$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
622 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (622)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2007

Definitely Not for a Honeymoon

My new husband and I came on our honeymoon and it was nothing that we expected. It is way to far from civilization which would be fine if it offered pleanty of things to do - which it doesn't. There is no night life and not such a great variety of food. The staff was great and the room was nice but that is all I can say about it. It was not at all what we expected and were very disappointed which is a shame for as I said, it was our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Cornwall
Jan 2, 2009

not worth $ no autority on property to correct problems

There between Christmas and New Years. Many small problems some serious ones. No one on site seemed to be able to correct major problems. Small ones add up. Staff was great, but they were concerned and upset with problems they could not do anything about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbrelo
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Would have been nice to know the Casino was closed

Meh. The stay started off bad enough when we arrived to find that the Casino was closed and wasn't planning on reopening. Would have been nice to know that BEFORE we arrived. To make up for this, the staff recommended we take a $50 cab ride to the nearest open casino (Thanks!). Some members of our party complained and we were upgraded to "Red Level” which basically meant we could use a semi private pool (where they weren't checking wrist bands anyway) and free cocktails from 5-8. Problem was we later discovered this upgrade wasn't free and that we were charged $70 per room per night. Other than that, the restaurants were the standard overpriced tourist food types, the rooms were very far away from the main lobby, the funiture was dated, and the beach was nothing special. If I had to pick something nice, the proximity to El Yunque Park was nice. Won’t see me back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Beautiful Location

Lovely Hotel, but very understaffed. Would not recommend because of this. Rooms are very nice, but a long walk to the pool, and not enough shuttles to get us back and forth. Very expensive to park our car, which we were not aware of before we checked in. Long drive to less expensive restaurants and nearby cities. We did love the island, and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We loved shopping in Old San Juan. The people are very friendly, and the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raynham Ma
Mar 17, 2009

The Hotel was nice but.....

Help was slow....everyone there goes at a slow pase and it takes so long to get anything....they don't even try to look like their fast.....Borning nothing to do...the hotel is nice but $$$$$$ for food and most resturants were not open...if you are looking for rest its a good place but no night life or even close to the hotel this was my 2nd trip there and the first was much much better...I will not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Richies Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pauline Leslie
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 22, 2012

The Dominican Republic does it better.

The Gran Melia is physically beautiful. It has a gorgeous beach and pool and the room we stayed in was gracious, spacious and comfortable. We went to Puerto Rico to play golf and relax. We left our room every morning at 7:30 and returned between 3-4 in the afternoon. Our room was rarely cleaned up by then. We chose to forgo expensive cab rides and eat on the premises. At all the restaurants the food was ridiculously expensive and not special in any way. The service was excruciatingly slow. One example of a restaurant experience we had: Everything was ala carte which is o.k., but my $13. salad had 9 pieces of lettuce, my $27. shrimp dish had 3 regular sized shrimp on it. There were no rolls or bread. I was still hungry when I finished dinner. To be honest, I think this place is in trouble. The casino closed down while we were there and the store was a sad little shop with expired newspapers and magazines, a small assortment of souvenirs, coffee, ice cream, weeks old baked goods, pork rinds, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
OC, California
Jul 28, 2013

If you want a Vacation, DON'T stay here!!!

We had a total of 4 families staying here and from the very beginning our problems began. First of all we requested a double bed with a tub for my toddlers and ended up getting a room for the disabled with no tub. The 1st night we must have asked for ice 4 times because their 5 machines where all out and never got the ice. The sheets in the hotel where stained and the room smelled like mold. One of my other family members requested a crib and a roll away bed for their rooms and that never made it to the rooms. when i tried bringing milk to the hotel for my little ones I was told by security that I wasn't allowed to bring food from outside. I also had to complain to the manager for not doing any housekeeping in any of the 4 rooms the first 2 nights. I got to say that the hotel itself is beautiful but the service is not worth the price. Thanks to this hotel and their service, I will not be staying at any Gran Melia again. It's obvious that the employees hate their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at Guavate. The ambiance is amazing. There's a bad playing while you eat next to the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob and Sue
Atlanta, GA
Nov 28, 2010

Not So Gran Melia....

