$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
626 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darig44
Phoenix
Nov 4, 2012

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

It was Awesome. Very clean and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The kiosk center heading towards Luquillo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends thru thick and thin
Business
Salem, Oregon
Nov 16, 2009

Memorable Trip

I went to Puerto Rico with my sister and my friend and her sister. We checked in around 11:00PM and it took forever at front desk. They couldn't find my friend's reservation. The lady asked for my card which I thought was to verify reservation but she ended up charging my card $400.00 in case of incidentals. When I complained that she should have mentioned that before running my card she said that it would take 3 to 4 business days before it would be credited back to my account. I only brought that card so that took most of my spending money. We requested to be put in rooms by each other. They said that they only had one room with a king bed and one room with two double beds available so my friend and her sister had to share beds. The rooms ended up not even being by each other like we had been told. My sister and I ordered room service since no resteraunts were open and I ordered a pizza and soda and she ordered a sandwich and soda and our bill was $60.00. The ended up giving us a handicapped room and trying to shower was an experience. We complained the next day which took forever too but they were able to switch our rooms. My sister noticed that her bed had a fitted sheet that was too small and didn't cover the whole bed. When we called to complain the staff treated us like we were idiots for thinking this was a problem. Rooms didn't appear to be that clean. Pool was great and the outside of hotel was very nice. Ocean wasn't that nice and didn't have easy access. Food was super expensive and not that good. I recommend renting a car and going outside of the hotel to eat. Also check your bill at the end tried to charge us for things that weren't correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at hotel, food very expensive and not that good for price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2010

mediocre medley

Grand Melia Resorts have been my favorite places to stay at many destinations, usually their employees, food and accomodations are wonderful and I have always enjoyed my vacations with no complaints and a desire to return which I have may times. Until now. The Grand Melia PR needs new management, some staff replacement, price adjustment and some selection opportunities for transportaion, restaurants and entertainment of which there was none. Much of the staff seemed more concerned with themselves than the guests, almost everything opened up late without apologies, I had no running water in my room "Royal Service" and they were doing construction on the walkway in front of my room. The hotel was not busy so why put me in a room like that when others are available? However, my butler, the waiters at the restaurants and the scenery were great. The pool bar was filthy but the pool itself and the towel area were well kept. I will not not return to the Grand Melia PR, but as always I will use [...] to book all my vacations, they are the most reliable company I have ever used for travel. PS the food was good but way overpriced, get the breakfast deal if you can it was worth it but lunch and dinner were not worth the money. Don't plan on doing activities when you get there, there were virtually none at the hotel and excursions were limited and expensive. Happy Vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan and an outlet mall down the highway. I would avoid driving though if you are not an aggressive driver traffic is brutal at all times of the day. There is no shopping at the hotel except a small store in the front of the main building and it is limited, but it has great coffee and muffins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vandon623
Business
Bronx, NY
Dec 12, 2010

Too remote anf isolated.

I have stayed at other Gran Melia's in the past and was very pleased with the accomodations and atmosphere. However, the Gran Melia in PR was located in a remote area and had very little entertainment. I was visiting for business during the day, but the afternoons were free. In order to get into town, you either paid $80 by cab, $75 for the resorts shuttle, or rented a car. The tours were over priced, ($75 dollars per person to tour Barcardi rum factory). If you rented a car, $54/day, and drove to the Barcardi factory, the tour was free. If you weren't over charged by the resort, then you were over charged by the cab companies. The only good quality about the resort was that the staff was attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJ MAC
Business
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Food very expensive

