$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
629 reviews
Gorgeous and Relaxing!

The views at this resort are gorgeous! I had the RedLevel experience, all of the staff was so... See full review

  • Lizeth C.
  • Dec 19, 2014
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (629)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi town Newly weds
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 29, 2013

Mini honeymoon

We had a wonderful time as the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Red level service is the absolute way to go and worth the additional cost as it makes your trip that much more relaxing and basically pays for itself with all the upgrades. Breakfast was excellent, other food options we good but not great. Upgrading food would make this place superb! We had a great time and would recommend staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 25, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel was beautiful grounds very clean .no swimming beach at all very disaponted beach resort dont think so.food a joke very expencive and not enough.I travel 6 times a year I don't mind paying the price but leave me full.pools were great.night time hotel beautiful candles at night very nice.rent a car!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Family Love
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 21, 2013

Family Getaway

I was excited about going to this hotel, but was disappointed when I realized that it was 40 miles from San Juan. Therefore, the cost to take a trip to San Juan from the hotel cost $45-65 each person. We traveled with two children and the cost to do the excursions was too expensive. I paid for the Red Level experience, which includes butler service, cabana bed, private pool, and free breakfast and happy hour. The butler service was a joke, because each time you called for one no one was available. The bungalow we stayed in was far from the main building and pool, and it was impossible to get transportation without hailing a golf cart as you are walking. There was only one washcloth , two hand towels, and three bath towels on Day One. We called for additional towels, but did not receive them till Day Three. The drinks in the happy hour was good, but the food was not. The food was only for one hour. I recommend that it is for a minimum of two hours and better food. The authentic Puerto Rican restaurant, Passion was fantastic and the Nami Asia is delicious. The Italian restaurant Temp was not delicious. My children ordered pasta alfredo pasta was $17 and it was bland. I ordered the parmesiana for $22 and it was gross. The chicken was tough. The Nami Asia restaurant could be more affordable, but it was better tasting. There is only one large pool for the children and family to swim in and there are no slides. But, my children loved it due to the cabana bed. There are no children activities. My biggest disappointment was the beach. It was rocky and seaweed is prominently in the water. It is definitely not a beach, because there is no sand. Therefore, the kids could not make sand castles. I definitely think the resort is beautiful and serene. The customer service needs improvement and there should be better options for Red Level guests. I wish there were more activities for the kids and this is a disappointment. Normally, a resort has so many attractions there is no need to leave. I can not blame the hotel entirely, because I should have did better research and discovered it was far away from San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Passion Restaurant was superb. It is a must visit!! The food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 13, 2013

aniversary

Very nice hotel friendly staff.The only complaint food extremly expensive.there is no beach to swim why go to a beach resort and can't swim.just to see ocean not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey123chacon
Business
Caguas, PR
Jun 11, 2013

Chacon Family trip

Excellent experience!! service was great and facilities are in great shape. Only downfall is pricing on food. At the end of the day, we payed more for the food than we did for the stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taurence
Business
North Carolina
Jun 8, 2013

Perfect Getaway

Upon arrival at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico we were greeted with friendly and courteous hotel staff who helped us unload our vehicle and shuttled us over to your room. You do have to pay for parking on site that isn't told to you up front. We ended up paying $65 for a whole week. They also put a hold on your credit card so be aware when booking this resort. The room was well laid out and equipped with a mini fridge along with a beautiful garden view. The resort is also located on Coco Beach which is beautiful and has hammocks everywhere to lounge around in. The pool is enormous and has 4 whirlpools inside of it. There is also a poolside bar you can swim up to and order drinks. The resort is minutes away from the El Yunque National Forest. The only bad thing about this resort is it is expensive to eat so I recommend eating off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the shuttle drivers recommend Don Pepe Restaurant and it was the best Mexican food I have ever tasted. You have to try it if your in Rio Grande.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATL Caribbean Princess
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2013

Excellent Choice!!

This resort gets all 5's from me. Great people, fabulously beautiful resort (the most romantic place I have been and I have seen a lot!), affordable and even the food was great. The only negative is the beach is full of rocks, however you can drive 5 mins down the road and there is a better beach that all the locals use. I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have to try Pasion restaurant. Everything they served was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy1976
Business
Topsham, Maine
Jun 4, 2013

Family Getway

We stayed at the Gran Melia for 5 nights/6 days. Our room was an oceanfront suite with a hot tub on the patio. I was traveling with my wife and two children ages 7 and 10. We found the room to be very clean. The only complaint my wife had with the room was that we didn't have wash clothes the last 3 days. The room was cleaned twice a day and they also checked each night around 9pm to see if we needed anything. We were red level guests and I would recommend that you upgrade to that, what you get is 20% off all meals, free beer and wine between 3-6 at the red level lounge, free bali beds (which are awesome) and a couple other things. The only restaurant that we didn't eat at was Passion, and that is only because I didn't bring any dress pants. The Asian restaurant was great which we went to twice. The pasta and steak restaurant, I found the food to be very good, however the hostess was very rude. She asked if we had a reservation, which we did not and then rolled her eyes. I told her that I could clearly see that there were plenty of tables available (at least 15). She decided to seat us and didn't give the kids any menus. I spoke to our waitress about this and she said that we don't have a kids menu. I never asked for a kids menu and my kids can order off of the regular menu. Then once we did order she offered the kids different things that weren't on the menu and it only cost $8.00 per child. I believe they are trying to be a five star restaurant but are not even close to that, however the food was good. Breakfast was amazing and they have a very good selection at the buffet. The pool restaurant was good and the bar's drink prices are right in line with resort prices. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. There are hammocks all over the beach to find a relaxing place to hangout. The golf course was beautiful and in great shape. I got to enjoy two rounds at the Championship course. The pool is huge and amazing. The only other place I have stayed in Puerto Rico is the Ritz Carleton. When comparing the two I would have to say that the Gran Melia is the better place to stay for families. The only negative mark was the one at the restaurant other than that we had an awesome time and enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngryLOCAL
Business
San juan PR
Jun 2, 2013

Big deception weekend at EL Grand Melia , Rio Grande

One hour waiting for two rooms after check-in sharp at 3:00 PM and the minimum information from the front desk personnel about the status of the rooms and “Resort” amenities. That was the beginning of my family experience at El Gran Melia Rio Grande Puerto Rico. Smelly rooms and air conditioners that never work properly (the cable TV did not work neither) was the second part of my experience but the worst part was the unprofessional employee without good manners asking when we leaving so they can start cleaning the room and that were at 10:00 AM two hours before regular check-out, they never made my family feel welcome. The pool was a disaster at 8:20 AM trash everywhere beer cans, cigarette and food around. My daughter hurt her knees with the expose cement in the bottom of the pool surface, clearly lack of maintenance. The best part was left behind the worst weekend ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conquistador Hotel o RioMar never in Melia

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BK Mom n Dad
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 1, 2013

Awesome family vacation

We loved this place. My kid had a great time at the pool. Loved the staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top