$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Oct 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
575 out of 575
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibUsa Trip
Couples
Aldie,VA
Sep 29, 2012

Great Anniversary trip

Gran Melia is tucked away four miles down a beautiful drive through a golf course. Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff who want to make sure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing, breakfast is worth every penny and the Red Level upgrade is great for the value but the resort treats all its guest with the same level courtesy. Golf carts are always running and picking up guest. We've stayed at other resorts but this was the best. Beyond great service, we felt at home and comfortable. I would stay here again on my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

El Verde BBQ If you want good inexpensive food and to taste some PR food to there. It's a good hole in the wall

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IT Professor
Family
Mayaguez PR
Nov 14, 2014

My Home far away from Home

Great family hotel. Lots of activities...3 great swimming pools, play chess in the sun, add a hole mini golf, volleyball on the beach, or simply watch the sunset from the spectacular rooms and service full of details. Usually visit 3 times weekly in a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

When reserving, make sure you ask for a refrigerator in your room. Usually it costs $25 per night but if you say during your reservation that you need it to store your meds they will get it for you for no charge.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimVanL
Couples
Ct
Sep 18, 2014

Great place Eat elsewhere

There was no negative aspects to the grounds. Perfectly maintained and beautiful beaches. Staff was friendly and quick to the aid of their guests. But, the bar food was not up to the prices they were charging. Also the breakfast as a buffet and it was more than $50 for the two of us to have an omelette and fruit. Everything on the menus was over priced by at least 50%. We ended up eating elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and experience the local fare anywhere else.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bella7888
Couples
New York, Ny
Sep 8, 2014

5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very comfortable. My only thing would be the food was not the most amazing. Aside from that, it was perfect for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great restaurants less than 30 minutes away if your get a car rental.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKtiger
Friends
Cali
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent

Very good stay for 4 star resort! Staff are kind and foods were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
head chef daley
Family
yonkers ny
Sep 3, 2014

family fun times

loved this resort...the red level pool near our room was great when we didn't want to walk to the main pool. I loved the covered pool beds that you could reserve for free.The kids were excited to see many iguanas roaming the grounds.The staff were all friendly and helpful.We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The finest breakfast buffet I ever could have dreamed of....

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
head chef daley
Family
yonkers ny
Aug 27, 2014

family getaway

my children loved this resort....asked to come back for Christmas. the staff was excellent...food amazing.Aplus plus from us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherlz
Friends
Brooklyn New York
Aug 21, 2014

Birthday getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! Our butler Daniel was the BEST EVER! Room was huge with two jacuzzi.. We stayed at one of the Villas with our own personal private pool.. The public pool was huge! Service was on point! Def would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion puerto ru an restaurant

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vero G.
Friends
Texas
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The staff is great and very helpful, specially the golf cart drivers. Even though we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel because of our tours and activities, we had a confortable bed to rest for a few hours. The pools are awesome and well kept. The gym was very nice too. There is free wi-fi through out the hotel and the bungalows, but sometimes we had a hard time connecting. Like in most hotels in Puerto Rico, there is a daily parking fee. I did not eat in any of the restaurants, so I cannot say for myself how the food/service was, but two other couples did and they did not like the food. Drinks are overpriced, and from what I heard, the food is too. You're better off going to a local "panaderia" or bakery, the food is delicious and very inexpensive. The hotel is located about 30 min from the airport so you definitely need to rent a car, we paid $150 for a mid-size for the whole week, so reserve before you visit (good luck driving in Puerto Rico, because they are crazy! Lol). The room was huge, with a kitchen, but no balcony, guess you get either a kitchen or a balcony. There was no toilet paper when we got there, and the cleaning ladies did not leave shampoo the next day, I had to ask for some. We had issues with the keys, but they took care of that quickly. All in all, our stay in Gran Melia was great once again! I definitely recommend it for it's great value too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, try the "kioscos of Luquillo" A lot of variety and well priced. Try the bakery's too.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maribel the traveler
Family
Waukegan, Illinois
Aug 9, 2014

resort was ok

Resort overall was ok. Location was good being that it was close to The Yunque, tour in Fajardo, Seven Seas beach, Luquillo, Old San Juan and many more beautiful places. The beach at the resort was very rocky. Don't understand why we had to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Luquillo, Fajardo, Old San Juan, Yunque Forest

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carmen Bosick
Family
Denver, Colorado
Jul 29, 2014

Customer Service - Horrible

Right of the bat I fell in the lobby due to water spill. Was given some ice and asked if I wanted to go to the hospital, I declined (was told they would check on me next day, never heard from them). Hotel room mini fridge did not work, toilet was plugged, curtains did not close all the way. Reported the problems to the front desk (was never asked to be moved from room). No pool towels available. The beach is awful. Overall I will not stay or recommend the Gran Melia to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top