATION

THE HOTEL CLEAN NICE THE POOL AREA VERY NICE THE ROOM NEW VERY NICE BUT MY ROOM FAR FROM THE LOBBY THE CAUSE TO WALK TO LONG MAKE ME HAVE LEG CRAMPS AT NIGHT BUT IN GENERAL EVERY THING ABOUT THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
Lori. R
Socorro NM
Jan 1, 2014

Do not stay here

I would not recommend staying here. There is one bar. The restaurants are overpriced. The service is bad. Do not stay here unless you rent a car. Beware of the no see bugs that will eat you alive. The pools do not have adequate seating. They have towel and ice chest security. They do everything possible to make your stay quite miserable. If you do not have a car you will feel trapped. If you do not have a reservation you will not eat. Excursions and taxis are redicilous. Golf is at least 200.00 per person. Bad expirence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
Grandpa Kurt
Gaylord MN
Dec 31, 2013

Great place, slow service

The facilities are beautiful and outstanding. The weather was perfect, warm and sunny. We spent most of our time at the fantastic pools and the beach. Also toured the nearby rainforest, a must. The food at the resort is very average and over priced. The service is unbelievable slow. I recommend leaving the resort and going to local restaurants which have outstanding cuisine for a more economical price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
Erin Baxter
Hudson, Ohio
Dec 29, 2013

Horrible Choice!

Based on the reviews and pics we chose the Gran Melia for our family vacation. What a mistake. Upon arriving, we were very happy with the entrance to the hotel - beautiful and very posh looking. The hotel is set up like an apartment complex. You have to walk a great distance or ride in a driven golf cart to get ANYWHERE. When I say apartment complex I mean more Than just the buildings. People were literally parked out on their patios with radios, smoking and loudly talking all over the place. Not very relaxing. Our room was RUN DOWN. The couch, floor and walls were stained. I did not want to sit down ANYWHERE. I tried to overlook it and we decided to look at the beautiful pool we saw in the pictures. It looked completely different. First of all, it was shoulder to shoulder with people- kids, couples making out. Empty plastic cups floated in the few spots where there was no people. The walls of the pool were broken and cracked. Everything looked like a bad version of the pictures we saw. We hoped the beach would make up for everything else. Nope. It was small. I mean only 20-30 feet long and full of jagged rocks and garbage. We complained to management and they said they would upgrade our room but there was only one room left. It was not much better than the first one. We ended up staying at the Ritz Carlton for the week and were beyond happy with the hotel. The Gran Melia was the biggest disappointment ever. Please heed my warning on this. I wish I would've known beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
Eni the traveler
Durham, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2013

Trip to PR

The amenities were Ok, nothing special. I usually stay at the Wydham but wanted to check out another place since we were going to a weeding near that area and the stay was disappointing. The sofa was stained, floor needed sweeping, the balcony was dirty and the bathroom could use scrubbing. They did not have a whirlpool or hot Jacuzzi in the pool area, only in the spa indoors. The beach area was not very good either, the chairs need upgrading. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kiosko had delicious food.

Back to menu Return to top