$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Aug 18, 2009

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful but the beach is poor, only about 6 ft area to lounge and rocky. We drove to nearst public beach. A rental car is a must to see any sites of interest but I thought it was ridulous to pay 15 dollars a day to park when you are a guest also they put a hold of 600.00 on credit card at check in for incidentals. The bed loungers around pool are are extra at 50 per day. I felt all extras were ridulous and should have been known ahead of time. Food and drinks at hotel were very expensive too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Aug 17, 2009

fun!!!!!!!!!!!

The Gran Melia was great! The people were so helpful, friendly and outgoing. My husband and I had a wonderful time at the resort . One thing that is needed on site is store that has clothes and anything that you may need because it was expansive just for a tour to the Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Bad Experience

We arrived at 3 and didn't get a room until six. When we did finally get in our room the sheets were dirty. The front desk seemed to feel this was all a very small problem and we didn't even get an apology. We were told by the front desk that we were in a building located far from the lobby but that there would be transportation to the lobby every fiver minutes; however, this turned out not to be true. In reality the transportation ran every twenty to thrity minutes. The general staff were very polite and accomodating but any dealing we had with the front desk were frustrating. I would not recommened this hotel. Also, by the pool, a coke cost $3 for a 4 oz glass (no free refills).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest- a car is needed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaritza
Business
Puerto Rico
Aug 10, 2009

De la realidad al sueño

My experience in the Hotel was amazing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
puerto rico
Aug 9, 2009

normal stay

it was good but nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 4, 2009

Beautiful resort but far from action

The Gran Melia is a beautiful hotel, we stayed un late June 2009. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. However it is far from the airport (15 min by car). The bad thing about PR is that in order to really sight see and get around you need to rent a car, which is what we did. We rented from Charlie Car Rental from the airport. They sent a shuttle to pick us up. They were 1/2 the price of Hertz/Avis. The car paid for itself within the first day. The resort is far off the main road and there isnt any public transportation readily available. The good thing is that there is hardly any traffic on the island. The hotel does charge for parking which you validate. This resort also does not let you pay for food/beverages in cash. Instead they put a hold on your credit card which is equal to a percentage of the cost of your stay. Anything you eat/drink is taken from that credit but it isnt charged. When you check out you can choose to have the total amount of what you spent charged on that card (the remaining balance would be released) or you can pay in cash or by another cc. If you pay in cash then they release the hold. It's a little odd but not a hassle. If you want to bring in food you have to smuggle it in. No outside food is allowed. With our car rental we'd leave in the morning and would return at night, giving us the chance to eat our meals on the road and try the local cuisine. The hotel's restaurants are expensive. We only tried it on our first night, it was good. Also, the beach at the hotel is not suitable for swimming. It's really shallow and rocky. The only thing you can do is collect seashells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2009

Good and Not so good

The location is good for the NE side of the island, but a tedious drive to San Juan. We went sailing and diving out of Fajardo and went to El Yunque (Rain Forest) for some extensive hiking. We also visited with family in Seiba and toured Ponce. The hotel pool was great and the Cafe was good value for eating lunch (not dinner$$$$). We drove to other locations for dinner. Checkin took almost an hour while two reps took a break - checkout was the same - not intereseted in customers. No ink cartridges in printer in Business center for entire week - could not print out airline boarding passes - again, staff were disinterested; we had ordered an ocean view room - recieved a partial ocean - complained and got exchanged to a nicer full ocean view room; maid for room was poor - no towels on two days and I don't think the floors were ever cleaned, one day room was not madeup until 8PM. Very poor service for the price! For the record, we do speak Spanish fluently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book sailing, diving, etc on line via Google and save $$$$. You can do El Yungue rain forest yourself - no tour required.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 31, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The Gran Melia is located a few miles west of San Juan. It took us about 45 minutes to arrive at the complex using a rental car. The grounds are beautiful with beautiful vegetation and gardens and new buildings. The staff is very friendly, but they did not seem to be prepared for our arrival. I usually can checkin in Las Vegas at least 3 times faster. I went with a group of friends and their rooms were not ready. Note that we arrived at 5pm local time. We all went to my room to wait for their rooms. Meanwhile, the staff had to change the bedsheets after I arrived. Complimentary food or drinks would have been nice for a 2 hour delay of our vacation. I found that the breakfast rather pricey. U$23 for a breakfast buffet. All our meals were eaten outside the facilities where prices were half to a quarter the cost. San Juan actually offered many dining deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat where the locals eat. Cheaper and a good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Jul 30, 2009

Beautiful but deceiving

Bottom line...beautiful resort, but everything was a hassle. You NEED a rental car to do anything. This is not a hotel where you can walk down and just go down to the foyer or parking lot. You need someone to take you on a golf cart to and from your room to the main building. If you plan on staying at the resort only, you will be fine..however, you really cant swim because the water has a barriers of plants you have to wade through. We weren't able to check in fast, took 45 minutes with FOUR people in front of us. Then, when we got to the desk, they informed us that we would have to put 900 dollars (150/night) as a deposit. We didn't have a card to hold that after we rented a car, etc. So we finally convinced them to let us stay with $100 deposit on a debit. We experienced a lot of discrimination as americans (even though this IS a part of the U.S.)...it was just a really bad trip. I could not possibly write all of the things that went wrong. We will NEVER visit that island again! The one thing I will recommend is El Yunque Rainforest, but not on a weekend. We hiked to the top. Also, we took an 8 seater plane to Culebra Island for $65 round trip...well worth it. Flamenco Bay, though beautiful was so crowded...no relaxation. I DO NOT recommend this place. They make it sound so wonderful. If you don't speak some spanish, you will have a hard time in this country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take Air Flamenco $65 round trip on 8 seater plane. 15 minutes vs. the ferry which is ROUGH and takes an hour and 45 mins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 29, 2009

Puerto Rico getaway

We really enjoyed the resort and our stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top