$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
912 reviews
Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was... See full review

  • Galina04
  • Jul 13, 2014
wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go. See full review

  • Duubg
  • Apr 30, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (912)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
912 out of 912
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, new york
Oct 29, 2009

Great Hotel, Attraction Company Horrible

The Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Breath taking views of the ocean. So relaxing. Friendly and wonderful staff, ask for [...]. Great food, restaurants are a little expensive, but great food. The attraction site that they have in the hotel -Dragon Fly- was absolutely horrible. There service was terrible, there staff are so non-friendly, so unprofessional, and they over charge you so dont use them. There arent enough things i could say bad about them. If you get the chance rent a car and get to do your own things there. But overrall the hotel was a gem, great price, great service, just a great place to enjoy and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion the restaurant has wonderful authentic puerto rican food.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 1, 2008

The Gran Melia Puerto ...

The Gran Melia Puerto Rico was a gorgeous resort. We had a great time and thought the food and the people were wonderful. The rooms were huge and we had a very nice ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste money on the breakfast buffet. It is $25 a person. Just grab bagels or muffins or croissants at the stand in the hotel lobby. Saves a lot of money and time.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
May 20, 2007

Beautiful, but needs development

Hotel and Pool were very beautiful. Our stay was during a transition period to new owners and is no longer an all inclusive resort. As a result, the dining options were limited and mostly buffet. The breakfast buffet though, was consistently great. The Hotel is fairly secluded so having a rental car is a must. Had an issue with the lock being broken on the sliding door to a ground level balcony which wasnt fixed until the following day. Also waited overnight after requesting a remote control that was missing from the room. The highlight of the resort is the pool and the lounge areas which were large and offered ample and comfortable seating options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loquillo (Spelling?) Beach has fantastic local food in a row of food stands. It is a little scary looking aesthetically, but go ahead and try it. The people are warm and friendly and the food is phenomenal.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaila
ct
Dec 29, 2009

unbetable location for the price

I Love the hotel, but didn't know there was no beach. its a man made beach, can't swin or take walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
See the Globe
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 19, 2010

Great Resort in a beautiful location

Just got back from 5 days in Puerto Rico. It was a girls getaway vacation so we wanted a relaxing but fun trip. The Gran Melia was a great resort in a wonderful location. The property is really beautiful with open pavilions bringing the outdoors inside. The resort had nice facilities. We spent a lot of time at the pool, which is massive. It's lagoon shaped so there are various sections to the pool so you can try and find a quiet spot or be right in the middle of the action where the swim up bar is located. I love the fact that there are Bali Beds that you can rent for a day. They're located near the pool and beach and are perfect for an afternoon siesta or reading a book. Our room was a good size with 2 double beds, a sitting area, and a decent sized bathroom. Definitely worth the price we paid. It was also a short walking distance to the Yhi Spa and Wellness Center where the gym was located. We did try a couple of the restaurants. They were good, but definitely resort prices. Breakfast was $16 for continental and $23 for "hot" and continental. The selection was OK. Personally, I preferred to try more local restaurants. The staff was great. They were accommodating and extremely helpful and provided prompt service. The concierges were fantastic. We visited the concierge desk frequently, getting recommendations on things to do / see and where to eat. They are very organized and have directions already prepared for all the top destinations in the area, including el yunque, San Juan, Fajardo, Luquillo, etc... This was so helpful. WE spent an afternoon at the Yhi Spa. Again, the staff was really great. The spa prices are a bit high (50 min massage was $140!) but daily specials were offered as were some package deals. I think the package deals were the best bet as the a la carte services were really expensive. The facilities are very nice and there was hardly anyone there, so we pretty much had everything to ourselves at times! some minor things that I didn't like about the hotel - no clocks in the room, room service is only available until midnight, and the daily parking rate is $16 for hotel guests which I think is high. Overall, I was very happy with the resort and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you're staying outside Old San Juan or Isla Verde. A cab ride is about $65 (+tip) each way from San Juan to Rio Grande where the Gran Melia is located.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaritza
Puerto Rico
Aug 10, 2009

De la realidad al sueño

My experience in the Hotel was amazing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MTHV
New York City, New York
Dec 13, 2012

Wonderful experience

My stay there was my second and I look forward to my 3rd. I really enjoy staying there. I had room with a garden view. And it was next to the beaccch and in front of a pool and a bar with food service. The room as usual was fantastic, very nice and of curse very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is this restaurant-- La Terraza its on Rio Mar Blvd. and it is well worth the drive to it. And the Rio Mar Wynham has a really nice casino. Its on the same road as the restaurant

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
south jersey
Mar 2, 2010

wish we knew these before booking....

