$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tot Tot
Business
Atlanta
Apr 6, 2015

Great Hotel....but

It was great hotel for couples but not for besties looking to explore. It was in the middle of no where and about 45 Min form teh airport..Had to rent a car and locals drives CRAZY (Almost got ran off the Road). Signage meaning nothing there....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fathima M.
Business
New York
Apr 8, 2015

Great Hotel

Very comfortable hotel. Was a bit disappointed with the beach, it is very rocky. It is located is a great location. If you are looking for a beach, this may not be the best hotel for you. But we enjoyed our stay as we were on a short vacation, and hardly in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dot
Business
N/A
Apr 8, 2015

Romance

Perfect Place for Romance! Hotel is beautiful. Food options there are expensive though. Did most of our eating outside. Rainforest trek was work staying at the Melia. Waterfalls and zip line amazing. Upgrading to red level is work it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Oct 25, 2009

Fantastic

This was an awesome place to be. The location to El Yungue rain forest and Luquillo beach 5- 15 minutes away made a perfect place to be and 30 to 40 minute ride to San Juan night life was good. Not much of a beach here but Luquillo beach was very close to this resort. The staff was awesome especially Rick who gave us all the good places to go and eat. I would come here again in a heart beat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guaynabo
Apr 18, 2011

Perfect wedding anniversary!

The hotel is beautiful, very relax... We were surprised by a "plena" music band while we were at the gorgeous pool. Food at Pasion was wonderful, especially the lobster mofongo with the island mojito. Rooms are a little bit distant from the action but there are golf cars around to give you a ride if you don't feel like walking. There is no fridge in the room and tv is updated, but the structure of the room is nice. Very comfortable beds. We really enjoyed our stay and are willing to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pasion is nice for a wonderful dinner and the price is right for the quality and flavor of the food. Nami is also nice for a lighter meal. Try the nami sushi roll.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BSN
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 6, 2010

A liltle pice of Paradise

Beautiful place to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island
May 17, 2011

Wonderful Retreat

We had a ball doing absolutely nothing! Relaxing by the pool, walking along the beach, and eating. The food and drinks are fantastic! This resort is absolutely beautiful; the decor is right out of Elle - simply gorgeous. Can't wait to return (very soon)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
School Nurse on the Go!
Business
Virgin Islands
Jan 17, 2011

rest, relaating and revitalizing

The service was great, the smiles were lovely, the entire staff seemed to enjoy their work. The lay out is Beautiful, peaceful and restful to the eye. We had the red service. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the water even from the lower level. There are lots of activities if you want and lots of quiet if you need. The later being our priority on this trip. This was our second stay @ the resort, and we were not disappointed. My husband's only wish was for some local cuisine be served @ one of the Restaurants there. We look forward to our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monmouth, NJ
Aug 3, 2010

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

First impressions are the most important. Upon arriving, I waited on line for approximately one hour before reaching the desk, due to shortage of staff. Upon reaching the desk, at 5:30 p.m., I was informed that my junior suite was not ready, and would not be ready for approximately one more hour. Additionally, I was charged for incidentals a deposit of $100 before I was even informed they were going to do this. Parking was not free, as I had to pay $16 daily for the entire stay. Furthermore, the fact that I paid for parking, did not guarantee me a spot, as I had to drive several times around their small lot before squeezing into a spot. Aside from the above, I was able to rest and enjoyed each and every sunny day, which I was fortunate to have. The pool was amazing, as was the pool side bar. The surrounding grounds had breath-taking views of the ocean. I loved all the palm trees. My king-size bed was very comfortable and my room was refreshed daily. From the few meals I did have at the hotel, I enjoyed them very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion El Fogon was very good. Their mofongo was outstanding and I would recommend it to anyone who loves plaintains with any type of seafood. I also enjoyed the Asian hibachi cooking.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wifes Birthday
Business
The NJ shore
Mar 9, 2011

Nice Resort

Nice Resort, expensive meals get a car and dine out the food and service is better and you'll save on excursions even with the parking fee from the resort, the beach is not really for swimming due to grasses and coral just 8 feet from shore, watch out for the golf carts racing around the pathways, no food allowed in the rooms and no refrigerator, (they charge you if you just pick up something from the mini bar). The staff were all very pleasant and the hotel is very nice and clean. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can drive into the rain forest for free a few miles from the resort

Back to menu Return to top