$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DMV
Apr 2, 2010

Over priced

When we arrived at the airport is when our adventure to Gran Melia started. I had found out ahead of time about the expensive transfer to the hotel ($35 pp) so I had decided that we would just catch a cab. We come outside of the airport and there is a man there waiting asking if you need a cab and we see a line of people waiting also for cabs...only when it's our turn he hands us a sheet with set prices, which I find to be very strange. The trip was only a 20-30 minute ride tops, and the ripoff begins. We get to the hotel and it's beautiful..so I'm happy for the moment. The grounds, lobby area all beautiful. Satff super friendly and accomodating. We get to our room and it smells very musty..lol What to do? The couple beneath us complaining about the same smell. Ok, so I think let me just get my bathing suit and get to the beach....I'm sorry, there is no beach. So don't come looking for one. Man made with large boulders/rocks, sea weed and sand. You will have to leave the resort property and go to a public beach.(Drive off the property will take 7-10 mins) But there are no shortage of chairs to lay out on and the views are beautiful, just no useable beach. Next there are 5 restaurants and all pricey and long waits for food. First night we waited an hour for our dinner and the table next to us who did have a reservation never got their food. They were not happy, crying children who were hungry and tired of waiting also. At times I wanted to cry..lol Oh, and don't think about bringing any food to your room from outside, it's not allowed. Don't try and use the refrigerator that is only for their products and if you remove anything from the refrigerator your room will automatically be charged for that item. Read everything that you see. Local calls are not free either. Rent your car from them, at the hotel or else you will pay a daily fee of $27.00 for having an outside car. If you get it from the hotel the daily fee is waived but their rate is higher. I was so fed up with all the charges for everything by the time I left I was exhausted. I might want to go back and see about the royal service that they offered. Maybe it is the way to go when staying at the Gran Melia! I will give them one more try but I know all the tricks now. The tours we had were very nice. We did the ATV which my son loved and we toured Old San Juan which was also nice. You just need to know what you are getting into before you get there. I did say maybe:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2007

Definitely Not for a Honeymoon

My new husband and I came on our honeymoon and it was nothing that we expected. It is way to far from civilization which would be fine if it offered pleanty of things to do - which it doesn't. There is no night life and not such a great variety of food. The staff was great and the room was nice but that is all I can say about it. It was not at all what we expected and were very disappointed which is a shame for as I said, it was our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Jul 20, 2008

Not Paradise

The Gran Melia was an intersting mix of bad and good. Over all a beautiful hotel and grounds.Be prepared to drive through areas that look totally wrong, and you shouldn't be there like construction sites and long areas of poor to no signage. You need a luck aspect to actually find the place, especially at night. There is the nickle and dime you to death aspect of the hotel that was annoying! i.e. paying for parking if you had a rental car, having your comings and goings monitored by the gate ticketing agent to the resort. Prices are high for food and drinks. Be prepared to tip everyone cause the hands are always out! If there is something wrong with your room; it won't get fixed, no matter how many times you ask. Oh, they will sound very ammenable at the desk and the matience man may arrive within a couple hours but he will be unable to fix your problem. Our shower head was broke off and the AC was malfunctioning! Not the best in a very humid climate. DO NOT EAT in the Italian restraunt. 2 out of our 4 orders were barely edible and that was after sending them back.Cold and very, very salty! Steak was okay there. The Asian eatery, was excellent and the portions were huge! We actually split 2 meals between the 4 of us. Watch your check out bill!!!!!! There were things on both of our bills that were not ours, and we're not talking 1-2$ but 45+. So make sure you check it closely. The consierge were very informative and more than happy to help you. They were the best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lobij
Business
Southern CT
Apr 22, 2009

