$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
730 reviews
Stay at Gran Melia

This place was beautiful and surpassed our expectations! See full review

  • Charise T.
  • Jun 5, 2015
Couple trip

A good hotel, but It is very expensive... Nice pool, and food. Have many place to visit and place... See full review

  • Isaias A.
  • May 2, 2015

The Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico in Rio Grande is an award-winning property that allows its visitors to relax in tropical luxury. The hotel has won a Five Star Diamond Award, a Golden Apple Award, and a Gold Key Award, among other recognitions, and it's established a strong reputation over 50 years.

 

The villas and suites match perfectly with the island surroundings, and they're decorated with mahogany furnishings, Spanish accents and bold colors. The pool is welcoming and expansive, allowing people to play or lounge in the sun while enjoying great views of the ocean and lush vegetation.

Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Property features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Highlights

Situated on a peninsula, this sprawling property is located just 30 minutes from the airport and greater San Juan. Two 18-hole championship courses are located adjacent to the hotel, and guests can take advantage of discounted greens fees, tee times and club storage. The RedGlove Concierge Services can help people arrange day trips and adventures, such as snorkeling, deep-sea fishing, shopping, Old San Juan tours and horseback riding.

 

After active days, visitors can dine in three elegant restaurants that feature Asian, Mediterranean and Puerto Rican cuisines or enjoy quick bites at the two casual establishments on the property. For drinks, the Avenue Bar and Martini Bar provide a great place to sip creative cocktails.

Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 730
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacey22
Business
NYC
Mar 4, 2014

Beware!

We got bit by bed bugs in our room... Switched rooms and continued to get eaten alive... It seemed that a lot of people had the same problem. Staff were friendly, but not given the tools necessary to address any issues. It took forever to check in, and waited multiple hours to switch rooms. Service and at the pool restaurant was slow.... Like really really painfully slow... Gorgeous property but not run well at all. Concierge was great though...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El verde on route 3!!! Food you'd get at a locals house.. Sooo good!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bombshellsalon
Business
Florida
Mar 18, 2014

Beware no staff unfriendly. Poor service

I agree with the poor revies.Red Level does not happen here.It seems like nobody works here. After reading the bad reviews I was optimistic because the grounds are beautiful. Service is a joke here and nobody is around to help. Please book a different hotel.I called ahead to tell them it was our anniversary and i was worried about the reviews.THEY ASSURED ME NOT TO WORRY.. WELL LADIES IM WORRIED.. THANKS GOT FOR THE POOL, DRINKS AND OUR SENSE OF HUMOR.. UGHHHHHHH... Pathetic.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mac Rose
Business
New York
Jan 4, 2011

Very disappointed

We booked a stay at the Gran Melia in Puerto Rico over the New Year's holiday, and stayed three nights. The grounds were lovely and well kept, as was the main hotel. Our room (which we upgraded) smelled very musty when we arrived. Problems we experienced included a custom made bathing suit taken from our room while we were at the pool. Not the end of the world, but that is the first time I've ever had something stolen from me while I was a hotel guest (and I do believe it was taken). Their security personnel's response was luke warm, at best. I was asked to file a report, which I did, and was told I would be contacted by them by the end of the day. That didn't happen, nor did they contact me during the remainder of my stay. There were no housekeeping services during one of days of our stay, and when I went down to the front desk to talk to security about the bathing suit, there was another woman complaining to one of the hotel managers about the fact that her suite hadn't been cleaned either. I think that is disgraceful considering how much Gran Melia charges people to stay. There is no excuse for dirty rooms and unmade beds. So overall, this stay was disappointing. The Gran Melia is not some inexpensive beach motel -- it is quite pricey and we expected better treatment and service. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

BioPhosphorescent kayaking in Fajardo -- it was incredibly beautiful and fun.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Redolson
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Employees need customer service training.

