Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$179
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 1, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016

3 star hotel with 2 star service

Would not recommend Mon, Jan 19, 2015
Arrived at 1am, only one person at front desk. Incredibly slow to check in. There were 2-3 other checkins ahead of us. Waited about 30-40 minutes until we were helped. After checking in, we were told to have bell boy help get out stuff from car to room. We had to wait around about 20-30 min for the bell boy to show up so by the time we got to our room, about 1.5 hour had elapsed since arrival time. We were dead tired, but I needed a fridge to store my breastmilk that I had to pump and store, but fridge was broken and smelled moldy. I tried calling, but got busy signals at Concierge, Housekeeping, then when I tried 2 other lines, finally the front answered. They didn't have a fridge to bring me, so she changed our room. Waiting for the change to happen was another 30 minutes. Our final room was just ok. Pictures certainly look nicer than the actual room. Barely a 3 star hotel by US standard. Next morning, starting at 9:30am (it was 5:30am by our home time) room door harshly knocking. They had to fix or look into something. Told them to come back later. Between these guys and housekeeping, we had another 3-4 knocking interruption to our sleep. This room did NOT have the "do not disturb" sign to hang up! Pool had loud music, a lot of people... NOT a relaxing vibe. Food at the Wet Bar and Grill was terrible and expensive. Pina Colada came in a plastic cup the size of a small latte (maybe smaller) and was $11. The rum was just poured on top of the blended beverage, so I had to mix it in myself. The Pasion restaurant was not good. Side of rice was half-cooked and crunchy. I can even see the opaque bits of uncooked portions. Food was just ok, not worth the price. They try to come off as a 4-star "resort" and charge as so, but need to pick up the service if they want to reach their goal.

Dining

Drive East on PR-3 to the Kioskos ("kiosks"?) which is visible from the highway on the left. Great food.

| Dublin Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

staffs

Would not recommend Thu, Jan 15, 2015
front desk staffs are rude. and also we paided parking fee, when we check in. I dont know why, but they want to charge again and we dont have a recite to prove our paid. however I can not understnd I paid card and also they look at it my card impromation or check in date. but it took a forever to look at it. and also fortunally i have in my wallet. so it was done but thinking about if I paid cash or I dont have improve to pay it. it is aweful situation for us. speicailly We that happen was check out. and We need to hurry to go airport.

| Chicago Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Very nice hotel overall

Would recommend Thu, Jan 15, 2015
The grounds are beautiful (and large) but the staff isn't too swift. We spent a lot of time at the hotel desk discussing our complaints (room, location, charges, etc.). They were courteous but took much longer than humanly necessary to address and resolve our issues correctly.

| Brooklyn Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Good family vacation

Would recommend Thu, Jan 15, 2015
Was a good resort with amenities but the service felt short at peak season

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Red Level- Off Season

Would recommend Wed, Jan 14, 2015
After reading all the reviews I did, I was initially scared but when we arrived ( Wife and I 1 Year anniversary), all the worry was mostly gone. The view, landscaping, and hotel were AMAZING. Sights were just inbelievable. I checked in in the Red Level Lounge and got served with complimentary drinks right there before i was golf carted away on a tour of the grounds and to my room. The Butler service and staff definitly made the trip that much more. Staff was VERY friendly and always ready to give a hand unlike the other reviews stated. Again, this was OFF season so not many guest. Rooms were clean and ready when we arrived and staff kept up on it every day I was there. The only two things I found bad were the lack of beach which was just sand and rocks which bordered the water to protect from hurricanes and flooding AND food on site. The price of food was very expensive and honestly, lack of choices.There was an "authentic" PR, Asain, and Italian restaurant on site. Breakfast was standard continental buffet style. Nothing over the top. $22 per person. Drinks were also expensive and served in small cups. I recommend renting a car and doing some site seeing and outside eating.

Dining

Go to Richie's Restaurant and enjoy the view. You will not regret it! Food was also GREAT.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Family trip

Would recommend Mon, Jan 12, 2015
Good value but a bit far from attractions. Food is expensive but overall a nice stay

| union city Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Summer Fun

Would recommend Mon, Jan 12, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at this resort and I'm looking to visit at least once or twice a year.

| Brooklyn Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

The good and the bad

Would recommend Tue, Jan 6, 2015
I went to the Gran Melia with my wife over New Years. We had some good experiences and some bad impressions. The good: it was absolutely beautiful with stunning views. I think that the rooms were nice for what we were looking for. We didn't need an amazing room because we wanted to be at the beach and the pool most of the time. The food was great. We ate on site a couple of nights and the food was worth it. The paella from the restaurant Passion was one of the best meals ever. The bad: bring your credit card. The food and drinks are EXPENSIVE. I live in downtown Chicago and the prices for drinks were exorbitant even compared to city prices. I would suggest bringing a bottle of booze or wine if you plan on drinking a lot at the resort. We ended up buying a bottle while in San Juan and it was worth it. The drinks that were poured weren't that strong to even justify the prices. -If you are looking to go into San Juan, try to find another couple to share a taxi. It is $80 each way. We ended up sharing taxis and it worked out quite well. -The beach was not that swimmer friendly. A lot of seaweed and very rocky. We heard that the Wyndham nearby had a much better beach and it might be worth it to take a quick taxi over there. -There were not enough workers for the size of the place considering how busy the place was. We called the front desk for a simple request and we needed to call back an hour later to check on our request. The lady at the front desk said she would call back to give me an update. The call never took place and our request was never fulfilled. More annoying than anything. Overall, we would recommend the resort because we did have a wonderful time.

Attractions

Ask the concierge to call the Salty Dog if you are looking for a catamaran tour. The trip was so fun and the price was around $80 per person compared to the $180 the concierge book advertised. When I asked them what the difference was between the two, they said there wasn't any difference, the other company they call was more expensive.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Honeymoon

Would recommend Mon, Jan 5, 2015
We loved our suite and had a wonderful time. The beach was just a short walk from our balcony and the grounds were beautifully kept. Daily activities were organized for guests to do such as yoga (I was on my honeymoon so none of these were done, lol). Being in the suites we also had access to a private pool, lounge and free breakfast. The only downfall we thought, was dinner, as the restaurants on site didn't stay open very late. We rented a car though and had most dinners in the center of town or while we were out and about.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Romantic trip

Would not recommend Mon, Jan 5, 2015
Came home with bed bug bites all over! Saw other guests covered in bites as well

| N/A Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5