$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
623 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (623)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibUsa Trip
Aldie,VA
Sep 29, 2012

Great Anniversary trip

Gran Melia is tucked away four miles down a beautiful drive through a golf course. Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff who want to make sure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing, breakfast is worth every penny and the Red Level upgrade is great for the value but the resort treats all its guest with the same level courtesy. Golf carts are always running and picking up guest. We've stayed at other resorts but this was the best. Beyond great service, we felt at home and comfortable. I would stay here again on my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

El Verde BBQ If you want good inexpensive food and to taste some PR food to there. It's a good hole in the wall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erin Baxter
Business
Hudson, Ohio
Dec 29, 2013

Horrible Choice!

Based on the reviews and pics we chose the Gran Melia for our family vacation. What a mistake. Upon arriving, we were very happy with the entrance to the hotel - beautiful and very posh looking. The hotel is set up like an apartment complex. You have to walk a great distance or ride in a driven golf cart to get ANYWHERE. When I say apartment complex I mean more Than just the buildings. People were literally parked out on their patios with radios, smoking and loudly talking all over the place. Not very relaxing. Our room was RUN DOWN. The couch, floor and walls were stained. I did not want to sit down ANYWHERE. I tried to overlook it and we decided to look at the beautiful pool we saw in the pictures. It looked completely different. First of all, it was shoulder to shoulder with people- kids, couples making out. Empty plastic cups floated in the few spots where there was no people. The walls of the pool were broken and cracked. Everything looked like a bad version of the pictures we saw. We hoped the beach would make up for everything else. Nope. It was small. I mean only 20-30 feet long and full of jagged rocks and garbage. We complained to management and they said they would upgrade our room but there was only one room left. It was not much better than the first one. We ended up staying at the Ritz Carlton for the week and were beyond happy with the hotel. The Gran Melia was the biggest disappointment ever. Please heed my warning on this. I wish I would've known beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lori. R
Business
Socorro NM
Jan 1, 2014

Do not stay here

I would not recommend staying here. There is one bar. The restaurants are overpriced. The service is bad. Do not stay here unless you rent a car. Beware of the no see bugs that will eat you alive. The pools do not have adequate seating. They have towel and ice chest security. They do everything possible to make your stay quite miserable. If you do not have a car you will feel trapped. If you do not have a reservation you will not eat. Excursions and taxis are redicilous. Golf is at least 200.00 per person. Bad expirence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GgHoff
Business
Boston
Feb 25, 2014

Winter school vacation week w/ Kids

Frustrating, would not return. The pool area was great provided you can actually secure chairs, umbrellas, reserve-bali beds, towels etc. (let the jockeying games begin as soon as you arrive) The property and grounds are pleasing. The beach/water views are great but the beach itself is limited in terms of sand and open areas to lay down/walk/swim/wade. The food averaged a 3 star rating at best across the 3 reservation only dinner restaurants. (don't expect to have dinner when you arrive or if you don't make reservations the day before even though there are always open tables in plain view. (We observed that complaining works if you're up for being that guy/gal) Some of the staff were terrific but most were just there to get the job done and worst of all there were too many workers that provided bad service w/ an attitude. Leadership/Management has understaffed the property in all areas. The management staff (& guests) spend a lot of time comping guest for mistakes/oversights that should never happen and can be avoided. Rooms are adequately appointed. Our second room (yes we had to move after the first night) was better than the first but things were still not right. (lights out, bathroom fan not working, toilet handle hanging, shower curtain was moldy, water leaking from windows, air unit was loud. All tolled disappointing first trip to what I believe to be a beautiful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacey22
Business
NYC
Mar 4, 2014

Beware!

We got bit by bed bugs in our room... Switched rooms and continued to get eaten alive... It seemed that a lot of people had the same problem. Staff were friendly, but not given the tools necessary to address any issues. It took forever to check in, and waited multiple hours to switch rooms. Service and at the pool restaurant was slow.... Like really really painfully slow... Gorgeous property but not run well at all. Concierge was great though...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El verde on route 3!!! Food you'd get at a locals house.. Sooo good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bombshellsalon
Business
Florida
Mar 18, 2014

Beware no staff unfriendly. Poor service

I agree with the poor revies.Red Level does not happen here.It seems like nobody works here. After reading the bad reviews I was optimistic because the grounds are beautiful. Service is a joke here and nobody is around to help. Please book a different hotel.I called ahead to tell them it was our anniversary and i was worried about the reviews.THEY ASSURED ME NOT TO WORRY.. WELL LADIES IM WORRIED.. THANKS GOT FOR THE POOL, DRINKS AND OUR SENSE OF HUMOR.. UGHHHHHHH... Pathetic.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEAN T.
Business
NEW YORK, NY
May 7, 2014

HORRIBLE (5/02/14)

