$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
911 reviews
Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was... See full review

  • Galina04
  • Jul 13, 2014
wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go. See full review

  • Duubg
  • Apr 30, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (911)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
911 out of 911
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josefel 71
Puerto Rico
Oct 16, 2013

Gran Melia Escape

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in PR and in the US, and there's been a few like Gran Melia, their Staff was simply amaizing, corteous and helpful, and the facilities were amaizing as well, definitely we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy and Cicero
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Sep 3, 2013

Couple getaway

I was very pleased with the hotel. It was a lovely experience. The staff was very polite. The resort was fabulous. Everything about the resort was good. Just be ready to spend money for food. If you can rent a car, please do so because the food is much cheaper off the resort. Yes, I would go back. EXCELLENT RESORT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car. Food is much cheaper off the resort.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldubs182
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 3, 2013

Gorgeous Aesthetics - Poor Overall Value

Overall, my fiance and I enjoyed our stay at the Gran Melia. The grounds are gorgeous, the pools are well-maintained, and the entire resort offers an abundance of breathtaking views. Aesthetics aside, we were displeased with a few things. The Gran Melia requires a "security deposit" of $100/night for any damages that could happen in the room during your stay. That's A LOT. While the Red Level upgrade is worth it for the "complimentary" breakfast buffet, they are not shy about reminding you to give at least a 15% tip for being served coffee and water. (breakfast would be $22 without red level, so they suggest tips of 15%, 18% and 20% for what the cost of your meal WOULD HAVE been.) They charge about $17/day for parking. They really want you to spend all your money at the resort, so they don't allow coolers on the property, or food/beverages from outside resources. Put leftovers or booze in a backpack. Basically, they try to stiff you out of $$$ in all ways possible. If you want a Bali Bed at the "red level" pool, reserve it a day ahead of time. They will kick you off of it if it is reserved for someone else, even if they never show up. The beach is pretty, but very rocky and full of seaweed. To save money, we ate at the Taco Bus located just outside the resort. $12 for 2 people, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a bakery and a Taco Bus located just at the entrance of the resort. Right when you turn onto PR-187 (I think). Eat here for lunch/dinner, if you want to save money.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AVacationist
Capital Hgts, Maryland
Sep 2, 2013

Relaxing at its best

This hotel locations is away from any tourist spots about 30mins from the airport. Once you get there it feels and looks like paradise. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious. The pool is by far the largest pool I ever seen. The beach is really not for swimming it is very rocky at the bottom(beware). I recommend a rental car because eating at the hotel can get expensive...$22.00 a day/person. Overall if your looking to relax this is the place. The grounds are large

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Queenmoniquew
Florida
Aug 30, 2013

2nd time there in 5 months

My cousin & I, along with some friends stayed at Gran Melia in March for Spring Break. We loved it so much we decided to go back, so we did, 5 months later. This recent time we decided to go Red Level which was SO worth it. It included happy hour everyday, breakfast every morning, cabana rentals, special check in, and some other cool stuff. I highly recommend this hotel & can't wait to stay at their Cancun property. I also recommend getting a rental car due to the fact that the hotel is 25-35 minutes away from the airport, Isla verde, Old San Juan, and other places. If you have a rental car, you will be perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car !!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmercado
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Aug 21, 2013

Relaxation...

My boyfriend and I had a great experience at this resort. We only stayed for 2 nights but they were magnificent! After we booked our reservation through This website, we noticed there w as something called Red Level, which included breakfast buffet, cocktail hour apetizers, private pool and many other great services and ammenities, so we called the hotel and askedmfor an upgrade. This upgrade was a great desicion and for what they charge it is a very good value. If you are looking to stay at this resort and feel like a king or queen I would suggest to get the Red Level. The service is great! At "check-in", Reinaldo was very friendly and helpful. When it was tiem to go to our room, Ricky helped us with our baggage and mentioned us each area were we drove by. During the cocktail hours, Tony, Josue and Oscar were very nice, specially Oscar which helped me get a noce drink when I didn't know what to drink. At the Red Level pool Llanos was very friendly and talked to us about the resort, its ammenities and helped us reserve a Palapa (a small gazebo with a bed type mattress). Overall the personnel were great and willing to help us. The resort needs a bit maintance in all of the common areas and rooms, but it is functional. I expect, this being the low season they will address this manner soon. However I am planning 2 more stays one in septemper or october and one in november, as my boyfriend and I both work in the hospitality industry and this is the only season we can escape. I forgot to mention the lobby and lounge and areas around it smells great! They also sell the scent infuser at the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave3
Bronx, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2013

Awesome!!!

Great place to stay so you can see island. Beyond beautiful resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to drive and see the island more this is place. All other hotels are in main places. This one is further out. 40 min drive to San Juan..

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jasmine krystal
Mass
Aug 12, 2013

Girls trip

It was really good. I got two rooms for my friends and I. It was very safe. Food good. Beach and pool amazing. Our room door battery died and it took four hours to fix which was very inconvient because we were tried for traveling all day. The hair drier never worked. There is no fridge to keep any liquids to hydrate in the room. And the ice machines ran out quick. Overall nice safe area. 40 minutes plus away from San Juan which isn't the best to travel with gas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are food options there but the ethnic food is further out.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vi bonne maman
ithaca, new york
Aug 11, 2013

A dream vacation

This hotel gave us what we needed to start a dream vacation. It was clean. The service was excellent . My teen boys and I really enjoyed being there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
OC, California
Jul 29, 2013

Worst experience we've ever had

We stayed at this hotel and I got to say that the amount you pay is definitely not worth it. We booked 4 rooms and all rooms had issues. First of when we checked in they didn't have the rooms we had requested with double beds so they offered us a crib and roll away bed instead. Needless to say we never got the crib nor the roll away. We had 3 toddlers in the family and needed ice for their milk...we checked their 5 ice machines and non had ice so I called to request ice, but again never got it. The rooms smelled like mold and the housekeeping was another problem. It's sad to see that this hotel's employees are miserable working here as they never said hi to us or offered to help. When we wanted to go to the lobby we literally had to stalk one of their employees to give us a ride to the front which happened to be a long walk. The hotel is beautiful but their service and dis-organization is not worth the hassle. If you have little ones DON'T stay here. I brought milk for my toddlers and was told by security that I couldn't bring outside food. After arguing with the security and management they finally give me the ok to bring the milk. Stay away if you plan on enjoying your vacation. My in-laws are timeshare owners and will not be using this timeshare ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top