Food was overpriced, no soda machines no where on resort's property. Ice machine was always empty. Whirlpools did not work, had to walk .15 miles to the pool and the restaurants. Pool closes everyday at 6 p.m. Could not find nothing to eat from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and eat and shop off the resorts property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KittyKat78
Business
ny,ny
Nov 28, 2011

pretty but boring

this resort is very pretty and peacful. however,being that its not all inclusive,it can get pretty pricey..not to mention,its sort of isolated from other areas in PR,so if youre not planning on renting a car(i didnt), you will be stuck at the resort. which reminds me, i paid $60 freaking dolars(round trip),to take a 10 min ride to a walmart. there are absolutely no amenites to speak of..theres a fake casino,the size of a studio apt,theres the pools,and a very rocky beach...other than that,there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do:(...overall, this place may be great for retirees..but if youre young,and looking for something to do,do not go here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if u plan on taking the hotel shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel...dont...a cab is cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie181982
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jan 27, 2012

If all you want to do is sit by the pool and drink...

... then this is the place for you. But if you want to do anything else in Puerto Rico I would not recommend this location. Other resorts I have visited provide affordable transportation to locales and tourist sights outside their walls. Not so here. As a single traveler, I felt quite trapped until I rented a car. The hotel seemed very family friendly, and the staff was nothing but accomodating. However there are few options beyond resort dining, and the prices were outrageous, even for a resort. $22 for breakfast?! $16 for a tuna sandwich!? The three restaurants were all "high end" and priced accordingly- sadly the quality of the food at the one I tried was mediocre at best. At dinner the only options are $30-$30 entrees... ; The room was clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. the pool and grounds were beautiful. However the beach is small and not what I was expecting in terms of waves and sand. Not bad but not great. I wouldn't stay here again, but maybe I wasn't their target client. It was just not very fun for a single person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Luquillo beach food kiosks. You can see them from highway three and it's a $8-$10 meal that beats the pants off of anything at the hotel. Plus, then you're at a beach. You'll feel like Anthony Bordain!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gilou
Business
NY
Feb 24, 2012

The Perfect Choice for a Romantic Getaway

Gran Melia Make You Want to Come Back Again and Again,But they need more staff for check in and out the waiting time is more than 20 minutes.Room services and housekeeping are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
redr
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2012

Don't waste your money.

Rooms musty smelling, bedding poor. Beach is unimpressive. Food not that great and expensive. Hotel security wouldn't let me bring a six pack of beer onto the grounds as they do not allow any outside food or beverage - and they keep watch 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the local joints for cheap, better tasting food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pauline Leslie
Business
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 22, 2012

The Dominican Republic does it better.

The Gran Melia is physically beautiful. It has a gorgeous beach and pool and the room we stayed in was gracious, spacious and comfortable. We went to Puerto Rico to play golf and relax. We left our room every morning at 7:30 and returned between 3-4 in the afternoon. Our room was rarely cleaned up by then. We chose to forgo expensive cab rides and eat on the premises. At all the restaurants the food was ridiculously expensive and not special in any way. The service was excruciatingly slow. One example of a restaurant experience we had: Everything was ala carte which is o.k., but my $13. salad had 9 pieces of lettuce, my $27. shrimp dish had 3 regular sized shrimp on it. There were no rolls or bread. I was still hungry when I finished dinner. To be honest, I think this place is in trouble. The casino closed down while we were there and the store was a sad little shop with expired newspapers and magazines, a small assortment of souvenirs, coffee, ice cream, weeks old baked goods, pork rinds, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbrelo
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Would have been nice to know the Casino was closed

Meh. The stay started off bad enough when we arrived to find that the Casino was closed and wasn't planning on reopening. Would have been nice to know that BEFORE we arrived. To make up for this, the staff recommended we take a $50 cab ride to the nearest open casino (Thanks!). Some members of our party complained and we were upgraded to "Red Level” which basically meant we could use a semi private pool (where they weren't checking wrist bands anyway) and free cocktails from 5-8. Problem was we later discovered this upgrade wasn't free and that we were charged $70 per room per night. Other than that, the restaurants were the standard overpriced tourist food types, the rooms were very far away from the main lobby, the funiture was dated, and the beach was nothing special. If I had to pick something nice, the proximity to El Yunque Park was nice. Won’t see me back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top