Overall the trip wasn't really bad but there definitely things we wish we knew before booking. PROS: 1. the pool was absolutely AMAZING. it was soo big that it made it seem a little less crowded. (however, we had already decided our next trip will be an adults only because there are screaming, splashing kids EVERYWHERE.) 2. the staff was VERY friendly! everyone that passed by always greeted you with a hello/good morning/how are you. 3. there are ice machines like every 50 ft so if you're planning a trip here, bring one of those mini plastic lunch box coolers. 4. the resort is pretty big so they have golf cart like shuttles that will pick you up and take you where you need to go CONS: 1. airport shuttle wasn't included with the package. it was pretty expensive per person round trip 2. non-motorized sports wasn't included either. it was an hourly rental for all of it 3. the location is really pretty awful. you're not able to get off the resort at all unless you're renting a car (which we couldn't) 4. there are only 2 options for dinner making the wait for dinner just awful 5. beach isn't swimable. it is completely filled with seaweed. (i'm only 5'2" and i could only go as far in til about mid thigh) Also, it's very hard to walk because it's COVERED in rocks and shells 6. if you take anything out of the mini fridge, they automatically charge your room. (there's sensors in the fridge that know exactly what you take out even if you don't drink it) 7. our room wasn't ready when we got there (of course) and when we finally did get in the room, the air conditioner was broken and we found our sheets weren't changed because we found someone elses hair in there and i woke up the next morning with a million bug bites and found bugs in the bed (we called immediately for new sheets) 8. everything there is pretty pricey. you gotta watch when they give you your bill because they will add a dollar to things here and there we noticed 9. The bugs were out of control at night time. We couldn't even go for a romantic walk on the beach at night or sit on our balcony with some drinks without getting bit like crazy. so bring bug spray! I'm not really sure if I would go back again but I recommend going to see it for yourself. I just suggest bringing a lot of cash and renting a car. We brought in some of our own liquor and some snacks so that saved us a lot of money. Also, I highly recommend going to do the ATV trip in the rain forest! Definitely the highlight of the trip and well worth the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the concierge and ask them about richies cafe. They're an awesome place to eat outside of the resort on top of a hill where you can watch the sunset. they will come pick you up at no charge. [...] (who is i think the manager?) was soo nice and so was the rest of the staff. We would have never know about this unless we had talked to [...] at the desk (who was absolutely AWESOME! talk to him too, he gives you honest opinions and great things to plan to do!)

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MiMiT
New York, NY, USA
Sep 21, 2011

AMAZING VACATION

The service was 100% at Gran Melia Resort. The staff were polite and very helpful. I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. The food was amazing, the rooms were cleaned daily, the amenities were great. I had an amazing time. I'm already planning my return to Puerto Rico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

The Resort is 45 mins outside of San Juan. A cab ride would cost about 120 dollars round trip.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield, CT
Jun 1, 2010

Beautiful Resort

The hotel was beautiful, the bungalows, were very large, clean and luxurious. The pool was huge and clean, the beach was very small and the ocean wasn't as clear and blue as expected, it's more situated on on a bay. The restaurants were ok, the service was great until you were done eating, they seem to forget about you for about a 1/2 hour to bring you your check, which was very annoying. The italian restaurant wasn't that great, our food was served quick, however it seemed as though it was sitting under a hot light. The spanish restaurant was delicious, the Churasco steak was superb!! Overall, the restaurants were very expensive like any resort. For 2 of us, breakfast buffet was $50, and dinner was $60 (with water, no drinks), we didn't dare eat lunch for another $50. There is a bakery at the begining of the road to the resort, that has delicious puerto rican breakfast sandwiches and lunch platters and pastries, very cheap. There is also a market in the lobby area, that has bagels/pastries/coffee, if you're not the big eater. Come prepared, because the resort is situated off of the rainforest and the rain clouds come almost every day for a short period, but they conveniently provide umbrellas in each room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top