Not a chance we'll go back to this place

Although aesthetically gorgeous, the Gran Melia tries too hard to be something it's not--a luxury resort. The restaurant "Pasion" is touted as true Criolla cuisine and was recommended our first night in, when we specifically requested something easy and reasonable. It took at least 20 minutes to get drinks, and our waiter was distracted all night long by other things as he tried to tend to us. Two main courses, two appetizers, and two hours later our total bill was $200. We realized then that we would need to consider other options for meals if we didn't want to leave Puerto Rico broke. Having said that, we went to the grocery the next day to buy snacks and drinks for the room, as well as real milk for coffee. Upon return with our shopping bags we were stopped by a security guard who told us we weren't allowed to bring any food/drink in from the outside. What!?! We were charged over $16/day to park at the resort. This was not communicated to us prior to arrival, unless I missed it somewhere in the small print. In our room water pressure in the shower disappeared on our second day, and we had to move to another room. Although it was an upgrade to an ocean view room, which was nice, it was still an inconvenience. One bedside lamp in the new room didn't work, and the air conditioning wouldn't set to a comfortable level. Even when the thermostat read 76 it felt like 65. If we turned it off completely the room got too warm. One night in the casino we lost electricity completely. We didn't stick around to get our money back out of the machine, but staff say power was only down 20 minutes. The pool was terrific in size and features but far from relaxing. Competing music from the pool bar and recreation hut resulted in headaches every day and made reading poolside a near impossibility. We thought we could escape to the beach and relax seaside, however there were only a few feet of sand between the lawn area and sea. Entrance to the ocean was rocky and grassy and hardly appealing, so we chose the loud pool area or an off-property location instead. We enjoyed PR, but wouldn't recommend the Gran Melia. Next time we'll do our homework before we book a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss an evening paddle to the bio-luminescent bay in Fajardo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drfeelgood
Business
San Juan P.R.
Apr 28, 2009

unconfortable experience due to overchar

The hotel was very good except for the Oriental restaurant in which the food was horrible especially the tepanyaki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raynham Ma
Mar 17, 2009

The Hotel was nice but.....

Help was slow....everyone there goes at a slow pase and it takes so long to get anything....they don't even try to look like their fast.....Borning nothing to do...the hotel is nice but $$$$$$ for food and most resturants were not open...if you are looking for rest its a good place but no night life or even close to the hotel this was my 2nd trip there and the first was much much better...I will not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Richies Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 20, 2009

Not what I expected.

It certainly wasn't the hotel's fault, but it rained EVERY DAY we were there. I felt like all of the restaurants/bars in the resort were way overpriced. There were fees like paying for parking, which we had no idea about--but if you didn't rent a car, you had to pay $50-100 for shuttles anywhere. The concierge was not helpful with helping us find something to fill our rainy days--it always seemed like they were trying to sell you something. The pool was beautiful and nice to swim in, even in cloudy weather, but the beach was pitiful. There was about 6 feet of sand you didn't want to lay on, no waves, and lizards everywhere! We had a nice amount of space in our room, great air-conditioning, and the housekeeping staff kept our room really clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We hiked through the El Yunque rain forest, which was close, free, and fun! We also drove into San Juan and found some great restaurants (only about 30 min drive).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 30, 2009

Beautiful but deceiving

Bottom line...beautiful resort, but everything was a hassle. You NEED a rental car to do anything. This is not a hotel where you can walk down and just go down to the foyer or parking lot. You need someone to take you on a golf cart to and from your room to the main building. If you plan on staying at the resort only, you will be fine..however, you really cant swim because the water has a barriers of plants you have to wade through. We weren't able to check in fast, took 45 minutes with FOUR people in front of us. Then, when we got to the desk, they informed us that we would have to put 900 dollars (150/night) as a deposit. We didn't have a card to hold that after we rented a car, etc. So we finally convinced them to let us stay with $100 deposit on a debit. We experienced a lot of discrimination as americans (even though this IS a part of the U.S.)...it was just a really bad trip. I could not possibly write all of the things that went wrong. We will NEVER visit that island again! The one thing I will recommend is El Yunque Rainforest, but not on a weekend. We hiked to the top. Also, we took an 8 seater plane to Culebra Island for $65 round trip...well worth it. Flamenco Bay, though beautiful was so crowded...no relaxation. I DO NOT recommend this place. They make it sound so wonderful. If you don't speak some spanish, you will have a hard time in this country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Air Flamenco $65 round trip on 8 seater plane. 15 minutes vs. the ferry which is ROUGH and takes an hour and 45 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bergen county,NJ
Jan 3, 2011

Not good at all

The hotel is in need of a major overhaul. There is no beach,restaurants are not good and very overpriced, and a lot of the facilities seem run down. I would not stay here again without a rental car, because the taxis are extremely overpriced. I would stay in San Juan if coming to PR again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would rent a car and eat outside of the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franconia
Nov 18, 2008

Not as good as expected

When you first pull up to the hotel you are somewhat impressed. It has a very open, and pleasant feel. But problem's appear as soon as you have questions or concerns. I brought my concerns to the attention to several of the staff, and it seemed like they were just giving you the standard response, yes sir, sorry to hear that, really... etc. etc. Then when you looked around, you staarted to notice nobody,NOBODY WAS IN CHARGE. It was like you were dropped off in the TWILIGHT ZONE, and there was only young somewhat trained monkeys left in charge, with nobody to answer your questions or address your concerns. I was treated with a half hearted sorry/tough tootie, more than once during my stay. Very Unhappily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top