$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
726 out of 726
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a real honest guy
Business
hallandale
Jan 14, 2013

nice photo shop and way to expensive

This hotel is very remote from anything. to go to a resaurant one must take a 20us$ cab ride there and a 20us$ cab ride back. the food on site is not that great and is extemely expesive. ie a fried fish is 38us$ a day you have to spend around 100-150us$ per person to eat there, The bar tender doesnt know how to mix drinks well and after 12 the bar closes. the rooms are like .5 miles from the main lobby. the supposed garden view is two cocnut trees and a bunch of bushes. th beaches are full of sharp rocks, the supposed ive music was a broke DJ who close up at 1130.if you open the refrigerator in the room they charge you. there is no microwave. there was garbage in our hallway including balls of hair, dust balls, and pizza boxes. There is nothing to do but bake in the sun, swim in the pool, and spend lots of lots of money on thier over priced food. the people there are so unwilling to help you. especially in the restaurants...we left after our 2nd day went over to the marriot in condado and had a blast. I dont know how grand melia is anything more than a two star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go somewhere else... ie the marriot or la concha. geez this place is boooooring. unless you love to golf i guess.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enjoy to travel
Business
Grand Melia Resort, PR
Jan 14, 2013

Rooms need some cleaning

Resort is beautiful. We enjoyed all restaurants, pool and beach. About the room, closet looked like they hadn't been clean for months. The small fridge in the room was stinking. We asked them to clean, but never got clean. (We stayed in the hotel for five full days.) When you travel with little kid, these small things are big. If you exclude the room, we had wonderful time at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Housewife
Business
San Juan Puerto Rico
Mar 20, 2013

Getaway

The staff was helpful but they didn't go out of their way. The bar waitresses were ok. The people at the pool bar were not friendly at all. When we were lying at the pool we felt that someone should have been coming around asking if we wanted a drink but you had to goto them. The food was good but VERY EXPENSIVE! I don't think that we will be going back to that resort. The beach was horrible very rocky. No place to lie in the sand. In the water it was also very rocky. Very dissapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to a fast food place or supermarket to get food. Also go to a liquor store to by alcohol. Save $$ that way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicoleandJay
Business
Chicago, il
May 25, 2013

AC broken

We upgraded to a better room and the AC was broken. We ended up having to pack up and move to a different room and no one accomidated us. I don't think we would stay there again, although, the island is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Passion was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 28, 2013

If you want a Vacation, DON'T stay here!!!

We had a total of 4 families staying here and from the very beginning our problems began. First of all we requested a double bed with a tub for my toddlers and ended up getting a room for the disabled with no tub. The 1st night we must have asked for ice 4 times because their 5 machines where all out and never got the ice. The sheets in the hotel where stained and the room smelled like mold. One of my other family members requested a crib and a roll away bed for their rooms and that never made it to the rooms. when i tried bringing milk to the hotel for my little ones I was told by security that I wasn't allowed to bring food from outside. I also had to complain to the manager for not doing any housekeeping in any of the 4 rooms the first 2 nights. I got to say that the hotel itself is beautiful but the service is not worth the price. Thanks to this hotel and their service, I will not be staying at any Gran Melia again. It's obvious that the employees hate their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at Guavate. The ambiance is amazing. There's a bad playing while you eat next to the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 29, 2013

Worst experience we've ever had

We stayed at this hotel and I got to say that the amount you pay is definitely not worth it. We booked 4 rooms and all rooms had issues. First of when we checked in they didn't have the rooms we had requested with double beds so they offered us a crib and roll away bed instead. Needless to say we never got the crib nor the roll away. We had 3 toddlers in the family and needed ice for their milk...we checked their 5 ice machines and non had ice so I called to request ice, but again never got it. The rooms smelled like mold and the housekeeping was another problem. It's sad to see that this hotel's employees are miserable working here as they never said hi to us or offered to help. When we wanted to go to the lobby we literally had to stalk one of their employees to give us a ride to the front which happened to be a long walk. The hotel is beautiful but their service and dis-organization is not worth the hassle. If you have little ones DON'T stay here. I brought milk for my toddlers and was told by security that I couldn't bring outside food. After arguing with the security and management they finally give me the ok to bring the milk. Stay away if you plan on enjoying your vacation. My in-laws are timeshare owners and will not be using this timeshare ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackie from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 17, 2013

Not a great experience

The facility seemed kept, but there the pool needs maintenance (painting...) as well as the rooms. We moved to 3 different rooms, two of the were not well kept.. The was a strong moldy smell on the 2nd one and the 3rd. one had a toilet that didn't work. LOCATION: The food is extremely expensive $$$ and there is NOTHING around, except an impoverished city, where not many would not want to eat. Driving all the way to san Juan is about 40-45 mins. depending on traffic. The restaurants at the hotel are nice, but expensive, about $23/pp for a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eni the traveler
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2013

Trip to PR

The amenities were Ok, nothing special. I usually stay at the Wydham but wanted to check out another place since we were going to a weeding near that area and the stay was disappointing. The sofa was stained, floor needed sweeping, the balcony was dirty and the bathroom could use scrubbing. They did not have a whirlpool or hot Jacuzzi in the pool area, only in the spa indoors. The beach area was not very good either, the chairs need upgrading. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kiosko had delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubygeo
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

No worth the money

The room was beautiful but the staff needs improvement. Maid kept leaving dirty glasses in the room, not refilling soaps or emptying the ice bucket, etc...didn't change sheets daily as we were told they would. The food was over priced for the portion and taste. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 6, 2011

NOT WORTH IT!!!!!

Do Not Stay at this Hotel unless you want to get ripped off, Do not Stay at this Hotel if You plan to explore Puerto Rico. Just Finished up my 5 Day 4 Night Venture and God am I Lucky i Had the Sense to rent a car because if i didnt i would have had the worse time. This Resort, First of all is loaded with kids so if you plan on relaxing and being with a significant other forget it!! 2nd They charge for Everything!!! When you get there you have to pay $100 for each night in which you are there. Everything is overpriced and this is coming from a person who lives in Manhattan (exa room service for a pizza is $17 plus $3 dollars for them to bring it up and that's not including tip REALLY BUDDY!!!!!) 3rd The Beach Sucks, its filled with Rocks and Pebbles and there is absolutely no where in which you can swim. 4th The Food now, i cant comment on all the restaurants however i can on the pas'ion, THIS RESTAURANT SUCKS it claims authentic "Puerto Rican Food" I had better on a truck in East Harlem Ny. This place was so bad, the service was slow and the food looked and tasted like puke!! Your best Bet is to go to the kiosks in Loquillo. This Hotel is not worth it, stay somewhere else if you want to see El Yunke, Loquillo or going to Vieques(which is Beautiful) all I can say is Thank God i Had a Car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top