$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
623 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014

Welcome to Puerto Rican flavor with a Spanish flair, to modern accommodations and our exclusive attention to detailed service. With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's North-eastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this beachfront resort, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico.

The resort features 545 oversized suite including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Coco Beach Golf & Country Club and the best pool on the island with pool concierges, butlers and runners to satisfy your every craving, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. A selection of extraordinary first-class restaurants and bars will brighten your palate. With alternating operating schedules, you will encounter from an Asian Bistro and Italian to the best in international and Puerto Rican cuisine, featuring magnificent creations from our chefs. From elegant, gourmet dining to casual light snacks and exotic tropical drinks, there's something to satisfy every appetite and bring you a refreshing taste of the best of the Caribbean.

Start your day out with a dip in our monumental lagoon-style swimming pool while the kids enjoy the children pool or Kids Club. Get some exercise in our fully equipped Health Club or on one of our three tennis courts. The 12,000 sq. ft. YHI Spa, Melias own private spa brand based on the fourth element of natures, provides with Full Services In-door massages cabins, spa boutique, spa salon, one out door relax pool and state-of-art Health Club with high tech equipment and personal trainers.

Surrounded by Puerto Rico's natural exotic landscape you will find two magnificent 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite, just minutes away. Gran Melia Puerto Rico guest privileges offer special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons and guest club storage - truly a golfer's paradise.

Guests can also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports such as ocean kayaking, windsurfing and sailing. After the sun goes down, Gran Melia Puerto Rico come alive with live music performance at the lobby bar. An air-conditioned amphitheatre will feature nightclub style shows.

Oversized accommodations, Internet access (charges may apply), extraordinary first-class restaurant, 4 swimming pools including a Only Adults Red Level pool, 3 tennis courses, YHI Spa and health club, beauty salon, room service ($), Kid Club ($), nearby golf courses and gift shop, 24 hours- taxi services. Pharmacy and medical services ($).

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (623)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nvs1
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 12, 2012

DO NOT GO HERE...THEY LIE!!!

We checked into this beautiful hotel for our honeymoon, thinking it was going to be wonderful! Upon check-in they asked us what credit card we'd like to put a hold on for incidentals, seeing as they don't let you pay with cash ANYWHERE in the hotel except the casino and gift shop, we asked what type of hold would be done and how much, as most of our spending $ was in cash. The front desk clerk told us they'd hold $100 / day and we could settle up with the other charges in cash at the end of the trip. NOT THE CASE! Our card was hit 3x before we even checked out! When we actually did go to check out, we were first met by the supervisor who told us we should have been told if we exceeded the $100 / day , whatever we went over would be added to our account, and held on our card with the other charges until the end of our trip...except that was a lie also! We put down a debit card...so it AUTOMATICALLY took out any overages immediately. Luckily my husband likes to check our bank account periodically, and noticed the charges, otherwise we'd have paid twice before leaving today (and yes I'm so mad I'm writing this the same day)! When the supervisor had nothing helpful to say, I asked to speak to the General Manager of the hotel. My husband and I work in the service industry as managers (I'm a shift manager, and he's a General Manager) and when someone asks for a GM...you find one...Immediately! Unfortunately, that didn't happen. Next we were met by the Front Desk Manager who re-itterated the SAME thing the supervisor said. Our problem isn't paying...its being lied to by an employee who should know his job before telling people incorrect information that screws with their money! Especially on vacation...and even more so on someones HONEYMOON! I then asked for a General Manager again...so someone else comes out... I feel its important to mention now, that another employee has now confirmed to me that the "blonde guy in the suit" I saw walking around, is in fact on the property AND the GM...the person who greets me is not blonde or in a black suit...he's the ROOMS Manager. Before I even begin the conversation, the smarmy look on his face infuriates me, so I ask for the GM again...and am told a 3rd time, he's not available or on the property. We are then informed that they don't really care how we feel bc they've already been paid. GREAT HOSPITALITY. On top of all that, they tax on top of making you pay for parking, and charge a daily resort fee (normal these days, but no one told to us/reminded us at arrival). The pool is unheated and you have to battle the birds for clean lounge chairs and any food you have near you. The restaurants alternate nights, so you have to plan accordingly, and make sure you have a reservation, you'll wait 15minutes anyway, but if you don't have one at all, you won't eat...the food is sub-par...sushi was the only thing worth eating, don't bother with room service or the pool bar...its also annoying they only have one place to eat for bkfst and lunch, no options... The one shining star at that resort...Richard the bartender! If you're unfortunate to have already booked your vacation, go hang with him and give him all your money! He's a fantastic bartender and host! HE should be the GM! At least he understands customer service! Much more than I can say for ANYONE else at that hotel! Thanks for ruining our honeymoon! We'll never be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a great strip of authentic Puerto Rican food and souvenier stalls if you go back to the main road, PR-3 and turn Left, then count 5 lights. At the 5th light, veer left and you'll see a strip of different restaurants etc. Try everything! And buy your gifts here, they really do have great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayne
Business
Boston, Ma
Jun 5, 2012

