$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison
Nov 18, 2008

if self contained is for you....

The staff were uniformly friendly and solicitous without being overbearing. The isolation of the resort may be a bit off putting for those who want to explore but if you want a place to spend that is generally good quality and comfortable for you and/or family, this is a fine place. Still under construction which is louder than need be, some irritating add ons (parking cost each day) and a slower than necessary checkout were not problematic enough to make the experience bad but will be better when completed. They could turn the irritating music off in the open areas and simply let the breezes and nature substitute and it would feel a bit less casino-like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

pastry shop at the end of the road near Route 3 is where to go for coffee and breakfast that is Puerto Rican.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Nov 13, 2008

Great Overall Experience

Grounds were awesome, staff very friendly and willing to assist

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

grocery store, walmart and fast food spots

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Wonderful Getaway

The Gran Melia exceeded our expectations in every way. Every corner of the resort was wonderfully detailed and the staff went out of their way to accomodate our every need. My boyfriend planned on proposing to me in the El Yunque rainforest, but the open air lounge was so beautiful and perfect, he proposed there. The room we stayed in was very spacious, with a separate seating area that included a love seat, oversized coffee table and another table and chairs. It was also much closer to San Juan than we originally thought, taking about 30 minutes to get to and from. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to have a relaxing get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed visiting the kiosks in Rio Grande for local food - everyone recommended #2 with good reason. The food was amazing.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Juarez
Jun 8, 2008

Very Family Friendly

The Gran Melia was a great experience overall, great rooms and installations. The only downside was the waiting line at check in, it took close to 30 minutes to complete the process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Fuerte rainforest

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 23, 2008

Very nice

The Grand Melia Puerto Rico is very beautiful, staff is very freindly and very helpful. the room and the area is beautiful. It ia a nice hotel for families and couples. The resturants on the property were a disapointment, though. It seems that a resort that size could be a little better at establishing the dining experience. The staff at the resturants were very nice, but seemed that there was not enough staff especially at the dinner hour. Also, with the amount of families that are at the resort, there maybe should be a resturant or times in the resturant devoted to just families and certain times for children to eat and a new resturant for adults, upscale dining, dressing up a little more. We have traveled a lot with our two boys, when they ere younger to many plces in Europe, Canada and the mainland and found that when we ate in a resturant that had times for family dining the kids had a better time as did we.As they got older, we enjoy and still do with them, a meal as growups enjoying the food, the atmosphere, the wine, with no children running around the dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car, take advantage of the sights, the beachs, the rainforest, Old San Juan, the people outside of the hotel, the island it self. it is not hard to drive around, the island.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown
Sep 25, 2008

Great alone time!!

I spent a few hours in the spa pool all by myself!!! They play meditaion music and I loved it!! I was relaxed by the time I spent only 20 in there!! I recoomend it to anyone!! The bed are immensely confortable!! I slept extremely well!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything you need is there, from gambling to shopping! If you want to go out to eat you can but don't have to cause the restaurants are wonderful to eat in!!! But if you want to go shopping besides in the hotel you can take a short drive to Fajardo and go to the shopping mwall where there's Walmart an many other stores!!!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Awesome Hotel

It was breathtaking. Having the beach when you get back from a day of touring is great. Definitely want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in Hotel was expensive; but there are nearby local restaurants.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cidra,pr
Jun 20, 2011

excellent escape

we enjoy like a real family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris & Serina
Business
Ecorse Michigan
Jul 20, 2009

Great experience

My wife and myself spent 10 days at Gran Melia in Puerto Rico in July 2009. I was apprehensive about the trip because of some of the negative reviews I read prior to the trip. I can truly say that my experience was a perfect one. The resort was beautiful and the room was fabulous. We had the royal service room and that sums up how we were made to feel (royal). If you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place then Gran Melia is for you. Younger people may prefer something a little more upbeat like in San Juan. There is a fee of $150 per night that is charged to your credit card as a room deposit but at check-in they simply charged me $500 total for my stay. The prices of food was also fair at the restuarants on the property. Great activities are available within a reasonable drive of the resort. You must rent a car if you stay at this resort. But you will make up for the expense in savings very quickly. Great places to eat are very close to the resort on route 3. Please go to this resort and enjoy it the way my wife and I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
neithee
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2008

Great Resort

The Resort and staff where amazing! Royal service was good for the breakfast and drinks in the evening, but other then that it was costly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to drive by Taxi or Rent a car to go to San Juan about 30-45 minuntes for things to do. nothing in the area of hotel.

Back to menu Return to top