$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
623 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (623)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darig44
Phoenix
Nov 4, 2012

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

It was Awesome. Very clean and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The kiosk center heading towards Luquillo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicoleandJay
Business
Chicago, il
May 25, 2013

AC broken

We upgraded to a better room and the AC was broken. We ended up having to pack up and move to a different room and no one accomidated us. I don't think we would stay there again, although, the island is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Passion was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 28, 2013

If you want a Vacation, DON'T stay here!!!

We had a total of 4 families staying here and from the very beginning our problems began. First of all we requested a double bed with a tub for my toddlers and ended up getting a room for the disabled with no tub. The 1st night we must have asked for ice 4 times because their 5 machines where all out and never got the ice. The sheets in the hotel where stained and the room smelled like mold. One of my other family members requested a crib and a roll away bed for their rooms and that never made it to the rooms. when i tried bringing milk to the hotel for my little ones I was told by security that I wasn't allowed to bring food from outside. I also had to complain to the manager for not doing any housekeeping in any of the 4 rooms the first 2 nights. I got to say that the hotel itself is beautiful but the service is not worth the price. Thanks to this hotel and their service, I will not be staying at any Gran Melia again. It's obvious that the employees hate their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at Guavate. The ambiance is amazing. There's a bad playing while you eat next to the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 29, 2013

Worst experience we've ever had

We stayed at this hotel and I got to say that the amount you pay is definitely not worth it. We booked 4 rooms and all rooms had issues. First of when we checked in they didn't have the rooms we had requested with double beds so they offered us a crib and roll away bed instead. Needless to say we never got the crib nor the roll away. We had 3 toddlers in the family and needed ice for their milk...we checked their 5 ice machines and non had ice so I called to request ice, but again never got it. The rooms smelled like mold and the housekeeping was another problem. It's sad to see that this hotel's employees are miserable working here as they never said hi to us or offered to help. When we wanted to go to the lobby we literally had to stalk one of their employees to give us a ride to the front which happened to be a long walk. The hotel is beautiful but their service and dis-organization is not worth the hassle. If you have little ones DON'T stay here. I brought milk for my toddlers and was told by security that I couldn't bring outside food. After arguing with the security and management they finally give me the ok to bring the milk. Stay away if you plan on enjoying your vacation. My in-laws are timeshare owners and will not be using this timeshare ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackie from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 17, 2013

Not a great experience

The facility seemed kept, but there the pool needs maintenance (painting...) as well as the rooms. We moved to 3 different rooms, two of the were not well kept.. The was a strong moldy smell on the 2nd one and the 3rd. one had a toilet that didn't work. LOCATION: The food is extremely expensive $$$ and there is NOTHING around, except an impoverished city, where not many would not want to eat. Driving all the way to san Juan is about 40-45 mins. depending on traffic. The restaurants at the hotel are nice, but expensive, about $23/pp for a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eni the traveler
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2013

Trip to PR

The amenities were Ok, nothing special. I usually stay at the Wydham but wanted to check out another place since we were going to a weeding near that area and the stay was disappointing. The sofa was stained, floor needed sweeping, the balcony was dirty and the bathroom could use scrubbing. They did not have a whirlpool or hot Jacuzzi in the pool area, only in the spa indoors. The beach area was not very good either, the chairs need upgrading. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kiosko had delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubygeo
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

No worth the money

The room was beautiful but the staff needs improvement. Maid kept leaving dirty glasses in the room, not refilling soaps or emptying the ice bucket, etc...didn't change sheets daily as we were told they would. The food was over priced for the portion and taste. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 6, 2011

NOT WORTH IT!!!!!

Do Not Stay at this Hotel unless you want to get ripped off, Do not Stay at this Hotel if You plan to explore Puerto Rico. Just Finished up my 5 Day 4 Night Venture and God am I Lucky i Had the Sense to rent a car because if i didnt i would have had the worse time. This Resort, First of all is loaded with kids so if you plan on relaxing and being with a significant other forget it!! 2nd They charge for Everything!!! When you get there you have to pay $100 for each night in which you are there. Everything is overpriced and this is coming from a person who lives in Manhattan (exa room service for a pizza is $17 plus $3 dollars for them to bring it up and that's not including tip REALLY BUDDY!!!!!) 3rd The Beach Sucks, its filled with Rocks and Pebbles and there is absolutely no where in which you can swim. 4th The Food now, i cant comment on all the restaurants however i can on the pas'ion, THIS RESTAURANT SUCKS it claims authentic "Puerto Rican Food" I had better on a truck in East Harlem Ny. This place was so bad, the service was slow and the food looked and tasted like puke!! Your best Bet is to go to the kiosks in Loquillo. This Hotel is not worth it, stay somewhere else if you want to see El Yunke, Loquillo or going to Vieques(which is Beautiful) all I can say is Thank God i Had a Car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hola coquis amigo
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Housekeeping concerns; noisey.

Sight see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need to venture off grounds for variety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 16, 2007

Disappointed

Starting on a positive note....staff were very friendly which was helpful as their knowledge was severely lacking. Would take two or three people to answer a simple question. Very...stress....very poor dining options. Nothing on the beach...no food, no snacks only an indoor full buffet! At night no more than two restaurants at a resort that indicated 5 on the site and the Tuscano Italian was abysml. I hope once you fully transition from all inclusive things improve...I just would not return based on our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is NOTHING NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DMV
Apr 2, 2010

Over priced

When we arrived at the airport is when our adventure to Gran Melia started. I had found out ahead of time about the expensive transfer to the hotel ($35 pp) so I had decided that we would just catch a cab. We come outside of the airport and there is a man there waiting asking if you need a cab and we see a line of people waiting also for cabs...only when it's our turn he hands us a sheet with set prices, which I find to be very strange. The trip was only a 20-30 minute ride tops, and the ripoff begins. We get to the hotel and it's beautiful..so I'm happy for the moment. The grounds, lobby area all beautiful. Satff super friendly and accomodating. We get to our room and it smells very musty..lol What to do? The couple beneath us complaining about the same smell. Ok, so I think let me just get my bathing suit and get to the beach....I'm sorry, there is no beach. So don't come looking for one. Man made with large boulders/rocks, sea weed and sand. You will have to leave the resort property and go to a public beach.(Drive off the property will take 7-10 mins) But there are no shortage of chairs to lay out on and the views are beautiful, just no useable beach. Next there are 5 restaurants and all pricey and long waits for food. First night we waited an hour for our dinner and the table next to us who did have a reservation never got their food. They were not happy, crying children who were hungry and tired of waiting also. At times I wanted to cry..lol Oh, and don't think about bringing any food to your room from outside, it's not allowed. Don't try and use the refrigerator that is only for their products and if you remove anything from the refrigerator your room will automatically be charged for that item. Read everything that you see. Local calls are not free either. Rent your car from them, at the hotel or else you will pay a daily fee of $27.00 for having an outside car. If you get it from the hotel the daily fee is waived but their rate is higher. I was so fed up with all the charges for everything by the time I left I was exhausted. I might want to go back and see about the royal service that they offered. Maybe it is the way to go when staying at the Gran Melia! I will give them one more try but I know all the tricks now. The tours we had were very nice. We did the ATV which my son loved and we toured Old San Juan which was also nice. You just need to know what you are getting into before you get there. I did say maybe:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top