$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
726 out of 726
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danzana
Business
Atlanta
Dec 14, 2011

Fantastic nature

The grounds are well maintained, personnel is exyremely friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the directions and GPS address

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randa11
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Perfect place for traveling vacationer

The room and resort were absolutely amazing along with the staff. Definitely upgrade to the Red Level, the breakfast and lounge were worth it alone not to mention the adult pool. The location is away from San Juan so you do not get a lot of cruise ship traffic, which was nice. The rain forest was minutes away, along with the cities laquillo, and fajardo; in addition there was an outlet mall within minutes of the resort that was stocked with great buys. The resort was breathtaking and extremely well maintained, when I booked the trip I thought it was the best on the island and I was right. The restaurants are fabulous and the Rio Grande resort is nearby if you want a change of scenery. Spend the extra money, rent a car, upgrade to the Red Level, and stay at this resort, you will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO to the Rio Grande resort for dinner one night. It's a short drive but worth the change of scenery. You will appreciate the Melia even more when you see this resort; it is nice but nothing like what you get use to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KJJB
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

1st Caribean getaway

The Gran Melia hotel is an excellent place for the family to relax and enjoy some quite time. Very friendly staff and good service. The food in all three resturant is just about ok. The breakfast is awosome and full of selections. The red level service is definitely a good choice, that the room is closer to the beach. And the evening happy hours and free breakfast is worth of the extra cost. This is a 5-star resort. You have to spend the relative higher than the regular hotel to enjoy more. Overall, we enjoy it so much. Thanks for the friendly Gan Melia staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest is a awsome place to visit. Horseback riding is nice too for the family activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luisouthtre
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Awesome!!

The experience here was GREAT! This is definitely a top notch hotel!! The only thing that I would say is missing is a jacuzzi outside near the pool. Everything else is PERFECT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Look for beaches wherever you are, you'll be surprised how many secluded ones you will fine ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
balimuse33
Business
chicago
Jan 13, 2012

It was like heaven on earth !!!

This place was more then what I expected the place look better then in pictures I felt like I was in heaven so peaceful and comfortable. we rented an avis car which we parked for free and save up on parking fee. the restaurant menu were delicious a little pricey but what can you expect, we ate out for breakfast and lunch then ate dinner at the restaurant hotel which i think we save money as well.maid service always cleaned out our room daily all we had to do was put the sign on the door and when you came back it was clean.I recommend anyone who wants to relax and enjoy a beautiful place this would be perfect no complaints at all whats so ever. thank you for making our first family vacatio a great vacation we will see you guys again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

must rent a avis car in order to save money on parking otherwise you will be paying 18 bucks a day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IT Professor
Business
Mayaguez PR
Jan 14, 2012

Great Romantic Anniversary Getaway

Spectacular Anniversary Getaway. Staff was great and all activities were superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tempo was a great Italian Experience. The PR Cuisine was also a Superb experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GreenEyes0213
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Just Beautiful

This was a great place to just get away and relax I would recommend it to anyone. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I will be going back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Andy
Business
Danville, PA 17821, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Perfect location between San Juan and Farjado.

Exceptionally friendly staff was always available to drive us around the hotel property that we estimate covers 1.5 square miles. Great food. Amenities from the ocean to the course. We will return with our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food Kiosk #2 at Luquillo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karlapc
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Perfect place for a romantic trip

The pool is amazing and the beach in the front is paradise. The staff was really helpful. Definitely we are going to come back next time we visit Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

you can stay in the pool the whole trip, is a dream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizette
Business
Arlington Heights, IL
Apr 5, 2012

March 27th-April 3rd

The Gran Melia was fantastic! The hotel staff was outstanding. It is centrally located between the San Juan area and Fajardo. Very close to Luquillo, which included affordable eateries at the Kioskos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out at the Kioskos near Luquillo beach. Many affordable spots with authentic foods. We were recommended to try La Parilla (kiosko #2), OUTSTANDING!!!!!!! For a busy Sunday evening we were seated within minutes and served quickly. The food was amazing. It's def. not cheap but if you're looking for cheaper than the hotel, this is the place to go. Also, look into the Dinner buffet/performances at the Wyndham Rio Mar. Great food/entertainment. ***Hint: Play at their casino and parking is free. Get card stamped when leaving. You only get a 15 min. window to depart after stamped. ( They don't tell you this) Lot's to do at this hotel. We enjoyed the ammenities due to family staying there and bad weather our week of trip. You defenitely need a car to get around. Cab fare is ridiculous, DO NOT PAY IT. it was $25 to and from for a 10 min drive tops. Also, lots of stores nearby. An outlet mall, Mcdonalds, Church's chicken, Burger king, Local grocery stores. ****Dine at COCO Sweets the Bakery right before the main road #3. Breakfast sandwiches are to share and daily lunch specials were $5.95. Staff was very friendly. Pastries were amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top