$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
574 out of 574
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown
Sep 25, 2008

Great alone time!!

I spent a few hours in the spa pool all by myself!!! They play meditaion music and I loved it!! I was relaxed by the time I spent only 20 in there!! I recoomend it to anyone!! The bed are immensely confortable!! I slept extremely well!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything you need is there, from gambling to shopping! If you want to go out to eat you can but don't have to cause the restaurants are wonderful to eat in!!! But if you want to go shopping besides in the hotel you can take a short drive to Fajardo and go to the shopping mwall where there's Walmart an many other stores!!!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Sep 1, 2008

The Gran Melia Puerto ...

The Gran Melia Puerto Rico was a gorgeous resort. We had a great time and thought the food and the people were wonderful. The rooms were huge and we had a very nice ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste money on the breakfast buffet. It is $25 a person. Just grab bagels or muffins or croissants at the stand in the hotel lobby. Saves a lot of money and time.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charleston
Sep 1, 2008

Beautiful Location

Definitely worth the extra for Royal Service if you are just a couple with no kids along. Be sure to leave yourself lots of time to check-out as the lineups are intense. Its unfortunate that all the restaurants weren't open on such a busy weekend - had to deal with very long lines for food. We didnt receive very many age-suitable suggestions for attractions in the area. Perhaps someone could work on that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hillside
Aug 12, 2008

Very Family friendly- great location

Gran Melia is a great hotel for families, couples and friends to enjoy Puerto Rico. Everyone is very hospital, the hotel is clean and beautiful. The hotel is situated in a location where there is lots to do. It's 15 minutes from the El Yunque rainforest- a must see, and 30 minutes from the City that doesn't sleep. I would defintely recommend it to a friend. The only downfall is that the restaurants are pricey and catching a shuttle or cab to go anywhere cost a fortune. Definitely recommend renting a car to enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 10, 2008

Family friendly

This was a great hotel for a family. The pool is nice and the beach is accessable. It is not a pristine white beach. It has coral and you should take water shoes to wear. You can walk along it and swim in it (keep in mind the tides). Dining was not overpriced for what you get. They are fancy and the food is good. There are several fast food alternatives for lunch just down the road. I do suggest you rent a car. The rainforest was ten min away and not to be missed. There are several other beaches as well. Most have coral formations and are good for snorklers. If you plan to take the 2$ ferry to the islands plan to go early and spend whole day there, get the ferry times. They only have 3 depart times and 3 arrival times, whereas in the states we tend to go every 20 min. We also wish we had built in a day or two to just enjoy the resort alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

vendors, dining and islands.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Carolina
Aug 10, 2008

Very Family Friendly

It is a very Family Friendly Hotel, with very nice landscaping and an excellent pool. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a tranquil place to relax and rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some really cool kiosks at about 10-15 minutes were they have the famous alcapurrias and bacalaitos which you can enjoy with an oceanfront view of the Balneario de Luquillo

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Danville, IA
Aug 4, 2008

Very Romantic, simply paradise

This is a very beautiful hotel and resort. Food options were small and very expensive! $37 per person for a Okay buffet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They all spoke engish which made it nice for English only speaking families. This is a very romantic location. Beach was rocky but got better the more east ya walked on it. Would go again in a second. Safe was broken, called 5 times and never got fixed, other than that no complants! Lots of open aired cabanas and lounge chairs. Parking was scarse and expensive but great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The rainforest was only 3 stoplights down from this hotel. The mountains are in backyard of hotel.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Martinsburg, *
Aug 2, 2008

The location and resort ...

The location and resort is the most beautiful I have ever seen but the service was horrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of attractions nearby. Anywhere from 20 minutes to a couple of hours away. These attractions were fun and reasonably priced.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stafford, TX
Aug 1, 2008

Great Location

The property was very clean and kept up. The staff, from the front desk to the housekeeping was very friendly. Just about everyday someone would come by to ask if everything was OK or if we needed anything. Every employee we would come across would greet you and everyone seemed happy to be there. The location was great. It's not in San Juan were most of the tourist and hotels are. We wanted a quite place where we could relax and still be close to P.R.'s attractions. For us it was perfect since we planned to go to El Yunque Rainforest which at the most is only 10 min away. The Resort is not as far as we thought from the airport only 20-30 min max. Kayaking and snorkling is close by as well.I would definatly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and we will definitley go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Juan, PR
Jul 31, 2008

Not Satisfied

This hotel is not family friendly when it comes to having small children. Rooms are very far from lobby and pool area. No ice in ice station, this is a big no,no. Bell boy takes for ever to get to you, had to call like 4 times and t the end had to go get somebody myself. Most definitely will not stay at this hotel ever again! I do not recommend it if you have small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top