$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darig44
Phoenix
Nov 4, 2012

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

It was Awesome. Very clean and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The kiosk center heading towards Luquillo.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
redr
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2012

Don't waste your money.

Rooms musty smelling, bedding poor. Beach is unimpressive. Food not that great and expensive. Hotel security wouldn't let me bring a six pack of beer onto the grounds as they do not allow any outside food or beverage - and they keep watch 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the local joints for cheap, better tasting food.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pauline Leslie
Business
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 22, 2012

The Dominican Republic does it better.

The Gran Melia is physically beautiful. It has a gorgeous beach and pool and the room we stayed in was gracious, spacious and comfortable. We went to Puerto Rico to play golf and relax. We left our room every morning at 7:30 and returned between 3-4 in the afternoon. Our room was rarely cleaned up by then. We chose to forgo expensive cab rides and eat on the premises. At all the restaurants the food was ridiculously expensive and not special in any way. The service was excruciatingly slow. One example of a restaurant experience we had: Everything was ala carte which is o.k., but my $13. salad had 9 pieces of lettuce, my $27. shrimp dish had 3 regular sized shrimp on it. There were no rolls or bread. I was still hungry when I finished dinner. To be honest, I think this place is in trouble. The casino closed down while we were there and the store was a sad little shop with expired newspapers and magazines, a small assortment of souvenirs, coffee, ice cream, weeks old baked goods, pork rinds, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbrelo
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Would have been nice to know the Casino was closed

Meh. The stay started off bad enough when we arrived to find that the Casino was closed and wasn't planning on reopening. Would have been nice to know that BEFORE we arrived. To make up for this, the staff recommended we take a $50 cab ride to the nearest open casino (Thanks!). Some members of our party complained and we were upgraded to "Red Level” which basically meant we could use a semi private pool (where they weren't checking wrist bands anyway) and free cocktails from 5-8. Problem was we later discovered this upgrade wasn't free and that we were charged $70 per room per night. Other than that, the restaurants were the standard overpriced tourist food types, the rooms were very far away from the main lobby, the funiture was dated, and the beach was nothing special. If I had to pick something nice, the proximity to El Yunque Park was nice. Won’t see me back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooners Spring 2012
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Apr 9, 2012

VERY MISLEADIDNG

This hotel it is very eye appealing but there are many hidden elements that almost ruined our honey moon not to mention all their hidden fees! Though our package purchased included "all fees & taxes" the hotel does not consider parking as a "fee" therefore expect to pay $20-25 additional a day to park, no exceptions! Also, there was broken glass swept under the bed, a dried blood stain on the comforter and our socks were black from walking barefoot in the room. Poor house keeping to say the least! After reporting the dirty bed linens to the 9AM housekeeper we did not get our new clean liens until 12:30AM that night after making THREE follow up phone calls to the front desk! The hotel is VERY far from anything and all of the food on site is incredibly over priced for what you get. We paid over $23 per person for a standard continental breakfast! Again, the resort has beautiful grounds & awesome beach access yet the poorest customer service I have ever seen. Every single time we asked an associate something we had to follow up by asking a second and sometimes a third associate, all of which provided us completely different answers! I will never be returning to this resort or any of their sister hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Vacation
Business
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Nice Hotel, Not so nice Staff

The hotel itself is beautiful and the pool is great. That's the good part. The rest of the story is the bad. The staff at the front desk were extremely rude. We got there late in the evening and we were informed that they didn't have our reservation. She finally took my confirmation number into the back room and came back 10 min later and said it was taken care of but that they still hadn't received their money. Then we were informed it cost $16.00 a day to park there. This hotel is out in the middle of nowhere with acres of open land and parking so why they make you pay to park is beyond me. I think it is because they want to penalize us for being smart and having a car so we won't have to pay the high prices to eat at their hotel. You are also not allowed to bring a cooler to your room to keep water or anything cold and no outside food of any kind allowed on the property. The choices of food on the property is limited and their little snack bar/souvenir shop is very overpriced. The first room we checked into was musty and smelled very bad. We asked to be moved which took another 45 min. and put us even further from the pool. The walk to the pool was 1/3 of a mile. They even have signs to let you know how far it is. You can wait for the cart shuttle or walk. Usually by the time we walked almost the entire way then a cart would go by. If we had not had a car to leave the property and experience Puetro Rico we would not want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple from Ohio
Business
Ohio, USA
Jul 28, 2012