We went there as part of our honeymoon getaway in Puerto Rico. We booked the "Ocean View Red Level Jr Suite". It included complimentary welcome drinks, a butler, happy hour and breakfast. The room had a nice view and the bed was comfortable. The hair dryer was broken but they replaced it a half hour after I called. Unfortunately, we did not get our complimentary drink upon arrival, happy hour was supposed to end at 8pm but when we got there at 7, we were told it was last call and were rushed out. Dinner at Pasion was good except the hostess placed us next to a large family with kids. The children were out of control (running screaming and swinging a cane). The waiter hid in a separate room and only came to collect the check (no water or drink refills). The next dinner was at Nami Asian Bistro and it did not meet our expectations. Very expensive and a medium size cockroach peeked out of the grill to say hello a few times. A second couple sitting next to us brought it to the waitress's attention and the waitress told us that she was afraid of bugs herself. The morning of our departure, we decided to take advantage of our "free breakfast" and despite the roach incident, I figured I could get a cup of coffee and a bagel. As a courtesy, we dropped off our room cards 5 hours before check out time and walked over to the cafe where we were told that we have technically checked out of the resort and can not have free breakfast. We walked back to the front desk and "Ashley" shrugged her shoulders. The location of the resort is isolated which is fine but food and drinks are extremely expensive. Customer service is awful (except private pool bartenders). We travel a lot and this is my first bad experience at a resort. Unfortunately it was this place. I would recommend staying at an All Inclusive Resort in the Dominican Republic or Aruba where the service is much more pleasant and you get more for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Watch out for roaches

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WDOMKR
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Would never go here again

The value is extremely low for what you pay, and there are so many hidden charges (like $15/ day parking fee, etc). They gave us a room that was not what was advertised - lacking the in-room jaccuzi we contracted for . They said this website lied about the room details and would not budge! They put us in a room that barely had an oceanview and it smelled so bad of mildew we had to change rooms. They did the same thing to my parents who joined us later. We purchased the "red" package for extra money ahead of time, meaning we would have access to all the hotel's amenities, but there weren't really any other than the free breakfast, which I have to admit was the only good thing about the resort (but again, not worth the money). I will never patronize this resort again, nor any other of this company's resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Musafa's on the Southern Coast near Patilla - very modest place with an outstanding view and excellent paella.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swan Mates
Business
East Coast, USA
Feb 9, 2012

If you're looking for self serve !!

Upon arrival we pulled up front stepped out of the car and were approached with could you pull your car up forward. Then removed and lugged our own luggage from the 100 or so feet we were asked to move the car to. Then contrary to my pre inquiry on parking fees we were hit with $16 a day to park or $21 for valet. We self parked. Then we were offered to upgrade to Red Level for $175 then $145 per night; We declined. The clerk quickly drew some circles on a map and put a plastic bracelet on us and sent us on our way. The next morning we went to the adult pool she had informed us of and we were told it's Red Level only and couldn't stay. The service was horrible .. actually Nill. Asked the concierge for directions and she was only able to get us to the highway. Another time asked for a phone number and again said has no means to look up a phone number to an excursion we were interested in. Asked for a late check out and they offered us till 2pm , then $10 per hour. Mind you that same night overheard a woman got a late checkout till 3pm. All around; Puerto Rico !! Great... Gran Melia; it's no wonder why they left off the D. Very unaccomidating hotel. Not to mention grossly overpriced food and beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Kiosks and stay on the West side of the Island. Rent a car for sure.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nvs1
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 12, 2012

DO NOT GO HERE...THEY LIE!!!

