$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
629 reviews
Gorgeous and Relaxing!

The views at this resort are gorgeous! I had the RedLevel experience, all of the staff was so... See full review

  • Lizeth C.
  • Dec 19, 2014
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (629)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smi01011
Business
Springfield, MO
Sep 13, 2010

Couples

Could not go swiming in the beach it was covered with sea weed. There was no entertainment offered at the hotel other than a small casino and live music on Saturday only. We were not told that there was going to be a daily charge of $16.00 to park the rental car in their facility eventhough we were staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2008

PARKING FEE??

THE ROOM SMELLED LIKE THERE WAS A WATER LEAK $16.00 PER PARKING PER DAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 6, 2011

NOT WORTH IT!!!!!

Do Not Stay at this Hotel unless you want to get ripped off, Do not Stay at this Hotel if You plan to explore Puerto Rico. Just Finished up my 5 Day 4 Night Venture and God am I Lucky i Had the Sense to rent a car because if i didnt i would have had the worse time. This Resort, First of all is loaded with kids so if you plan on relaxing and being with a significant other forget it!! 2nd They charge for Everything!!! When you get there you have to pay $100 for each night in which you are there. Everything is overpriced and this is coming from a person who lives in Manhattan (exa room service for a pizza is $17 plus $3 dollars for them to bring it up and that's not including tip REALLY BUDDY!!!!!) 3rd The Beach Sucks, its filled with Rocks and Pebbles and there is absolutely no where in which you can swim. 4th The Food now, i cant comment on all the restaurants however i can on the pas'ion, THIS RESTAURANT SUCKS it claims authentic "Puerto Rican Food" I had better on a truck in East Harlem Ny. This place was so bad, the service was slow and the food looked and tasted like puke!! Your best Bet is to go to the kiosks in Loquillo. This Hotel is not worth it, stay somewhere else if you want to see El Yunke, Loquillo or going to Vieques(which is Beautiful) all I can say is Thank God i Had a Car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 16, 2007

Disappointed

Starting on a positive note....staff were very friendly which was helpful as their knowledge was severely lacking. Would take two or three people to answer a simple question. Very...stress....very poor dining options. Nothing on the beach...no food, no snacks only an indoor full buffet! At night no more than two restaurants at a resort that indicated 5 on the site and the Tuscano Italian was abysml. I hope once you fully transition from all inclusive things improve...I just would not return based on our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is NOTHING NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2007

Definitely Not for a Honeymoon

My new husband and I came on our honeymoon and it was nothing that we expected. It is way to far from civilization which would be fine if it offered pleanty of things to do - which it doesn't. There is no night life and not such a great variety of food. The staff was great and the room was nice but that is all I can say about it. It was not at all what we expected and were very disappointed which is a shame for as I said, it was our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Jul 20, 2008

Not Paradise

The Gran Melia was an intersting mix of bad and good. Over all a beautiful hotel and grounds.Be prepared to drive through areas that look totally wrong, and you shouldn't be there like construction sites and long areas of poor to no signage. You need a luck aspect to actually find the place, especially at night. There is the nickle and dime you to death aspect of the hotel that was annoying! i.e. paying for parking if you had a rental car, having your comings and goings monitored by the gate ticketing agent to the resort. Prices are high for food and drinks. Be prepared to tip everyone cause the hands are always out! If there is something wrong with your room; it won't get fixed, no matter how many times you ask. Oh, they will sound very ammenable at the desk and the matience man may arrive within a couple hours but he will be unable to fix your problem. Our shower head was broke off and the AC was malfunctioning! Not the best in a very humid climate. DO NOT EAT in the Italian restraunt. 2 out of our 4 orders were barely edible and that was after sending them back.Cold and very, very salty! Steak was okay there. The Asian eatery, was excellent and the portions were huge! We actually split 2 meals between the 4 of us. Watch your check out bill!!!!!! There were things on both of our bills that were not ours, and we're not talking 1-2$ but 45+. So make sure you check it closely. The consierge were very informative and more than happy to help you. They were the best part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lobij
Business
Southern CT
Apr 22, 2009

