$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
575 out of 575
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just another number.
Couples
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

If you like to wait in line go hereI

The management needs to be changed!!! With all the reviews of people waiting OVER an hour to check in and Mng does nothing they obviously don't care. After 3 days of sleeping on a mattress that was so caved in I finally complained. What did they do? They flipped the mattress...only problem is it's a 1 sided mattress! So now they think we're stupid enough to sleep on the bottom of the mattress- and this is what they did even after I left a tip for them for taking care of it. Most of the staff are nasty except the wait staff. The whole place needs an upgrade of at least scap off the paint that's peeling off the air vents. The food at the Asian place and the steak house/ Italian was good. The food at Pasion was TERRIBLE. They are so accustomed to the way they do things that they couldn't change if they tried. This was my 3rd stay at a Melia resort and my last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kimberly B.
Family
Saint Peters
Aug 25, 2015

What happened to this grand place ?

I was shocked to say the least . We have stayed here at least 5 times in the past and always had a great experience. However, I can not say that this time , I most likely will never return again . While the staff is super nice , they just didn't care if you had a problem. The grounds , pool and lobby are beautifully maintained , but the rooms and the house keeping were horrid. The sofa bed was so filthy dirty and broken , we could not use it . We either never had towels or were only given 2 for 4 people . Most days we didn't have wash clothes and there were days house keeping never showed up . The first room we had , aside from the sofa being disgusting and broken, our leg on the bed broke, the aircon broke and put water on our luggage and the fridge was broken. We asked to move rooms , only to have same issue with the sofa and another broken fridge. They put a cot in the room and never fixed the fridge . They have Bali beds by the pool for $75 plus tax rental , but they no longer put sheets on it you must use your towels and to get service we waited for two hours to get the water package that came with the bed . Which when I asked to take the water myself , the girl was offended and expected me to wait longer . All in all it was a disappointment. This truely use to be a gem, it's becoming a hole in the wall. fast and someone needs to step in and save this place .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJ MAC
Couples
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Food very expensive

Food was overpriced, no soda machines no where on resort's property. Ice machine was always empty. Whirlpools did not work, had to walk .15 miles to the pool and the restaurants. Pool closes everyday at 6 p.m. Could not find nothing to eat from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and eat and shop off the resorts property.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KittyKat78
Friends
ny,ny
Nov 28, 2011

pretty but boring

this resort is very pretty and peacful. however,being that its not all inclusive,it can get pretty pricey..not to mention,its sort of isolated from other areas in PR,so if youre not planning on renting a car(i didnt), you will be stuck at the resort. which reminds me, i paid $60 freaking dolars(round trip),to take a 10 min ride to a walmart. there are absolutely no amenites to speak of..theres a fake casino,the size of a studio apt,theres the pools,and a very rocky beach...other than that,there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do:(...overall, this place may be great for retirees..but if youre young,and looking for something to do,do not go here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if u plan on taking the hotel shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel...dont...a cab is cheaper

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie181982
Single
Falls Church, VA
Jan 27, 2012

If all you want to do is sit by the pool and drink...

... then this is the place for you. But if you want to do anything else in Puerto Rico I would not recommend this location. Other resorts I have visited provide affordable transportation to locales and tourist sights outside their walls. Not so here. As a single traveler, I felt quite trapped until I rented a car. The hotel seemed very family friendly, and the staff was nothing but accomodating. However there are few options beyond resort dining, and the prices were outrageous, even for a resort. $22 for breakfast?! $16 for a tuna sandwich!? The three restaurants were all "high end" and priced accordingly- sadly the quality of the food at the one I tried was mediocre at best. At dinner the only options are $30-$30 entrees... ; The room was clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. the pool and grounds were beautiful. However the beach is small and not what I was expecting in terms of waves and sand. Not bad but not great. I wouldn't stay here again, but maybe I wasn't their target client. It was just not very fun for a single person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Luquillo beach food kiosks. You can see them from highway three and it's a $8-$10 meal that beats the pants off of anything at the hotel. Plus, then you're at a beach. You'll feel like Anthony Bordain!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
redr
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2012

Don't waste your money.