We checked into this beautiful hotel for our honeymoon, thinking it was going to be wonderful! Upon check-in they asked us what credit card we'd like to put a hold on for incidentals, seeing as they don't let you pay with cash ANYWHERE in the hotel except the casino and gift shop, we asked what type of hold would be done and how much, as most of our spending $ was in cash. The front desk clerk told us they'd hold $100 / day and we could settle up with the other charges in cash at the end of the trip. NOT THE CASE! Our card was hit 3x before we even checked out! When we actually did go to check out, we were first met by the supervisor who told us we should have been told if we exceeded the $100 / day , whatever we went over would be added to our account, and held on our card with the other charges until the end of our trip...except that was a lie also! We put down a debit card...so it AUTOMATICALLY took out any overages immediately. Luckily my husband likes to check our bank account periodically, and noticed the charges, otherwise we'd have paid twice before leaving today (and yes I'm so mad I'm writing this the same day)! When the supervisor had nothing helpful to say, I asked to speak to the General Manager of the hotel. My husband and I work in the service industry as managers (I'm a shift manager, and he's a General Manager) and when someone asks for a GM...you find one...Immediately! Unfortunately, that didn't happen. Next we were met by the Front Desk Manager who re-itterated the SAME thing the supervisor said. Our problem isn't paying...its being lied to by an employee who should know his job before telling people incorrect information that screws with their money! Especially on vacation...and even more so on someones HONEYMOON! I then asked for a General Manager again...so someone else comes out... I feel its important to mention now, that another employee has now confirmed to me that the "blonde guy in the suit" I saw walking around, is in fact on the property AND the GM...the person who greets me is not blonde or in a black suit...he's the ROOMS Manager. Before I even begin the conversation, the smarmy look on his face infuriates me, so I ask for the GM again...and am told a 3rd time, he's not available or on the property. We are then informed that they don't really care how we feel bc they've already been paid. GREAT HOSPITALITY. On top of all that, they tax on top of making you pay for parking, and charge a daily resort fee (normal these days, but no one told to us/reminded us at arrival). The pool is unheated and you have to battle the birds for clean lounge chairs and any food you have near you. The restaurants alternate nights, so you have to plan accordingly, and make sure you have a reservation, you'll wait 15minutes anyway, but if you don't have one at all, you won't eat...the food is sub-par...sushi was the only thing worth eating, don't bother with room service or the pool bar...its also annoying they only have one place to eat for bkfst and lunch, no options... The one shining star at that resort...Richard the bartender! If you're unfortunate to have already booked your vacation, go hang with him and give him all your money! He's a fantastic bartender and host! HE should be the GM! At least he understands customer service! Much more than I can say for ANYONE else at that hotel! Thanks for ruining our honeymoon! We'll never be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a great strip of authentic Puerto Rican food and souvenier stalls if you go back to the main road, PR-3 and turn Left, then count 5 lights. At the 5th light, veer left and you'll see a strip of different restaurants etc. Try everything! And buy your gifts here, they really do have great prices.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smetz
Business
pittsburgh
Nov 23, 2012

Horrible Service

The service was horrible. They didnt have the room ready when we arrived and every issue i had took over an hour to get resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Its important to look into hotel food and drink prices.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelakay
Business
San Antonio
May 8, 2013

Do Not Stay at this Resort!

Where do I start... We arrived at 4pm after being on a flight all day long, expecting our room to be ready since check in is at 3pm. Our room was not ready until 6:30pm. While we were waiting, they sent us to have lunch at a restaurant at the main pool. The waiter took forever to take our order. We ordered "nachos" expecting something good since they were extremely over priced & received a small basket of chips with processes cheese over it. Finally at 6:30 as we walk into our room & look around we realize its still dirty, bed was broken, iPod dock was broken & bathroom was not cleaned properly. We called the front desk to complain & they said they would send someone up immediately. An hour & a half later, still no one had come up. Eventually we had to walk to the front desk & request a room change. By the way, did I mention we upgraded to the "red level" expecting to receive the best of the best & did NOT see anything that was promised. NEVER set eyes on the "butler." Red level pool bar opened at 11am (11:30) & closed at 6:00 (5:30). Not a single waiter walked around to check on people or take orders. Staff was very unfriendly. Food EXTREMELY over priced. If you want to leave the resort for any reason get ready to pay $150 for a cab ride since the resort does not provide a shuttle. Point being, this resort has made us never want to visit Puerto Rico again. Sad but true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CFER
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 2, 2011

Dissapointed...

We went for the weekend and wasted the complete first day waiting for a room because the first one they gave us was all moldy (with visibly black mold on the ceiling and furniture) with run down furniture. Definitely not what was expected from a Grand Melia Hotel. Customer service was terrible, they kept denying us a room expecting us to stay in the moldy one it wasn't until 8pm that they finally gave us a decent room but no one seemed to cared about all the time we wasted. The grounds are beautiful but everything is ridiculously overpriced and all the outside furniture is in need of renovation. The free breakfast is nice at Cafe Soleil, had dinner at Pasion and it was a waste of our money, I definitely would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top