WE ARRIVED AND UPGRADED TO RED LEVEL WASTE OF MONEY. FREE BREAKFAST IS OK BUT THE HAPPY HOUR IS A WASTE AND FOOD IS NASTY. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE NICE PICTURES OF THE GRAND POOL, IT IS OLD, THE TILE IS CHIPPED OFF AND YOU CAN FEEL THE CONCRETE IN BETWEEN YOUR TOES. AS FOR THE "BUTLER" SERVICE IT'S A WASTE AND DON'T EXPECT THEM TO EVER SHOW UP. FRONT DESK WORKERS SPEAK TO EACH OTHER AND COULD CARELESS THAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mac Rose
Business
New York
Jan 4, 2011

Very disappointed

We booked a stay at the Gran Melia in Puerto Rico over the New Year's holiday, and stayed three nights. The grounds were lovely and well kept, as was the main hotel. Our room (which we upgraded) smelled very musty when we arrived. Problems we experienced included a custom made bathing suit taken from our room while we were at the pool. Not the end of the world, but that is the first time I've ever had something stolen from me while I was a hotel guest (and I do believe it was taken). Their security personnel's response was luke warm, at best. I was asked to file a report, which I did, and was told I would be contacted by them by the end of the day. That didn't happen, nor did they contact me during the remainder of my stay. There were no housekeeping services during one of days of our stay, and when I went down to the front desk to talk to security about the bathing suit, there was another woman complaining to one of the hotel managers about the fact that her suite hadn't been cleaned either. I think that is disgraceful considering how much Gran Melia charges people to stay. There is no excuse for dirty rooms and unmade beds. So overall, this stay was disappointing. The Gran Melia is not some inexpensive beach motel -- it is quite pricey and we expected better treatment and service. I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

BioPhosphorescent kayaking in Fajardo -- it was incredibly beautiful and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Redolson
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Employees need customer service training.

We went there as part of our honeymoon getaway in Puerto Rico. We booked the "Ocean View Red Level Jr Suite". It included complimentary welcome drinks, a butler, happy hour and breakfast. The room had a nice view and the bed was comfortable. The hair dryer was broken but they replaced it a half hour after I called. Unfortunately, we did not get our complimentary drink upon arrival, happy hour was supposed to end at 8pm but when we got there at 7, we were told it was last call and were rushed out. Dinner at Pasion was good except the hostess placed us next to a large family with kids. The children were out of control (running screaming and swinging a cane). The waiter hid in a separate room and only came to collect the check (no water or drink refills). The next dinner was at Nami Asian Bistro and it did not meet our expectations. Very expensive and a medium size cockroach peeked out of the grill to say hello a few times. A second couple sitting next to us brought it to the waitress's attention and the waitress told us that she was afraid of bugs herself. The morning of our departure, we decided to take advantage of our "free breakfast" and despite the roach incident, I figured I could get a cup of coffee and a bagel. As a courtesy, we dropped off our room cards 5 hours before check out time and walked over to the cafe where we were told that we have technically checked out of the resort and can not have free breakfast. We walked back to the front desk and "Ashley" shrugged her shoulders. The location of the resort is isolated which is fine but food and drinks are extremely expensive. Customer service is awful (except private pool bartenders). We travel a lot and this is my first bad experience at a resort. Unfortunately it was this place. I would recommend staying at an All Inclusive Resort in the Dominican Republic or Aruba where the service is much more pleasant and you get more for your buck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Watch out for roaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WDOMKR
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Would never go here again

The value is extremely low for what you pay, and there are so many hidden charges (like $15/ day parking fee, etc). They gave us a room that was not what was advertised - lacking the in-room jaccuzi we contracted for . They said this website lied about the room details and would not budge! They put us in a room that barely had an oceanview and it smelled so bad of mildew we had to change rooms. They did the same thing to my parents who joined us later. We purchased the "red" package for extra money ahead of time, meaning we would have access to all the hotel's amenities, but there weren't really any other than the free breakfast, which I have to admit was the only good thing about the resort (but again, not worth the money). I will never patronize this resort again, nor any other of this company's resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Musafa's on the Southern Coast near Patilla - very modest place with an outstanding view and excellent paella.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swan Mates
Business
East Coast, USA
Feb 9, 2012

If you're looking for self serve !!

Upon arrival we pulled up front stepped out of the car and were approached with could you pull your car up forward. Then removed and lugged our own luggage from the 100 or so feet we were asked to move the car to. Then contrary to my pre inquiry on parking fees we were hit with $16 a day to park or $21 for valet. We self parked. Then we were offered to upgrade to Red Level for $175 then $145 per night; We declined. The clerk quickly drew some circles on a map and put a plastic bracelet on us and sent us on our way. The next morning we went to the adult pool she had informed us of and we were told it's Red Level only and couldn't stay. The service was horrible .. actually Nill. Asked the concierge for directions and she was only able to get us to the highway. Another time asked for a phone number and again said has no means to look up a phone number to an excursion we were interested in. Asked for a late check out and they offered us till 2pm , then $10 per hour. Mind you that same night overheard a woman got a late checkout till 3pm. All around; Puerto Rico !! Great... Gran Melia; it's no wonder why they left off the D. Very unaccomidating hotel. Not to mention grossly overpriced food and beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Kiosks and stay on the West side of the Island. Rent a car for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top