$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lukas mom
Business
Vega Baja, PR
Jul 27, 2009

"Great for stress relieve"

During our family stay we enjoy the pool, restaurants and casino. Experience in general was pleasant and relaxing. Overall staff was friendly and customer service oriented, except at check in and out time. Waiting time in line is too long, rooms were not ready and were celivered with 1.5 hours delay. We found other people which waited over 3 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Metropol at Fajardo - good restaurant for Puerto Rican cuisine

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris & Serina
Business
Ecorse Michigan
Jul 20, 2009

Great experience

My wife and myself spent 10 days at Gran Melia in Puerto Rico in July 2009. I was apprehensive about the trip because of some of the negative reviews I read prior to the trip. I can truly say that my experience was a perfect one. The resort was beautiful and the room was fabulous. We had the royal service room and that sums up how we were made to feel (royal). If you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place then Gran Melia is for you. Younger people may prefer something a little more upbeat like in San Juan. There is a fee of $150 per night that is charged to your credit card as a room deposit but at check-in they simply charged me $500 total for my stay. The prices of food was also fair at the restuarants on the property. Great activities are available within a reasonable drive of the resort. You must rent a car if you stay at this resort. But you will make up for the expense in savings very quickly. Great places to eat are very close to the resort on route 3. Please go to this resort and enjoy it the way my wife and I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 12, 2009

One of the the best hotel I've stayed in

The entrance of the hotel beautiful, the staff very friendly (you have to remember you are visiting a Hispanic country service isn't as fast as it is here in the US, it's the culture), the pool area amazing I liked the water bar, everything was so organized. One suggestion don't eat there unless you have a meal plan. We ate breakfast there one day and it cost $18 to have the cool buffet that included fruits, yogurt, cereal, and juices not worth it. Eat outside the hotel (hey that's how they make there money) the casino was nice but don't expect Vegas style they have 5 tables, bingo and a lot of slot machines of 1 and 5 cents! Also when your there try and pay with your credit card for drinks and food otherwise they charge it to your room and something there are over-charges or mistakes so to avoid this pay with your credit card they don't accept cash. Besides that there beach is spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel try the local restaurants there much better and cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In need of relax
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 12, 2009

Expensive

Beautiful hotel but they charged extra for everything. Expect to pay 15.00 per day for parking and 10.00 per day for internet. All the ice makers were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VAUGHNGO
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 8, 2009

To relax and enjoy....

My wife and I were in Puerto Rico for work and had a couple extra non-work days to spend. We did a quick search on Orbitz.com and found this Hotel, the same many people had already recommended to us. We seemed to get a great price on an ocean view room with Royal Service (their sort of exclusive club). We were staying at the El San Juan in San Juan, which was nice but nothing like this place. These rooms were spotless, smelled great, the bathrooms were beautiful, and the beds extra comfortable! Our room had a full ocean view and with the Royal Service package we got to use a separate quite pool, with our own bar and free cabanas! Plus everyday we were provided with a free happy hour at the main bar from 6-9pm. Needless to say, we pretty much spent two whole days relaxing by the pool. Which is not like us. We had rented a car at the airport and ventured out one day but quickly realized we just wanted to go back and relax. But if you're in the mood you're only about 15 mins from the rain forests and slightly further away from Fajardo where you can take boats to some of the best snorkeling in the world! As for food, since the hotel is located pretty far away from the city or outlining towns you are left with the Hotel restaurants. A great full course breakfast was served daily and with the Royal Service package it only costs us $7.95. For lunch we found Wet Bar Grill to be really good and affordable. At night we decided to try each of the hotel restaurants. The Puerto Rican and the Asian Fusion were probably the most expensive but also the best! After dinner we would walk back to the open air lounge, where we would just sit and chat or jump into one of the open cabanas all while enjoying a variety of great live music. As you can tell giving what we were looking for during this trip, we could not have asked for a better resort. But, if I was disappointed at all it was with the direct beach access from the hotel. The ocean was amazing to look at but I don't recommend playing there, I would drive down the road a bit where the beaches are much more welcoming. With that being said though their pools are outstanding and there seemed to be tons of family and kids having a great time. We are definitely not big resort people, but this place was outstanding and much cheaper than El San Juan Hotel, in San Juan! Enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to snorkel, and don't really love the paid excursions, which seem to range from $65-80 for the day. You could take the local ferry across to one of the islands for a couple bucks, rent some snorkel gear for a couple bucks and spend the day snorkeling or exploring the island. Now you won't get to go the outer islands, but again if you like to do things on your own this sounded great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami,Florida
Jul 6, 2009

Poor transportation from room to parking

The hotel need to improved on transportation to take the guest to the parking lot,which was very far a way and don't want to lost 40to45 minuten waiting for golf car.WE'RE ON VACATION.Also improved on parking spaces,was full for ECONO convention and we paid $16.50 per day for parking and same times you need to way or driving around for 30minutes until sameone decide to life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada
Jul 6, 2009

Perfect Romantic Getaway!!

This is one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever been at! An ocean front view room is the way to go at this resort. You really get the ocean front view!! The staff are very friendly, the cleanliness is superb and the ambiance is just beautiful! If you want to be away from the city, THIS is the place to stay!!! DEFINITELY will go back to this resort again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Relaxing....

It was my first trip to Puerto Rico. The location of the hotel was approximately 30 min from the airport and 40 from the capitol of San Juan. It was a gorgeous and serene location with space enough for everyone at the resort. It was prime location to the Yunque Rainforest and to docks in Fajardo were located. There were plenty to do if you had your own car. Taxi's were expensive and the excursions were much cheaper if you had your own transportation. I wanted authentic cuisine and that was hard to come by at the resort. That was disappointing. Free wireless and computers were near the lobby. My biggest let down was the type of beach near the hotel. It was all rocks and murky water. The pictures were misleading. If you are looking for a beautiful beach, this is not the place. Although it was a gorgeous resort. Very relaxing. Extremely enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Taxi fares are ridiculous! From the hotel to Old San Juan was $80 one way! Small car rental for 3 days cost just over $200.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kamighazi
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 23, 2009

Great, but pricey

Pricey, but wonderful. I would have really loved it if there were an all inclusive package. Other than that it was great! Not your typical beach. Not soft sand, and very quite waters. But we loved it like that. Beautiful rocks on the shoreline

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aibonito,Puerto Rico
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic

Special Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Excelent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top