$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
618 reviews
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful Place

The hotel was great. The views were amazing. Bungalows were clean and quiet. Service was great,... See full review

  • Jay9
  • Aug 2, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Dales
Memphis, TN
Dec 24, 2012

A Perfect Retreat

We stayed in a Red Level Oceanfront Suite, and could not have been any happier with our choice. Our room was clean and comfy, and the Red Level amenities - such as the adults-only pool, daily breakfast buffet and happy hour, - were well worth the upgrade. The grounds are gorgeous, and the only reason I gave the location four stars over five is because the beach is not swimmer-friendly... lots of seaweed and sharp coral. That said, you can reserve a Bali bed at the Red Level pool and enjoy the ocean on one side and a VIP bar on the other, all while dozing in delicious comfort! You definitely will want to rent a car, as the resort is a good 45 minute drive from San Juan. There are a ton of great restaurants along PR-3 East towards Luquillo only 15 minutes away, and the El Yunque rainforest, bio-bay tours, etc. are also close by. Be warned - the driving directions provided by the concierge tended to be confusing, so make sure you have your destination well-mapped. Also, know that the resort will place a hold of $100 per day of your stay when you check in and anything you do of cost at the resort will be billed against that daily balance. We took FULL advantage of the breakfast and happy hour, so we ended up getting a little money credited back by the time we checked out. Everybody was exceedingly helpful, friendly and kind. Israel at the main bar makes the best mango sangria ever, Gustavo at the Red Level bar has a ton of great suggestions on "where the locals go" and our personal butlers were always on hand to help us with anything we needed. If you are looking for a laid-back, relaxing retreat that's just far enough away from the city, but still within reach of any and every adventure you could possibly want to embark on, this is the place for you. If you are looking for more of a party-all-night atmosphere without the need of a car, stay in San Juan. Driving in Puerto Rico is not for the faint of heart - but is surely an adventure in and of itself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

From Gran Melia headed east on PR-3, drive about 15 minutes towards Luquillo and you will see a long string of restaurants, bars and casual food stands on the north (left) side of the road. There are at least 50 of them, all listed as numbered kiosks, and you'll find a perfect blend of locals and tourists alike. We ate at Restaurant Congas - kiosk #5, I think - and it was five-star delicious. You can't miss it!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vero G.
Texas
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The staff is great and very helpful, specially the golf cart drivers. Even though we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel because of our tours and activities, we had a confortable bed to rest for a few hours. The pools are awesome and well kept. The gym was very nice too. There is free wi-fi through out the hotel and the bungalows, but sometimes we had a hard time connecting. Like in most hotels in Puerto Rico, there is a daily parking fee. I did not eat in any of the restaurants, so I cannot say for myself how the food/service was, but two other couples did and they did not like the food. Drinks are overpriced, and from what I heard, the food is too. You're better off going to a local "panaderia" or bakery, the food is delicious and very inexpensive. The hotel is located about 30 min from the airport so you definitely need to rent a car, we paid $150 for a mid-size for the whole week, so reserve before you visit (good luck driving in Puerto Rico, because they are crazy! Lol). The room was huge, with a kitchen, but no balcony, guess you get either a kitchen or a balcony. There was no toilet paper when we got there, and the cleaning ladies did not leave shampoo the next day, I had to ask for some. We had issues with the keys, but they took care of that quickly. All in all, our stay in Gran Melia was great once again! I definitely recommend it for it's great value too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, try the "kioscos of Luquillo" A lot of variety and well priced. Try the bakery's too.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay9
Spfld, MA
Aug 2, 2014

Beautiful Place

The hotel was great. The views were amazing. Bungalows were clean and quiet. Service was great, everyone was nice and helpful. Great location for a romantic stay for two or for a family. The first night we ordered pizza from Luigi's Pizza right on the resort. The worst pizza I've ever had. We ate off the resort for the remainder of our stay. Familia's Bakery had some great breakfast sandwiches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat off of the resort.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galina04
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 13, 2014

Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was great, with nice balcony. The only thing i did not like this resort has a very small beach. and the ocean is not clean. we could only swill few steps away, but we did diving and my husband loved it. The ice in the resort is really a problem. It was always empty. All stuff was nice, thought majority know only Spanish, but this is not a problem they could still understand you. No other charges. we were afraid that the resort will charge us resort fee, but there was zero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very close, walking distance! 5 different restaurants. Price acceptable.. If you can get the breakfast in the package take it. Otherwise you will pay 50$ if you want to get breakfast..

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duubg
Missouri
Apr 30, 2014

wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the taco truck cheap and good. Restaurants cheap

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duubg
Missouri
Mar 24, 2014

Great vacation

We had a wonderful time the cost of tours were high so we went out got a rental and found the places saved 50% of tour cost. It was lovely the staff was friendly and overall we will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out and mingle and the locals will tell you places to go find the tour spots yourself and never allow them to take you go there and it will be fun and inexpensive.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexis Nicole
Atlanta, GA
Mar 23, 2014

Ultimate Relaxation Resort

From check in to check out, this resort was the ultimate relaxation for myself and my friend! The staff was great and all the amenities at the resort were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bes2360
Bay Shore, New York
Mar 17, 2014

All you need and more!!!

The location was absolutely amazing.. Beach front with pool access at all times! My children and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Customer service was exceptional. The attention to detail by the employees was impeccable! Family Friendly environment.. Can't wait to go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For familes on a budget, local restaurants are nearby to enjoy a delicious yet affordable family dinner.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MagsandJoe
Brookfield, Illinois
Dec 18, 2013

I would definitely go back!

This hotel was amazing! We had a great time and would definitely recommend it to others. The only complaint I had was that the restaurants in the hotel were very expensive, but they do offer happy hours with discounts at certain times of day. It was very scenic, and secluded on its own peninsula, which was right on the coast line. The staff was very friendly as well, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to El Jefe's Burger Shack on rt. 3. You won't regret it!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
federalbunny
St Thomas
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful Hotel

We had a very relaxing stay at this beautiful resort. Couldn't use the beach or pool due to rain, so that was a bit of a disappointment. Staff was helpful in directing us to local places of interest. My one recommendation would be to give out better directions to the resort from the airport. The website was lacking in this regards and we got terribly lost trying to initially find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hiking in the rain forest was beautiful

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georg Buben
Maryland
Oct 25, 2013

Great resort

Fantastic location, great pool, superior rooms,.. Worth booking red level service incl. many benefits e.g. the little pavilions at the pool at no extra costs. Food is very expensive, so rent a car to be able to go for fast food :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search