$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
575 out of 575
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Juan, PR
Jul 31, 2008

Not Satisfied

This hotel is not family friendly when it comes to having small children. Rooms are very far from lobby and pool area. No ice in ice station, this is a big no,no. Bell boy takes for ever to get to you, had to call like 4 times and t the end had to go get somebody myself. Most definitely will not stay at this hotel ever again! I do not recommend it if you have small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smi01011
Couples
Springfield, MO
Sep 13, 2010

Couples

Could not go swiming in the beach it was covered with sea weed. There was no entertainment offered at the hotel other than a small casino and live music on Saturday only. We were not told that there was going to be a daily charge of $16.00 to park the rental car in their facility eventhough we were staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 16, 2008

PARKING FEE??

THE ROOM SMELLED LIKE THERE WAS A WATER LEAK $16.00 PER PARKING PER DAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunny QW
Couples
Elmhurst
Dec 21, 2014

Bite by bugs!

Bite by bugs! No enough staffs. Dining is so expensive. Still charge parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oz Pearlman
Couples
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 28, 2014

Beware of Bug Bites & Terrible Food

What a shame having to go to a beach that you can't swim in. It is rocky and seaweedy and the sign clearly says no swimming...does that mean I can't complain about it? What a shame everything I ate there taste like pre-cooked, sitting in a fridge for a few days then got microwaved...nothing tasted fresh. Only breakfast buffet was edible because that omelette was prepared right in front of me. I gave up and rented a car just to eat out. I saw 1 or 2 ants on the bed and didn't think much of it. Every day I woke up with a new bug bite. By the third and final night I had about 20 bug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina m d
Friends
Ny, ny
Mar 13, 2014

Nice but bad food

The hotel is really clean and nice. Their beach is man made which didn't bother us. Water is calm and refreshing. We put our beach chairs directly in the water. The days were relaxing and amazing. Food by pool was decent. The options for dinner were limited to 4 restaurants. They were overpriced and awful. If you do come here, I recommend u eat a big breakfast n fill up at lunch. Dinner will disappoint every time. The staff at the resort were all extremely nice. If u like to eat on vacation, this isn't for u. If u just want to lay in the sun for a reasonable price, then this place is for u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy's happy too
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 25, 2014

Ok...but

The hotel was nice in general. Great location and nice features, but the food is extremely pricey, and even if you tip the servers they still charge a 17% gratuity to your total, as well as a service fee. The drinks were high as well but towards the end of the stay we found a liquor store on the other side of the resort. The room was nice but the throw pillows were dirty and the sofa sleeper in the room was stained. The hotel grounds however was very scenic, and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roberto C.
Friends
New York
Apr 4, 2014

good getaway for family

I enjoyed my time at the gran melia although I feel that it is more family oriented. 30 minutes from san juan. I would stay there again but for a romantic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London super mom
Couples
Rio grande
Apr 24, 2014

Great for family get away

The hotel was flawless but it is extremely expensive being that it is so far from everything you are forced to dine and entertain yourself only on the resort. One drink cost me $25. The food wasn't great either. If you want good food you must leave the resort but also be willing to pay $40 round trip for a 10 min ride. Don't think I will return there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jay82
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Dec 21, 2011

it was ok.

the hotel is in a deserted are area . u will definetly need a car . the rooms was not what i expected. they have old televisions and they need new mattresses compared to the other hotels i have stayed in this was my least favorite next time i will be staying in isla verde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

just stay in isla verde!!!! thats the best location everthing is walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top