$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 23, 2010

A Birthday Gift

I had a wonderful experience while at the Gran Melia'. Things that I would change is first and foremost, I would rent a car at the airport. Cost of taxi is rediculous. Also, I would rent from Avis for you can park the car in their identified area and not pay nightly parking fees. The property is absolutely beautiful and tranquil. Not a place if you are looking for a lot of entertainment. I went to play golf. The champion course was closed in prep for the PR Open. Played the International and didn't like the course. It was in poor shape and over priced, $160.00. Drove to the El Conquistidor. A much better layout. The food was sub-par. Also, casino didn't have a dice table. I had to play blackjack and left $75.00 down. Not bad for 4 nights. Love the property and would definitely go back just to stay in the bungalo. Oh watch the catch on Ocean View vs Ocean front. Ocean View you get to be on the ocean side but can't see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Road Town, BVI
Feb 9, 2010

Nice resort!

Superb pool area and pool bar. nice pool area and games for kids. Rooms are large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the 'outlet

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VAUGHNGO
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 8, 2009

To relax and enjoy....

My wife and I were in Puerto Rico for work and had a couple extra non-work days to spend. We did a quick search on Orbitz.com and found this Hotel, the same many people had already recommended to us. We seemed to get a great price on an ocean view room with Royal Service (their sort of exclusive club). We were staying at the El San Juan in San Juan, which was nice but nothing like this place. These rooms were spotless, smelled great, the bathrooms were beautiful, and the beds extra comfortable! Our room had a full ocean view and with the Royal Service package we got to use a separate quite pool, with our own bar and free cabanas! Plus everyday we were provided with a free happy hour at the main bar from 6-9pm. Needless to say, we pretty much spent two whole days relaxing by the pool. Which is not like us. We had rented a car at the airport and ventured out one day but quickly realized we just wanted to go back and relax. But if you're in the mood you're only about 15 mins from the rain forests and slightly further away from Fajardo where you can take boats to some of the best snorkeling in the world! As for food, since the hotel is located pretty far away from the city or outlining towns you are left with the Hotel restaurants. A great full course breakfast was served daily and with the Royal Service package it only costs us $7.95. For lunch we found Wet Bar Grill to be really good and affordable. At night we decided to try each of the hotel restaurants. The Puerto Rican and the Asian Fusion were probably the most expensive but also the best! After dinner we would walk back to the open air lounge, where we would just sit and chat or jump into one of the open cabanas all while enjoying a variety of great live music. As you can tell giving what we were looking for during this trip, we could not have asked for a better resort. But, if I was disappointed at all it was with the direct beach access from the hotel. The ocean was amazing to look at but I don't recommend playing there, I would drive down the road a bit where the beaches are much more welcoming. With that being said though their pools are outstanding and there seemed to be tons of family and kids having a great time. We are definitely not big resort people, but this place was outstanding and much cheaper than El San Juan Hotel, in San Juan! Enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to snorkel, and don't really love the paid excursions, which seem to range from $65-80 for the day. You could take the local ferry across to one of the islands for a couple bucks, rent some snorkel gear for a couple bucks and spend the day snorkeling or exploring the island. Now you won't get to go the outer islands, but again if you like to do things on your own this sounded great!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2008

Great for couples

The resort and hotel were stunningly beautiful and so were the grounds, we did not have not one problem while we stayed there 5 days 4 nights, I would definately return but this time I would rent a car, and venture out for authentic Puerto Rican food, the resort lacked that, my boyfriend and I had a wonderful time, although we weren't looking for much of a night life, we enjoyed our stay tremdously it was worth the money, it's a 4 star resort and the prices of the food were a little overpriced but that's what should be expected. We would definately return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 28, 2008

Very Friendly

Everyone at the hotel was very friendly they were extremely nice they were more than willing to help. They were always helping with everything that the staff needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlets are about a ten minute drive.. Its better to rent a car to get around than to cab.. The taxi comes out more than a car rental..

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

GREAT HOTEL -EXPENCIVE FOOD

The staff of the Hotel was great, beautiful place,the beach was not good but the pool is very nice, the only problem was the food, very expencive!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

you must rent a car in the airport, the food in the hotel is expencive and is nothing close in walking distance.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vecino
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 8, 2010

perfect to get relax

go to the restaurants good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 22, 2007

Great Vacation Resort

I travel very frequently for business and have stayed at some very excellent resorts. I must say however, that this resort was by far the very best that I have ever stayed at. The staff was excellent, very helpful and eager to assist you with whatever you needed. The resort was magnificent. The room was very large with a dining area and patio. I would highly recommend this resort for a family vacation or a romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a delightful restaurante called the bambo in the rain forest. The food was excellent but the view was magnificant.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aibonito,Puerto Rico
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic

Special Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Excelent

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 19, 2007

nice atmosphere

hotel was beutiful and very clean. I enjoyed beach which is wild not really for swimming, but beautiful to walk on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top