Not a chance we'll go back to this place

Although aesthetically gorgeous, the Gran Melia tries too hard to be something it's not--a luxury resort. The restaurant "Pasion" is touted as true Criolla cuisine and was recommended our first night in, when we specifically requested something easy and reasonable. It took at least 20 minutes to get drinks, and our waiter was distracted all night long by other things as he tried to tend to us. Two main courses, two appetizers, and two hours later our total bill was $200. We realized then that we would need to consider other options for meals if we didn't want to leave Puerto Rico broke. Having said that, we went to the grocery the next day to buy snacks and drinks for the room, as well as real milk for coffee. Upon return with our shopping bags we were stopped by a security guard who told us we weren't allowed to bring any food/drink in from the outside. What!?! We were charged over $16/day to park at the resort. This was not communicated to us prior to arrival, unless I missed it somewhere in the small print. In our room water pressure in the shower disappeared on our second day, and we had to move to another room. Although it was an upgrade to an ocean view room, which was nice, it was still an inconvenience. One bedside lamp in the new room didn't work, and the air conditioning wouldn't set to a comfortable level. Even when the thermostat read 76 it felt like 65. If we turned it off completely the room got too warm. One night in the casino we lost electricity completely. We didn't stick around to get our money back out of the machine, but staff say power was only down 20 minutes. The pool was terrific in size and features but far from relaxing. Competing music from the pool bar and recreation hut resulted in headaches every day and made reading poolside a near impossibility. We thought we could escape to the beach and relax seaside, however there were only a few feet of sand between the lawn area and sea. Entrance to the ocean was rocky and grassy and hardly appealing, so we chose the loud pool area or an off-property location instead. We enjoyed PR, but wouldn't recommend the Gran Melia. Next time we'll do our homework before we book a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss an evening paddle to the bio-luminescent bay in Fajardo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raynham Ma
Mar 17, 2009

The Hotel was nice but.....

Help was slow....everyone there goes at a slow pase and it takes so long to get anything....they don't even try to look like their fast.....Borning nothing to do...the hotel is nice but $$$$$$ for food and most resturants were not open...if you are looking for rest its a good place but no night life or even close to the hotel this was my 2nd trip there and the first was much much better...I will not go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Richies Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
May 20, 2009

Not what I expected.

It certainly wasn't the hotel's fault, but it rained EVERY DAY we were there. I felt like all of the restaurants/bars in the resort were way overpriced. There were fees like paying for parking, which we had no idea about--but if you didn't rent a car, you had to pay $50-100 for shuttles anywhere. The concierge was not helpful with helping us find something to fill our rainy days--it always seemed like they were trying to sell you something. The pool was beautiful and nice to swim in, even in cloudy weather, but the beach was pitiful. There was about 6 feet of sand you didn't want to lay on, no waves, and lizards everywhere! We had a nice amount of space in our room, great air-conditioning, and the housekeeping staff kept our room really clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We hiked through the El Yunque rain forest, which was close, free, and fun! We also drove into San Juan and found some great restaurants (only about 30 min drive).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 30, 2009

Beautiful but deceiving

Bottom line...beautiful resort, but everything was a hassle. You NEED a rental car to do anything. This is not a hotel where you can walk down and just go down to the foyer or parking lot. You need someone to take you on a golf cart to and from your room to the main building. If you plan on staying at the resort only, you will be fine..however, you really cant swim because the water has a barriers of plants you have to wade through. We weren't able to check in fast, took 45 minutes with FOUR people in front of us. Then, when we got to the desk, they informed us that we would have to put 900 dollars (150/night) as a deposit. We didn't have a card to hold that after we rented a car, etc. So we finally convinced them to let us stay with $100 deposit on a debit. We experienced a lot of discrimination as americans (even though this IS a part of the U.S.)...it was just a really bad trip. I could not possibly write all of the things that went wrong. We will NEVER visit that island again! The one thing I will recommend is El Yunque Rainforest, but not on a weekend. We hiked to the top. Also, we took an 8 seater plane to Culebra Island for $65 round trip...well worth it. Flamenco Bay, though beautiful was so crowded...no relaxation. I DO NOT recommend this place. They make it sound so wonderful. If you don't speak some spanish, you will have a hard time in this country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Air Flamenco $65 round trip on 8 seater plane. 15 minutes vs. the ferry which is ROUGH and takes an hour and 45 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top