Bad Location...Less than Expected Service

The location of the hotel was isolated...you are pretty much stuck on the hotel grounds with limited options to choose from in terms of food and beverage. Beach is not impressive...can't really swim in the ocean due to the sea grass; sand is rough and rocky. Service was way less than expected - very slow staff, not accommodating at the Pool Bar or the Mirador Grill - was told several times throughout the week that I could not get items on the menu because they would have to walk to the main building to get them (not a far walk...I was even willing to walk to the main building myself to get them!!). Stay away...I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Old San Juan because you have more options for food/beverage and activities throughout your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
najee
Business
Plainfield,nj
Aug 16, 2012

no kids allowed

The hotel itself I'd beautiful,however it did not meet my expectations in terms of child friendly activities..on the website they boast that they have kids friendly amenities such as kids play room and other activities.We were fooled. There is no game room for children nor were theRere any activities for children other than a rundown tennis table and pool table. The aqua activities are only there on weekends as well as the tatoo artist. There really isn't much for children to do other than swim at the pool. The hotel is 45 minutes away from any major attractions and taxis are 60 dollars or more each way.its you have children this is not the place for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Calibria rainforest park for children

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommy Anne
Business
Howard Beach, NY
Oct 27, 2012

Not what I thought it would be

THIS HOTEL IS NOT ALL INCLUSIVE!! THE RED LEVEL AREA IS NOT FOR CHILDREN UNDER 10 YEARS OF AGE SO THE RED LEVEL POOL AND BAR ARE NOT AN OPTION WITH YOUNG CHILDREN. PAYING FOR RED LEVEL IS BASICALLY PAYING FOR "COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST" from 8-11am which happened to have apples with mold on them, and red level lounge which entales keg beer or bulk wine n champagne from 5:30-8pm. THEY ADVERTISE FREE BALI BEDS BUT THEY ARE ONLY FREE IN THE REDLEVEL AREA. BY THE 24HR POOL WITH THE SWIM UP BAR YOU HAVE TO PAY $25.00 a day. Now that that's outlined check in was fine. THE ROOM PHONE SMELLED LIKE A DEAD RAT AS IF THEY WIPED DowN THE WHOLE HOTEL WITH A RAG AND USED IT ON THE PHONE. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!!! I WOKE UP TO SLIP AND ALMOST FALL ON A PUDDLE OF WATER THAT WAS LEAKING FROM A LIGHT FIXTURE. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED AND A MADE A COMPLAINT AFTER AN HR WE WERE MOVED TO ANOTHER ROOM. THIS ROOM HAD A CURTAIN TO THE BOULCONY THAT WOULD NOT CLOSE 3 PEOPLE CAME IN AND OUT BEFORE IT COULD BE FIXED AND THE PHONE DID NOT WORK. TO GET TO SPEAK TO A GENERAL MANAGER WAS IMPOSSIBLE I HONESTLY NEVER EVEN GOT A CALL BACK FROM HIM NOR HIS ASSISTANT. ITS A BEAUTIFUL PLACE THAT'S POORLY RUN. NOT TO MENTION WE WENT FOR A ROMANTIC DINNER @ PASSION RESTAURANT AND THE WAITRESS GAVE US TWO DIFFERENT BILLS FOR ONE NIGHT THE FIRST WAS CORRECT THE SECOND CHARGED US FOR A DOUBLE TIP OF $32.00. IT WAS REDICULOUS!! THEN THE WAITRESS DISAPPEARED ON US AND ANOTHER WAITER TOOK CARE OF THE MATTER STATING IT WAS A "DOUBLE MISTAKE" AND APOLOGIZED FOR HER WRONG DOING... SHE NEVER CAME BACK TO THE TABLE. I HONESTLY DO NOT RECCOMEND THIS PLACE FOR A FAMILY VACATION I WOULD NOT GO BACK THERE EVEN AS A COUPLE FOR A GETAWAY THE FRUSTRATION WAS NOT AT ALL WORTH THE TIME and ENERGY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan it is beautiful, and really captures the essence of Puerto Rico.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LR AR from PA
Business
New Jersey
Nov 13, 2012

Average

It was OK...Hidden fees like parking average $17.00 a day and a large deposit per night, which we were not told of. Grounds were beautiful. Everything else was very expensive from food, drinks and extras. Too far from everything and the furniture was not up to date. I have had better experience at a two star hotel very disappointed with room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaveNY123
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2012

A shame.

The grounds are beautiful and the room was very nice, BUT the service was consistently poor from the check-in to the pool area to every restaurant and bar - slow service, untrained staff and poorly stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top