$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibUsa Trip
Aldie,VA
Sep 29, 2012

Great Anniversary trip

Gran Melia is tucked away four miles down a beautiful drive through a golf course. Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff who want to make sure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing, breakfast is worth every penny and the Red Level upgrade is great for the value but the resort treats all its guest with the same level courtesy. Golf carts are always running and picking up guest. We've stayed at other resorts but this was the best. Beyond great service, we felt at home and comfortable. I would stay here again on my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

El Verde BBQ If you want good inexpensive food and to taste some PR food to there. It's a good hole in the wall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tough Mudder participant
Business
Arlington, VA
Mar 15, 2014

Winter getaway to paradise

The hotel was absolutely fantastic. The location was between both El Yunque/farjado and Old San Juan so it was perfect for us with a rental car. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful and the grounds are kept impeccably clean. Everything was 5 stars, with a big exception for the food and beverage service at the lobby bar, wet bar in the pool, and beachside restaurant. The staff in those places wouldn't acknowledge you for a very long time and did not seem motivated to provide good service. Our solution was to buy beer and liquor at the nearby Walgreens and explore restaurants in other areas of the island which worked great. The exception of the poor service was the absolutely amazing reception, parking staff, front desk concierge and brunch staff at Cafe Soleil. All in all this place is a paradise though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food shacks (kioscos) at Luquillo beach are delicious and right on the beach. Plenty of variety and a lot cheaper than restaurants in Old and New San Juan. Kioscos numbered 2, 24, and 25 are amazing! It's a perfect location Togo to after hiking to the peak of El Yunque! Also - Costas MIa restaurant in Farjado by Seven Seas beach was great, best mofongo of the trip and $6 frozen cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David From Statefarm
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 14, 2014

Great Resort!!!!

Me and my wife decided on this resort with the flip of a coin. It was a great pic. We were skeptical bc of the reviews but the staff was very friendly and it's an exceptional place. The one and only downfall is that it is on a resort community, so if you plan on leaving the resort just rent a car bc taxi's can get pretty expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can leave the resort and find great local food and gift at the kiosk stands about 15 mind away from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina m d
Business
Ny, ny
Mar 13, 2014

Nice but bad food

The hotel is really clean and nice. Their beach is man made which didn't bother us. Water is calm and refreshing. We put our beach chairs directly in the water. The days were relaxing and amazing. Food by pool was decent. The options for dinner were limited to 4 restaurants. They were overpriced and awful. If you do come here, I recommend u eat a big breakfast n fill up at lunch. Dinner will disappoint every time. The staff at the resort were all extremely nice. If u like to eat on vacation, this isn't for u. If u just want to lay in the sun for a reasonable price, then this place is for u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stacey22
Business
NYC
Mar 4, 2014

Beware!

We got bit by bed bugs in our room... Switched rooms and continued to get eaten alive... It seemed that a lot of people had the same problem. Staff were friendly, but not given the tools necessary to address any issues. It took forever to check in, and waited multiple hours to switch rooms. Service and at the pool restaurant was slow.... Like really really painfully slow... Gorgeous property but not run well at all. Concierge was great though...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El verde on route 3!!! Food you'd get at a locals house.. Sooo good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GgHoff
Business
Boston
Feb 25, 2014

Winter school vacation week w/ Kids

Frustrating, would not return. The pool area was great provided you can actually secure chairs, umbrellas, reserve-bali beds, towels etc. (let the jockeying games begin as soon as you arrive) The property and grounds are pleasing. The beach/water views are great but the beach itself is limited in terms of sand and open areas to lay down/walk/swim/wade. The food averaged a 3 star rating at best across the 3 reservation only dinner restaurants. (don't expect to have dinner when you arrive or if you don't make reservations the day before even though there are always open tables in plain view. (We observed that complaining works if you're up for being that guy/gal) Some of the staff were terrific but most were just there to get the job done and worst of all there were too many workers that provided bad service w/ an attitude. Leadership/Management has understaffed the property in all areas. The management staff (& guests) spend a lot of time comping guest for mistakes/oversights that should never happen and can be avoided. Rooms are adequately appointed. Our second room (yes we had to move after the first night) was better than the first but things were still not right. (lights out, bathroom fan not working, toilet handle hanging, shower curtain was moldy, water leaking from windows, air unit was loud. All tolled disappointing first trip to what I believe to be a beautiful island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Somebunny
Business
Massachusetts
Feb 25, 2014

Quick Family Getaway

Beautiful resort, easy drive from airport, courteous staff and large rooms. We stayed at the red level and were pleased with the breakfast, happy hour and private pool with Bali beds. We didn't use the main pool or the many amenities that were offered as we wanted to just relax. We did eat at the Nami Asian Bistro (outside above the Koi pond) which had a wonderful atmosphere. The food was very good but pricey. The mixed drinks were tasty but absent of alcohol. Stick to the wine and local beer. The beach was rocky but the water was warm and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Red Level well worth the money for the breakfast buffet (lots of yummy options) and happy hour alone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fun in PR
Business
NY.NY
Feb 10, 2014

Fun with hidden parking fees!

Hotel was clean, attractive. Pool lining looked dirty. Hotel charges $16/day to park your car onsite, no budging!!! Its a trap to get you rent on site for $100/day. Theres no parking near the room buildings so there are golf carts moving people constantly- noisy and smelly when you want to take a stroll. Sidewalks can be very slippery!!! Location is remote, on beach, near golf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oz Pearlman
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 28, 2014

Beware of Bug Bites & Terrible Food

What a shame having to go to a beach that you can't swim in. It is rocky and seaweedy and the sign clearly says no swimming...does that mean I can't complain about it? What a shame everything I ate there taste like pre-cooked, sitting in a fridge for a few days then got microwaved...nothing tasted fresh. Only breakfast buffet was edible because that omelette was prepared right in front of me. I gave up and rented a car just to eat out. I saw 1 or 2 ants on the bed and didn't think much of it. Every day I woke up with a new bug bite. By the third and final night I had about 20 bug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALBERT 01
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 23, 2014

GREA T VACATION

THE HOTEL CLEAN NICE THE POOL AREA VERY NICE THE ROOM NEW VERY NICE BUT MY ROOM FAR FROM THE LOBBY THE CAUSE TO WALK TO LONG MAKE ME HAVE LEG CRAMPS AT NIGHT BUT IN GENERAL EVERY THING ABOUT THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lori. R
Business
Socorro NM
Jan 1, 2014

Do not stay here

I would not recommend staying here. There is one bar. The restaurants are overpriced. The service is bad. Do not stay here unless you rent a car. Beware of the no see bugs that will eat you alive. The pools do not have adequate seating. They have towel and ice chest security. They do everything possible to make your stay quite miserable. If you do not have a car you will feel trapped. If you do not have a reservation you will not eat. Excursions and taxis are redicilous. Golf is at least 200.00 per person. Bad expirence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top