$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galina04
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 13, 2014

Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was great, with nice balcony. The only thing i did not like this resort has a very small beach. and the ocean is not clean. we could only swill few steps away, but we did diving and my husband loved it. The ice in the resort is really a problem. It was always empty. All stuff was nice, thought majority know only Spanish, but this is not a problem they could still understand you. No other charges. we were afraid that the resort will charge us resort fee, but there was zero.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very close, walking distance! 5 different restaurants. Price acceptable.. If you can get the breakfast in the package take it. Otherwise you will pay 50$ if you want to get breakfast..

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shade Friday
Business
New York, NY
Jul 3, 2014

Poor experience

This hotel is extremely unorganized and not on top of house keeping. EVERY DAY I HAD TO CALL FOR WASH CLOTHES & TOWELS... The shower and toilets wasn't properly cleaned. The shower always still had hair after house keeping supposedly came to clean. They have excellent resturants on the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

RENT A CAR... Taxi Are expensive

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edub
Business
houston, texas
May 27, 2014

away from the action

i thought the hotel itself was nice. The food was really over priced and the location of the resort is an 80$ taxi ride to San Juan. If you want to just experience the resort life and thats it, this is your choice. Also, the hotel entertainment wasnt the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlyweds from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Ill
May 26, 2014

Our Honeymoon Vacation

The location is absolutely stunning. Beautiful golf course, the beach and pool areas are fabulous and the architecture and design of the hotel itself definitely impressed me. If you are looking for a quiet resort with just enough activity and restaurants, acess to local food and grocery stores its perfect. Friday was ouf last night and the lobby had a great DJ playing salsa and meringue... excellent. Most of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, some could use some customer service tips but overall i would most definitely go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I would definitely rent a car when you stay there. They have car rental facilities on site at the hotel. That way you can go and come as you please. San Juan is about 40 or so minutes from the hotel or you can take a tour there. We had a car so we could get to all of the attractions easily, the local food stands and grocery store.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEAN T.
Business
NEW YORK, NY
May 7, 2014

HORRIBLE (5/02/14)

WE ARRIVED AND UPGRADED TO RED LEVEL WASTE OF MONEY. FREE BREAKFAST IS OK BUT THE HAPPY HOUR IS A WASTE AND FOOD IS NASTY. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE NICE PICTURES OF THE GRAND POOL, IT IS OLD, THE TILE IS CHIPPED OFF AND YOU CAN FEEL THE CONCRETE IN BETWEEN YOUR TOES. AS FOR THE "BUTLER" SERVICE IT'S A WASTE AND DON'T EXPECT THEM TO EVER SHOW UP. FRONT DESK WORKERS SPEAK TO EACH OTHER AND COULD CARELESS THAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Duubg
Business
Missouri
Apr 30, 2014

wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the taco truck cheap and good. Restaurants cheap

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SKNinCNY
Business
Syracuse NY
Apr 26, 2014

Beautiful location and resort facilities

Stayed here with a group of extended family for 4 nights. Definitely recommend Red Level, was worth every penny. The resort and staff were fantastic, the only complaint we had was that when our room wasn't ready at check in, there was no follow up to let us know when the room was ready as was offered. We had to keep checking in, but during that time were offered the use of all resort facilities and had no real hardship! The location is somewhat remote (which is what we wanted) but is close to restaurants in Luquillo and Rio Grande, as well as San Juan, El Yunque, and the ferries at Fajardo for day trips, which was perfect for us. There is enough to do at the resort to stay busy for the whole visit, and enough space that it never felt really crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the kiosks as Luquillo to try some authentic Puerto Rican food at local (non-tourist) prices

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
London super mom
Business
Rio grande
Apr 24, 2014

Great for family get away

The hotel was flawless but it is extremely expensive being that it is so far from everything you are forced to dine and entertain yourself only on the resort. One drink cost me $25. The food wasn't great either. If you want good food you must leave the resort but also be willing to pay $40 round trip for a 10 min ride. Don't think I will return there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carmen hard worker
Business
new york
Apr 24, 2014

Disappointed

Well let me start off with service. We played extra for the red level experience and it was awfull. Service was slow and a few times we called for a pick up and we were left waiting. Sheets in the room were dirty and couch was beat up. We should have stayed in the basic rooms like we usually do. Pool service was excellent at the bar. Ilm think about staying there again as a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roberto C.
Business
New York
Apr 4, 2014

good getaway for family

I enjoyed my time at the gran melia although I feel that it is more family oriented. 30 minutes from san juan. I would stay there again but for a romantic trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top