Very disappointed

The drive into the resort is very long make sure that when you arrive you have everything you need for example if you go with a child and you need to buy a half a gallon of milk its about 15 min to get out of there and another 15 mins to get back inside. When we had checked in and then we were waiting for someone to escort us to our room. I noticed that there was a parking sign that said guests staying had to pay $20.00 per day and I just could not believe that. I said there must be a mistake. Besides the fact that we paid to stay at their resort and they charge your Credit card $100 dollar security deposit per day and then they refund it back when you check out. They have to nerves to charge you parking too......... When we arrived to the room it was very beautifull it was just like the pics in their website. I called the reception number to ask if we had a refrigerator to put my Sons milk away because I didnt see one and they told me no theree is not a refrigerator and if i wanted one it was gonna cost $25 for the 3 days I was staying and i laughed about it and said never mind. When i hung up the phone I tried using my andriod for internet there was no wi-fi avaliable and there was a little card that said if you want internet they could provide me dial-up and that it would cost $2.00 per min or $14.95 per day. I just couldnt believe that now a days wi-fi is provided in McDonalds, Starbucks, Hospitals ect......... The only place they had wi-fi was next to the lobbly. When we went to go and have breakfast they was charging $12.00 for continental breakfast or $22.00 for buffet breakfast per person. When i remember when I purchase this deal it said continental breakfast was provided for free. But I wasnt gonna make a show and argue in the restuarant and leave the hotel to eat cause it would have just been so much extra work cause of how far it is to leave the hotel. The waiters don't even make you feel welcome they are so miserable and rude. Then later on that day we were at the pool and my Husband wanted a Corona they charged us $6.50 and that was the only beer we bought I just couldnt believe how expensive it was. I will never go to this resort ever again the place is beautiful but its not worth your money....... very bad service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Janetier
Business
Austin, Texas
Jul 19, 2012

Should be 1 Star

I reserved a double bed room and they didn't have any when I checked in so they game me one with a king and a sofa bed. The first night, the hotel sheets were dirty and had a huge blood stain on them which was completely gross because it was at the head of the bed and was just folded in to hopefully not notice. Also, the first night I informed the hotel that I was not going to be staying the night for the weekend but was NOT checking out because we were coming back on Sunday and I knew I would have to pay anyway for those nights. I came back Sunday night and my keys still worked but get to the room and ALL my stuff is gone! Apparently the maid service told them that no one had not stayed there that night so they checked me out! and I said so why does my key work and they still told me that they only had my reservation for 3 nights and not 6 and if i had anything in writing stating something else bc someone is scheduled to have that room that night and so i told them yes and they sent security to prove it and brought me my items. Two days later the day before my check out non of my key cards worked and they told me its probably bc they got demagnetized and so i gave them benefit of the doubt and once in the room I grabbed the other key cards and those didn't work either! One night we ordered pizza from Luigis pizza offered by the hotel and it was HORRIBLE it was over cooked and it seemed like a good deal for $27 you get 2 med pizza, 6 wings, and a 6 pack of cola right? well with tax $33 but then they add all theses other charges like room charge, gratuity, delivery, total came out to $46! for pizza that was hard as a rock and couldn't be bitten into and cold wings and hot sodas! Staying at this hotel was more stressful than an actual vacation. Also, it takes over an hour to check in and check out because they have alot of employees but yet only 1 or 2 working the desk that obviously has about 8 computes. Then you have to get shuttled to your room and there's only one or 2 shuttles that fits about 5-6 people so it takes forever! Then, parking is $16 per day and at times they didn't even have parking so you had to park at the sister hotel next door and walk to the resort and yet still pay for parking. There's nothing near the hotel its 45 min from San Juan, 45 min from Fajardo and El Yuque. I will NEVER EVER stay here again or recommend anyone to stay here. It is very over rated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Eat outside of the hotel and buy tours outside of the hotel. Shuttle to the hotel instead of taking a taxi, the shuttle is $35 and the taxi ride is $65.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
onawhim
Business
Ogden, Utah
Nov 12, 2012

