$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
626 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicoleandJay
Business
Chicago, il
May 25, 2013

AC broken

We upgraded to a better room and the AC was broken. We ended up having to pack up and move to a different room and no one accomidated us. I don't think we would stay there again, although, the island is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Passion was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 28, 2013

If you want a Vacation, DON'T stay here!!!

We had a total of 4 families staying here and from the very beginning our problems began. First of all we requested a double bed with a tub for my toddlers and ended up getting a room for the disabled with no tub. The 1st night we must have asked for ice 4 times because their 5 machines where all out and never got the ice. The sheets in the hotel where stained and the room smelled like mold. One of my other family members requested a crib and a roll away bed for their rooms and that never made it to the rooms. when i tried bringing milk to the hotel for my little ones I was told by security that I wasn't allowed to bring food from outside. I also had to complain to the manager for not doing any housekeeping in any of the 4 rooms the first 2 nights. I got to say that the hotel itself is beautiful but the service is not worth the price. Thanks to this hotel and their service, I will not be staying at any Gran Melia again. It's obvious that the employees hate their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at Guavate. The ambiance is amazing. There's a bad playing while you eat next to the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 29, 2013

Worst experience we've ever had

We stayed at this hotel and I got to say that the amount you pay is definitely not worth it. We booked 4 rooms and all rooms had issues. First of when we checked in they didn't have the rooms we had requested with double beds so they offered us a crib and roll away bed instead. Needless to say we never got the crib nor the roll away. We had 3 toddlers in the family and needed ice for their milk...we checked their 5 ice machines and non had ice so I called to request ice, but again never got it. The rooms smelled like mold and the housekeeping was another problem. It's sad to see that this hotel's employees are miserable working here as they never said hi to us or offered to help. When we wanted to go to the lobby we literally had to stalk one of their employees to give us a ride to the front which happened to be a long walk. The hotel is beautiful but their service and dis-organization is not worth the hassle. If you have little ones DON'T stay here. I brought milk for my toddlers and was told by security that I couldn't bring outside food. After arguing with the security and management they finally give me the ok to bring the milk. Stay away if you plan on enjoying your vacation. My in-laws are timeshare owners and will not be using this timeshare ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackie from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 17, 2013

Not a great experience

The facility seemed kept, but there the pool needs maintenance (painting...) as well as the rooms. We moved to 3 different rooms, two of the were not well kept.. The was a strong moldy smell on the 2nd one and the 3rd. one had a toilet that didn't work. LOCATION: The food is extremely expensive $$$ and there is NOTHING around, except an impoverished city, where not many would not want to eat. Driving all the way to san Juan is about 40-45 mins. depending on traffic. The restaurants at the hotel are nice, but expensive, about $23/pp for a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eni the traveler
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2013

Trip to PR

The amenities were Ok, nothing special. I usually stay at the Wydham but wanted to check out another place since we were going to a weeding near that area and the stay was disappointing. The sofa was stained, floor needed sweeping, the balcony was dirty and the bathroom could use scrubbing. They did not have a whirlpool or hot Jacuzzi in the pool area, only in the spa indoors. The beach area was not very good either, the chairs need upgrading. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kiosko had delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubygeo
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

No worth the money

The room was beautiful but the staff needs improvement. Maid kept leaving dirty glasses in the room, not refilling soaps or emptying the ice bucket, etc...didn't change sheets daily as we were told they would. The food was over priced for the portion and taste. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ct
Aug 28, 2009

Gran Melia-Go elsewhere

THe hotel itself is bueatiful. Not much to do. Hard to find inforamtion. No details of spa, watersports or even the resturants were given or left in the roon. As part of my package I was suppose to recieve $100 coupon for breakfast and even though I asked twice, nothing was given to me-they infact said I was mistaken. If you want to sit in a chair by a pool, its a great place-if you would like to do something you are better off going to the Conquistdor Resort. Eating was a problem-only two real resutrants. Make sure you rent a car and go elsewhere for dinner. Casino machines constantly were broken and very limited. The one and only gift shop looks like its going out of business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive into San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 29, 2008

My review of Gran Melia Puerto Rico

staff at this hotel was excellent,nightlife was non existence, any night life basically catered to the locals,way staff members riding around in golf carts 24/7, maybe could use more outdoor bars.they need a separate kiddie pool for the baby's in diapers so they are not swimming in the adult pool.on the brighter side if you want a peaceful beach to go to this is it,everyone hangs at the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the local market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Nov 22, 2008

You're kinda stuck here

Beautiful hotel; beautiful grounds; great pool; swimming beach poor. Far away from everything, and renting a car costs another $16/day to park it. Food choices are very limited, expensive and poor (both value and cuisine). Bringing food and drink back to the hotel greatly discouraged (no way to keep anything cold). If you come for golf, the weather and the pool, you might be happy. Otherwise, not so much so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Nothing is close by. 10 minute DRIVE to even get breakfast at closest store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The tourist that won't go back.
Business
Somewhere in the northeast.
Feb 15, 2009

my vacation at Gran Melia Puerto Rico

-We paid for ocean view room, but instead we got a Garden view for the same price. -THEY CHARGE $60.00 PER PERSON TO PICK YOU UP AT THE AIRPORT???? -The staff does not go out of their way to accommodate you, everything becomes a problem. - The Hotel location is far away from civilization. -Very expensive for food, water and cocktails. -No entertainment and it was very glum. -not very friendly. - The beach was so steep that we had to lay on the grass for tanning. -If your looking for a hotel that dead, this is the place. If you want a little nightlife and shopping forget it. -This hotel is not really set up for tourists, there is no ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top