$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocstar
Business
Rio Grande
Apr 1, 2014

Great family vacation getaway

I had a lovely time at the resort some great people I encountered with. Pleasant staff.clean hotel gorgeous view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Its called Luquillo Kiosks its jus a few minutes from the resort food there was awesome and the people were very nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea Pool Bum
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2014

Spring Break '14

I, like a few others was a little worried about what would happen once I checked into this hotel based off of other reviews. I was more than pleasantly surprised by what I experienced during my stay at Gran Melia. 1- I arrived at 1:00 pm, two hours earlier than their check-in time of 3:00 pm. I was assuming that I would have to wait a bit before being able to check in but instead, had a hassle-free check-in process and was quickly situated in my room. 2- The rooms! My friends and I booked two separate rooms, one with a king bed and one with two doubles. The villas are gorgeous! Each room is situated within a larger 'villa' giving it a more communal vibe, and really scaling down the breadth of this resort so it does not feel so overwhelming. The one I was situated in was facing the beach, and every night we had the best views of a moon-soaked ocean and it was beautiful. The rooms were huge and would be mini-suites in other hotels. It was really nice to have a seating area and balcony. 3- Service for me was pretty good. I could see that they were a little understaffed (it would take a small army to run this place, it is so big) but they did everything possible to accommodate my requests. 4-I am a pool person not so much a beach goer, so I really enjoyed the built-in seats partially submerged in the pool which are perfect for spending a whole day sunbathing. There were plenty of them too, so it was never as if I had to rush to get to one before anyone else did. The beach is not the best, so we went outside to nearby Luquillo which is a beautiful public beach with the softest sand. It was nice to get out of the resort, so I did not mind at all but if you want somewhere with a gorgeous beach this is not the place for you. 5- I had a late flight out, and I went to the front desk at 10am to ask if I could have a delayed check out time. Without too much fuss, my checkout time was moved from 12pm to 2pm which took a lot of stress off with hurrying to pack and what to do with my luggage for half a day. I would definitely come back to Gran Melia. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you are planning to ever leave the hotel. Cab rides are not cheap here and the resort is very remote from the main attractions in Puerto Rico. Splitting the cost between 4 people came out much cheaper than if we had taken cab rides everywhere and was much more convenient for our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy's happy too
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 25, 2014

Ok...but

The hotel was nice in general. Great location and nice features, but the food is extremely pricey, and even if you tip the servers they still charge a 17% gratuity to your total, as well as a service fee. The drinks were high as well but towards the end of the stay we found a liquor store on the other side of the resort. The room was nice but the throw pillows were dirty and the sofa sleeper in the room was stained. The hotel grounds however was very scenic, and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duubg
Business
Missouri
Mar 24, 2014

Great vacation

We had a wonderful time the cost of tours were high so we went out got a rental and found the places saved 50% of tour cost. It was lovely the staff was friendly and overall we will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out and mingle and the locals will tell you places to go find the tour spots yourself and never allow them to take you go there and it will be fun and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents with Mom and dad
Business
London
Mar 24, 2014

OverPriced But Worth The View

The Hotel is Nice Great restaurants and Lovely Beach .We reserved the Red Level Room the perk was that the breakfast is included that saved us a lot of money for a Family of four .And the private pool nice and quiet For a week Spring Break stay its worth it Otherwise it would be expensive to pay $100.00 every morning .We ate out for the most Part .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Before Coming to Puerto Rico Make your excursion reservations in Advance The Ladies at the Hotel are not helpful at all .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexis Nicole
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 23, 2014

Ultimate Relaxation Resort

From check in to check out, this resort was the ultimate relaxation for myself and my friend! The staff was great and all the amenities at the resort were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bombshellsalon
Business
Florida
Mar 18, 2014

Beware no staff unfriendly. Poor service

I agree with the poor revies.Red Level does not happen here.It seems like nobody works here. After reading the bad reviews I was optimistic because the grounds are beautiful. Service is a joke here and nobody is around to help. Please book a different hotel.I called ahead to tell them it was our anniversary and i was worried about the reviews.THEY ASSURED ME NOT TO WORRY.. WELL LADIES IM WORRIED.. THANKS GOT FOR THE POOL, DRINKS AND OUR SENSE OF HUMOR.. UGHHHHHHH... Pathetic.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bes2360
Business
Bay Shore, New York
Mar 17, 2014

All you need and more!!!

The location was absolutely amazing.. Beach front with pool access at all times! My children and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Customer service was exceptional. The attention to detail by the employees was impeccable! Family Friendly environment.. Can't wait to go back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For familes on a budget, local restaurants are nearby to enjoy a delicious yet affordable family dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RT22
Business
Hartford CT
Mar 16, 2014

Great for lazing about with friends

Positives: Pleasant rooms, pleasant setting, pleasant pool (reserve a Bali bed between the pool and ocean for a day; bring a scrabble board), hammocks and chairs along water capture breezes and shade of palm trees. Not far from San Juan, El Yunque and bio bay (best to have access to car for outings and meals). Negatives: Staffing, though friendly, was insufficient and did not always have follow-through. No beach to speak of for swimming or walking. Dining on site is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jah Darren
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

away from the snow getaway

Very beautiful place but the resort have a lot of hidden fees that the resort DON'T tell you about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared to pay 100$ a day resort deposit + if you rent a car they charge 16$ a day for parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top