Rooms musty smelling, bedding poor. Beach is unimpressive. Food not that great and expensive. Hotel security wouldn't let me bring a six pack of beer onto the grounds as they do not allow any outside food or beverage - and they keep watch 24/7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the local joints for cheap, better tasting food.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pauline Leslie
Couples
Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Mar 22, 2012

The Dominican Republic does it better.

The Gran Melia is physically beautiful. It has a gorgeous beach and pool and the room we stayed in was gracious, spacious and comfortable. We went to Puerto Rico to play golf and relax. We left our room every morning at 7:30 and returned between 3-4 in the afternoon. Our room was rarely cleaned up by then. We chose to forgo expensive cab rides and eat on the premises. At all the restaurants the food was ridiculously expensive and not special in any way. The service was excruciatingly slow. One example of a restaurant experience we had: Everything was ala carte which is o.k., but my $13. salad had 9 pieces of lettuce, my $27. shrimp dish had 3 regular sized shrimp on it. There were no rolls or bread. I was still hungry when I finished dinner. To be honest, I think this place is in trouble. The casino closed down while we were there and the store was a sad little shop with expired newspapers and magazines, a small assortment of souvenirs, coffee, ice cream, weeks old baked goods, pork rinds, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbrelo
Family
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Would have been nice to know the Casino was closed

Meh. The stay started off bad enough when we arrived to find that the Casino was closed and wasn't planning on reopening. Would have been nice to know that BEFORE we arrived. To make up for this, the staff recommended we take a $50 cab ride to the nearest open casino (Thanks!). Some members of our party complained and we were upgraded to "Red Level” which basically meant we could use a semi private pool (where they weren't checking wrist bands anyway) and free cocktails from 5-8. Problem was we later discovered this upgrade wasn't free and that we were charged $70 per room per night. Other than that, the restaurants were the standard overpriced tourist food types, the rooms were very far away from the main lobby, the funiture was dated, and the beach was nothing special. If I had to pick something nice, the proximity to El Yunque Park was nice. Won’t see me back there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Girls Vacation
Friends
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Nice Hotel, Not so nice Staff

The hotel itself is beautiful and the pool is great. That's the good part. The rest of the story is the bad. The staff at the front desk were extremely rude. We got there late in the evening and we were informed that they didn't have our reservation. She finally took my confirmation number into the back room and came back 10 min later and said it was taken care of but that they still hadn't received their money. Then we were informed it cost $16.00 a day to park there. This hotel is out in the middle of nowhere with acres of open land and parking so why they make you pay to park is beyond me. I think it is because they want to penalize us for being smart and having a car so we won't have to pay the high prices to eat at their hotel. You are also not allowed to bring a cooler to your room to keep water or anything cold and no outside food of any kind allowed on the property. The choices of food on the property is limited and their little snack bar/souvenir shop is very overpriced. The first room we checked into was musty and smelled very bad. We asked to be moved which took another 45 min. and put us even further from the pool. The walk to the pool was 1/3 of a mile. They even have signs to let you know how far it is. You can wait for the cart shuttle or walk. Usually by the time we walked almost the entire way then a cart would go by. If we had not had a car to leave the property and experience Puetro Rico we would not want to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple from Ohio
Friends
Ohio, USA
Jul 28, 2012

Bad Location...Less than Expected Service

The location of the hotel was isolated...you are pretty much stuck on the hotel grounds with limited options to choose from in terms of food and beverage. Beach is not impressive...can't really swim in the ocean due to the sea grass; sand is rough and rocky. Service was way less than expected - very slow staff, not accommodating at the Pool Bar or the Mirador Grill - was told several times throughout the week that I could not get items on the menu because they would have to walk to the main building to get them (not a far walk...I was even willing to walk to the main building myself to get them!!). Stay away...I would recommend staying somewhere closer to Old San Juan because you have more options for food/beverage and activities throughout your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top