- Beach was prohibitively rocky for easy barefoot walking... - Royal Service and Concierge routinely took 45-75 minutes to fulfill requests... - Pasion resturant took 45 min to take our order, 45 mins to serve one dish, then 20 mins afterwards to bring out my entree... agreed to comp dinner, then we had to "fight" to get it taken off our final bill... - Spa support staff was so disappointing, we cancelled our couples massage... - Generally felt service providers -- if weren't trying to sell us something (or make money thru upgrades and bulk tours -- were not really interested in making our individual experience memorable. Our best experiences (and largest tips) went to offsite tour provider, and resturant. Will definitely revisit PR... And while the property gardens and scenary are lush and very, very pleasant.... We are not likely to stay at the Gran Melia again. -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We had our best (most personable, one-on-one) experiences (i.e. site seeing, personal tour guide, water sports and dining experiences) with a local, third party provider for about 40% cheaper all the way around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
DMV
Apr 2, 2010

Over priced

When we arrived at the airport is when our adventure to Gran Melia started. I had found out ahead of time about the expensive transfer to the hotel ($35 pp) so I had decided that we would just catch a cab. We come outside of the airport and there is a man there waiting asking if you need a cab and we see a line of people waiting also for cabs...only when it's our turn he hands us a sheet with set prices, which I find to be very strange. The trip was only a 20-30 minute ride tops, and the ripoff begins. We get to the hotel and it's beautiful..so I'm happy for the moment. The grounds, lobby area all beautiful. Satff super friendly and accomodating. We get to our room and it smells very musty..lol What to do? The couple beneath us complaining about the same smell. Ok, so I think let me just get my bathing suit and get to the beach....I'm sorry, there is no beach. So don't come looking for one. Man made with large boulders/rocks, sea weed and sand. You will have to leave the resort property and go to a public beach.(Drive off the property will take 7-10 mins) But there are no shortage of chairs to lay out on and the views are beautiful, just no useable beach. Next there are 5 restaurants and all pricey and long waits for food. First night we waited an hour for our dinner and the table next to us who did have a reservation never got their food. They were not happy, crying children who were hungry and tired of waiting also. At times I wanted to cry..lol Oh, and don't think about bringing any food to your room from outside, it's not allowed. Don't try and use the refrigerator that is only for their products and if you remove anything from the refrigerator your room will automatically be charged for that item. Read everything that you see. Local calls are not free either. Rent your car from them, at the hotel or else you will pay a daily fee of $27.00 for having an outside car. If you get it from the hotel the daily fee is waived but their rate is higher. I was so fed up with all the charges for everything by the time I left I was exhausted. I might want to go back and see about the royal service that they offered. Maybe it is the way to go when staying at the Gran Melia! I will give them one more try but I know all the tricks now. The tours we had were very nice. We did the ATV which my son loved and we toured Old San Juan which was also nice. You just need to know what you are getting into before you get there. I did say maybe:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Vacation
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Nice Hotel, Not so nice Staff

The hotel itself is beautiful and the pool is great. That's the good part. The rest of the story is the bad. The staff at the front desk were extremely rude. We got there late in the evening and we were informed that they didn't have our reservation. She finally took my confirmation number into the back room and came back 10 min later and said it was taken care of but that they still hadn't received their money. Then we were informed it cost $16.00 a day to park there. This hotel is out in the middle of nowhere with acres of open land and parking so why they make you pay to park is beyond me. I think it is because they want to penalize us for being smart and having a car so we won't have to pay the high prices to eat at their hotel. You are also not allowed to bring a cooler to your room to keep water or anything cold and no outside food of any kind allowed on the property. The choices of food on the property is limited and their little snack bar/souvenir shop is very overpriced. The first room we checked into was musty and smelled very bad. We asked to be moved which took another 45 min. and put us even further from the pool. The walk to the pool was 1/3 of a mile. They even have signs to let you know how far it is. You can wait for the cart shuttle or walk. Usually by the time we walked almost the entire way then a cart would go by. If we had not had a car to leave the property and experience Puetro Rico we would not want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search