$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
575 out of 575
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Janetier
Friends
Austin, Texas
Jul 19, 2012

Should be 1 Star

I reserved a double bed room and they didn't have any when I checked in so they game me one with a king and a sofa bed. The first night, the hotel sheets were dirty and had a huge blood stain on them which was completely gross because it was at the head of the bed and was just folded in to hopefully not notice. Also, the first night I informed the hotel that I was not going to be staying the night for the weekend but was NOT checking out because we were coming back on Sunday and I knew I would have to pay anyway for those nights. I came back Sunday night and my keys still worked but get to the room and ALL my stuff is gone! Apparently the maid service told them that no one had not stayed there that night so they checked me out! and I said so why does my key work and they still told me that they only had my reservation for 3 nights and not 6 and if i had anything in writing stating something else bc someone is scheduled to have that room that night and so i told them yes and they sent security to prove it and brought me my items. Two days later the day before my check out non of my key cards worked and they told me its probably bc they got demagnetized and so i gave them benefit of the doubt and once in the room I grabbed the other key cards and those didn't work either! One night we ordered pizza from Luigis pizza offered by the hotel and it was HORRIBLE it was over cooked and it seemed like a good deal for $27 you get 2 med pizza, 6 wings, and a 6 pack of cola right? well with tax $33 but then they add all theses other charges like room charge, gratuity, delivery, total came out to $46! for pizza that was hard as a rock and couldn't be bitten into and cold wings and hot sodas! Staying at this hotel was more stressful than an actual vacation. Also, it takes over an hour to check in and check out because they have alot of employees but yet only 1 or 2 working the desk that obviously has about 8 computes. Then you have to get shuttled to your room and there's only one or 2 shuttles that fits about 5-6 people so it takes forever! Then, parking is $16 per day and at times they didn't even have parking so you had to park at the sister hotel next door and walk to the resort and yet still pay for parking. There's nothing near the hotel its 45 min from San Juan, 45 min from Fajardo and El Yuque. I will NEVER EVER stay here again or recommend anyone to stay here. It is very over rated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Eat outside of the hotel and buy tours outside of the hotel. Shuttle to the hotel instead of taking a taxi, the shuttle is $35 and the taxi ride is $65.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
onawhim
Friends
Ogden, Utah
Nov 12, 2012

Beautiful grounds, terrible accomodations

the room reeked of mildew and the service was terrbile. You never got towels, wash cloths, hand towels. The front desk help was non existent. There was only one person at the front desk regardless of how many people were in line. They would tell you they would get back to you and they never did. The travel center was the same way. They said they would make the reservation, but when you got to where you were going, there was no reservation. The pool area and the grounds were spectacular. This would be a great place to stay if you couldn't smell and didn't need any amenities at all. Bring your own soap and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smetz
Couples
pittsburgh
Nov 23, 2012

Horrible Service

The service was horrible. They didnt have the room ready when we arrived and every issue i had took over an hour to get resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Its important to look into hotel food and drink prices.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa11527
Family
New Jersey
Dec 3, 2012

Not worth it

The hotel does not look anything like the web and ask questions....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cvale1b
Friends
Pittsburgh
Mar 16, 2013

Worst Hotel experience ever, loved the Island though

After I awoke at 2am with bites all over my arms and legs I went to the front desk to notify them. They told me I had to come back at 8 for a manager to come before anything could be done. After coming back at 8, manager notified security who had me fill out a report. Was told I would get a call back, never did. After a little googling come to find out I was bit up by bug bites. The bites and the stains on the mattress confirmed this. So when we got back to the resort at 9:30 pm, our room had not been switched. Finally the security manager came over and assured me that "Gran Melia" does not have bed bugs. It was only after me saying "so you guarantee that there are NO bed bugs in my room" That he offered to move us to another room. The room we were moved too was horrible although I was able to go to sleep finally without being bitten. The toilette didn't work, the sink was clogged, the cabinets fell and broke my toe. At this point I just dealt with everything. The island was amazing though! The location of the hotel was great, on the beach, close to the rain forrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelakay
Couples
San Antonio
May 8, 2013

Do Not Stay at this Resort!

Where do I start... We arrived at 4pm after being on a flight all day long, expecting our room to be ready since check in is at 3pm. Our room was not ready until 6:30pm. While we were waiting, they sent us to have lunch at a restaurant at the main pool. The waiter took forever to take our order. We ordered "nachos" expecting something good since they were extremely over priced & received a small basket of chips with processes cheese over it. Finally at 6:30 as we walk into our room & look around we realize its still dirty, bed was broken, iPod dock was broken & bathroom was not cleaned properly. We called the front desk to complain & they said they would send someone up immediately. An hour & a half later, still no one had come up. Eventually we had to walk to the front desk & request a room change. By the way, did I mention we upgraded to the "red level" expecting to receive the best of the best & did NOT see anything that was promised. NEVER set eyes on the "butler." Red level pool bar opened at 11am (11:30) & closed at 6:00 (5:30). Not a single waiter walked around to check on people or take orders. Staff was very unfriendly. Food EXTREMELY over priced. If you want to leave the resort for any reason get ready to pay $150 for a cab ride since the resort does not provide a shuttle. Point being, this resort has made us never want to visit Puerto Rico again. Sad but true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngryLOCAL
Family
San juan PR
Jun 2, 2013

Big deception weekend at EL Grand Melia , Rio Grande

One hour waiting for two rooms after check-in sharp at 3:00 PM and the minimum information from the front desk personnel about the status of the rooms and “Resort” amenities. That was the beginning of my family experience at El Gran Melia Rio Grande Puerto Rico. Smelly rooms and air conditioners that never work properly (the cable TV did not work neither) was the second part of my experience but the worst part was the unprofessional employee without good manners asking when we leaving so they can start cleaning the room and that were at 10:00 AM two hours before regular check-out, they never made my family feel welcome. The pool was a disaster at 8:20 AM trash everywhere beer cans, cigarette and food around. My daughter hurt her knees with the expose cement in the bottom of the pool surface, clearly lack of maintenance. The best part was left behind the worst weekend ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conquistador Hotel o RioMar never in Melia

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CFER
Couples
San Juan, PR
Aug 2, 2011

Dissapointed...

We went for the weekend and wasted the complete first day waiting for a room because the first one they gave us was all moldy (with visibly black mold on the ceiling and furniture) with run down furniture. Definitely not what was expected from a Grand Melia Hotel. Customer service was terrible, they kept denying us a room expecting us to stay in the moldy one it wasn't until 8pm that they finally gave us a decent room but no one seemed to cared about all the time we wasted. The grounds are beautiful but everything is ridiculously overpriced and all the outside furniture is in need of renovation. The free breakfast is nice at Cafe Soleil, had dinner at Pasion and it was a waste of our money, I definitely would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 22, 2007

Not So Gran.....

The staff knew nothing about the facilities or surrounding areas. One of the six restaurants were open. One of the four bars. The food service was terrible, not to mention the food itself. Expensive, expensive, expensive.... I had a 16 dollar phone bill for 4 local calls to make dinner reservations. 2 dollars a minute!!! Never go there again. Had to rent a car to get the hell off the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New Jersey
Jan 3, 2011

Review of Gran Melia

From the start it was bad. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Watch out! When we checked out, we paid all charges....then the next day they charged us over two hundred dollars more

Back to menu Return to top