Beautiful grounds, terrible accomodations

the room reeked of mildew and the service was terrbile. You never got towels, wash cloths, hand towels. The front desk help was non existent. There was only one person at the front desk regardless of how many people were in line. They would tell you they would get back to you and they never did. The travel center was the same way. They said they would make the reservation, but when you got to where you were going, there was no reservation. The pool area and the grounds were spectacular. This would be a great place to stay if you couldn't smell and didn't need any amenities at all. Bring your own soap and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
smetz
Business
pittsburgh
Nov 23, 2012

Horrible Service

The service was horrible. They didnt have the room ready when we arrived and every issue i had took over an hour to get resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Its important to look into hotel food and drink prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa11527
Business
New Jersey
Dec 3, 2012

Not worth it

The hotel does not look anything like the web and ask questions....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cvale1b
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 16, 2013

Worst Hotel experience ever, loved the Island though

After I awoke at 2am with bites all over my arms and legs I went to the front desk to notify them. They told me I had to come back at 8 for a manager to come before anything could be done. After coming back at 8, manager notified security who had me fill out a report. Was told I would get a call back, never did. After a little googling come to find out I was bit up by bug bites. The bites and the stains on the mattress confirmed this. So when we got back to the resort at 9:30 pm, our room had not been switched. Finally the security manager came over and assured me that "Gran Melia" does not have bed bugs. It was only after me saying "so you guarantee that there are NO bed bugs in my room" That he offered to move us to another room. The room we were moved too was horrible although I was able to go to sleep finally without being bitten. The toilette didn't work, the sink was clogged, the cabinets fell and broke my toe. At this point I just dealt with everything. The island was amazing though! The location of the hotel was great, on the beach, close to the rain forrest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelakay
Business
San Antonio
May 8, 2013

Do Not Stay at this Resort!

Where do I start... We arrived at 4pm after being on a flight all day long, expecting our room to be ready since check in is at 3pm. Our room was not ready until 6:30pm. While we were waiting, they sent us to have lunch at a restaurant at the main pool. The waiter took forever to take our order. We ordered "nachos" expecting something good since they were extremely over priced & received a small basket of chips with processes cheese over it. Finally at 6:30 as we walk into our room & look around we realize its still dirty, bed was broken, iPod dock was broken & bathroom was not cleaned properly. We called the front desk to complain & they said they would send someone up immediately. An hour & a half later, still no one had come up. Eventually we had to walk to the front desk & request a room change. By the way, did I mention we upgraded to the "red level" expecting to receive the best of the best & did NOT see anything that was promised. NEVER set eyes on the "butler." Red level pool bar opened at 11am (11:30) & closed at 6:00 (5:30). Not a single waiter walked around to check on people or take orders. Staff was very unfriendly. Food EXTREMELY over priced. If you want to leave the resort for any reason get ready to pay $150 for a cab ride since the resort does not provide a shuttle. Point being, this resort has made us never want to visit Puerto Rico again. Sad but true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngryLOCAL
Business
San juan PR
Jun 2, 2013

Big deception weekend at EL Grand Melia , Rio Grande

One hour waiting for two rooms after check-in sharp at 3:00 PM and the minimum information from the front desk personnel about the status of the rooms and “Resort” amenities. That was the beginning of my family experience at El Gran Melia Rio Grande Puerto Rico. Smelly rooms and air conditioners that never work properly (the cable TV did not work neither) was the second part of my experience but the worst part was the unprofessional employee without good manners asking when we leaving so they can start cleaning the room and that were at 10:00 AM two hours before regular check-out, they never made my family feel welcome. The pool was a disaster at 8:20 AM trash everywhere beer cans, cigarette and food around. My daughter hurt her knees with the expose cement in the bottom of the pool surface, clearly lack of maintenance. The best part was left behind the worst weekend ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conquistador Hotel o RioMar never in Melia

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CFER
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 2, 2011

Dissapointed...

We went for the weekend and wasted the complete first day waiting for a room because the first one they gave us was all moldy (with visibly black mold on the ceiling and furniture) with run down furniture. Definitely not what was expected from a Grand Melia Hotel. Customer service was terrible, they kept denying us a room expecting us to stay in the moldy one it wasn't until 8pm that they finally gave us a decent room but no one seemed to cared about all the time we wasted. The grounds are beautiful but everything is ridiculously overpriced and all the outside furniture is in need of renovation. The free breakfast is nice at Cafe Soleil, had dinner at Pasion and it was a waste of our money, I definitely would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top