Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$189
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016

Great for lazing about with friends

Would recommend Sun, Mar 16, 2014
Positives: Pleasant rooms, pleasant setting, pleasant pool (reserve a Bali bed between the pool and ocean for a day; bring a scrabble board), hammocks and chairs along water capture breezes and shade of palm trees. Not far from San Juan, El Yunque and bio bay (best to have access to car for outings and meals). Negatives: Staffing, though friendly, was insufficient and did not always have follow-through. No beach to speak of for swimming or walking. Dining on site is expensive.

| Hartford CT Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

away from the snow getaway

Would recommend Sat, Mar 15, 2014
Very beautiful place but the resort have a lot of hidden fees that the resort DON'T tell you about

Attractions

Be prepared to pay 100$ a day resort deposit + if you rent a car they charge 16$ a day for parking

| Chicago Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Winter getaway to paradise

Would recommend Sat, Mar 15, 2014
The hotel was absolutely fantastic. The location was between both El Yunque/farjado and Old San Juan so it was perfect for us with a rental car. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful and the grounds are kept impeccably clean. Everything was 5 stars, with a big exception for the food and beverage service at the lobby bar, wet bar in the pool, and beachside restaurant. The staff in those places wouldn't acknowledge you for a very long time and did not seem motivated to provide good service. Our solution was to buy beer and liquor at the nearby Walgreens and explore restaurants in other areas of the island which worked great. The exception of the poor service was the absolutely amazing reception, parking staff, front desk concierge and brunch staff at Cafe Soleil. All in all this place is a paradise though.

Dining

The food shacks (kioscos) at Luquillo beach are delicious and right on the beach. Plenty of variety and a lot cheaper than restaurants in Old and New San Juan. Kioscos numbered 2, 24, and 25 are amazing! It's a perfect location Togo to after hiking to the peak of El Yunque! Also - Costas MIa restaurant in Farjado by Seven Seas beach was great, best mofongo of the trip and $6 frozen cocktails.

| Arlington, VA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Resort!!!!

Would recommend Fri, Mar 14, 2014
Me and my wife decided on this resort with the flip of a coin. It was a great pic. We were skeptical bc of the reviews but the staff was very friendly and it's an exceptional place. The one and only downfall is that it is on a resort community, so if you plan on leaving the resort just rent a car bc taxi's can get pretty expensive.

Money saver

You can leave the resort and find great local food and gift at the kiosk stands about 15 mind away from the resort.

| Houston, TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice but bad food

Would not recommend Thu, Mar 13, 2014
The hotel is really clean and nice. Their beach is man made which didn't bother us. Water is calm and refreshing. We put our beach chairs directly in the water. The days were relaxing and amazing. Food by pool was decent. The options for dinner were limited to 4 restaurants. They were overpriced and awful. If you do come here, I recommend u eat a big breakfast n fill up at lunch. Dinner will disappoint every time. The staff at the resort were all extremely nice. If u like to eat on vacation, this isn't for u. If u just want to lay in the sun for a reasonable price, then this place is for u.

| Ny, ny Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Beware!

Would not recommend Tue, Mar 4, 2014
We got bit by bed bugs in our room... Switched rooms and continued to get eaten alive... It seemed that a lot of people had the same problem. Staff were friendly, but not given the tools necessary to address any issues. It took forever to check in, and waited multiple hours to switch rooms. Service and at the pool restaurant was slow.... Like really really painfully slow... Gorgeous property but not run well at all. Concierge was great though...

Dining

El verde on route 3!!! Food you'd get at a locals house.. Sooo good!

| NYC Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Winter school vacation week w/ Kids

Would not recommend Tue, Feb 25, 2014
Frustrating, would not return. The pool area was great provided you can actually secure chairs, umbrellas, reserve-bali beds, towels etc. (let the jockeying games begin as soon as you arrive) The property and grounds are pleasing. The beach/water views are great but the beach itself is limited in terms of sand and open areas to lay down/walk/swim/wade. The food averaged a 3 star rating at best across the 3 reservation only dinner restaurants. (don't expect to have dinner when you arrive or if you don't make reservations the day before even though there are always open tables in plain view. (We observed that complaining works if you're up for being that guy/gal) Some of the staff were terrific but most were just there to get the job done and worst of all there were too many workers that provided bad service w/ an attitude. Leadership/Management has understaffed the property in all areas. The management staff (& guests) spend a lot of time comping guest for mistakes/oversights that should never happen and can be avoided. Rooms are adequately appointed. Our second room (yes we had to move after the first night) was better than the first but things were still not right. (lights out, bathroom fan not working, toilet handle hanging, shower curtain was moldy, water leaking from windows, air unit was loud. All tolled disappointing first trip to what I believe to be a beautiful island.

| Boston Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Quick Family Getaway

Would recommend Tue, Feb 25, 2014
Beautiful resort, easy drive from airport, courteous staff and large rooms. We stayed at the red level and were pleased with the breakfast, happy hour and private pool with Bali beds. We didn't use the main pool or the many amenities that were offered as we wanted to just relax. We did eat at the Nami Asian Bistro (outside above the Koi pond) which had a wonderful atmosphere. The food was very good but pricey. The mixed drinks were tasty but absent of alcohol. Stick to the wine and local beer. The beach was rocky but the water was warm and clean.

Money saver

Red Level well worth the money for the breakfast buffet (lots of yummy options) and happy hour alone.

| Massachusetts Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Fun with hidden parking fees!

Would recommend Mon, Feb 10, 2014
Hotel was clean, attractive. Pool lining looked dirty. Hotel charges $16/day to park your car onsite, no budging!!! Its a trap to get you rent on site for $100/day. Theres no parking near the room buildings so there are golf carts moving people constantly- noisy and smelly when you want to take a stroll. Sidewalks can be very slippery!!! Location is remote, on beach, near golf.

| NY.NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Beware of Bug Bites & Terrible Food

Would not recommend Tue, Jan 28, 2014
What a shame having to go to a beach that you can't swim in. It is rocky and seaweedy and the sign clearly says no swimming...does that mean I can't complain about it? What a shame everything I ate there taste like pre-cooked, sitting in a fridge for a few days then got microwaved...nothing tasted fresh. Only breakfast buffet was edible because that omelette was prepared right in front of me. I gave up and rented a car just to eat out. I saw 1 or 2 ants on the bed and didn't think much of it. Every day I woke up with a new bug bite. By the third and final night I had about 20 bug bites.

| Brooklyn, New York Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5